We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prime Time Hotel(Unawatuna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Baywatch(Unawatuna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveler rating
294
145
42
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
145
42
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsandy areaunawatuna beachhermit crabshuge wavesduplex roomsri lankaindian oceanminute walksea viewwaves crashingmain beachbeach housesister hotelswimming poolrooms are hugeseafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 4 night's and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was very comfortable, light, nicely decorated. The pool was right outside and we had a view of the sea. There isn't a beach but you can walk 10 minutes to the main beach easily. Try the fresh fish, Duminda the head chef cooked a delicious butter fish and crab for us, some of the best fish we've tasted. Lots of choice at breakfast buffet. Down points were very inconsistent Wi-Fi and very hot gym with poor air conditioning. Otherwise it's a lovely place and we would come back.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although I only stayed for one night, I wish I could’ve stayed longer. I loved the room concept...my room had huge sliding glass doors that served as the entrance & exit to the room & lead straight to the pool. The room was clean & bed comfy. The view of the beach from the pool was beautiful...especially of the sunset at night. However, if you’re looking for a typical beach front hotel with direct access to the beach/swimming, this isn’t your typical beach front hotel (see my photos below). The view of the beach was very relaxing & beautiful in spite of. The drinks served at the poolside bar were also good & included happy hour specials.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
Thank Kandace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a apartment type 2 bedrooms, its clean and tidy, great if you have young children, pool was nice and clean, less crowded and the beach was a 10 minute walk, I would advice to eat in the restaurants near the beach as better prices than the hotel. Do take a boat ride to see the fish. Friendly staff and we felt relaxed. Rooms could do with a little more finishing touches

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BWK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely staff and gorgeous and clean rooms
Restaurant facilities extremely poor- all buffet breakfast was cold the only thing they seemed to get right was the man making eggs.
We staying in one night to eat as there was a tropical thunder storm - not all of our food arrived and the food that did wasn't exactly hot.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Personal Assistant at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Victoria. It saddens me to hear about your experience.Our commitment is to have staff that prioritizes the needs of the customer and is solution- driven every single time.Thank you for taking the time to bring up these issues via your review.We are looking into it and have spoken to the staff members involved.We realize you have options and would like to have a second chance to show you what we are capable of doing.Thank you for providing honest feedback. Knowing where we are missing the mark helps us tackle our weaknesses as we strive to be better every single day.Until then, please receive my most sincere apologies on behalf of everyone in the team.Committed to excellence is service,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

many thanks to Menaka Manoj who is front office manager , for the perfect service and support. If I am to travel there once more, no doubt, I will stop at Thaproban Pavillion again

If you travel with children of a very tender age (mine were 0 and 3) you should care about plenty of things you hardly pay attention while traveling alone or with a mate:

As many wide beds as you need
As much space in rooms as you need
Safety in the room ( everything should be fixed and safe)
Clean and spacious shower
Good TVs and fast keetle
Capacious wardrobes
Splendid Ocean view

its customer service level
Playground for kids
the flexibility of personnel and ability to respond to uncommon requests
diversity of foods for breakfast ( eggs, bacon, cereals, pickles, great choice of fresh fruits and vegetables, sweets), good coffee for admirers

Restaurant is absolutely fantastic both the food and the service

cleanliness and tidiness

Happy people warming others with their smiles :) unforgettable

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank n0839596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Personal Assistant at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our business.We could not ask for a better compliment. Knowing that your selection was exactly what you needed reminds us of the importance of considering our customer's preferences first in everything that we do.It is because of feedback like yours that we are able to select meaningful products of superior quality.Everyone here is working hard to create experiences and deliver first class products that inspire you to continue visiting us.We hope to become one of your favorites. Do let us know what we need to do to earn your continued loyalty.Thank you for taking time to share your opinion with others. Please come again.

Best Regards,




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews