We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wanna Studio Apartments(Pointe aux Canonniers)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/22
US$48
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Esprit-Libre Restaurant & Guest-House(Pointe aux Canonniers)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Mandala Moris(Pointe aux Canonniers)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa(Pointe aux Canonniers)
US$337
US$211
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heliconia Guest House(Pointe aux Canonniers)
Les Lauriers(Pointe aux Canonniers)
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Pointe Villas(Pointe aux Canonniers)
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Villas(Pointe aux Canonniers)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
155
53
11
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
53
11
3
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

I took the recommendation from the Lonely Planet to stay here. I walked in without a reservation and was advised that the room was €61 for a single room, which I thought was higher than it should be for the size of the room. I did have a look at a couple of other places briefly with the taxi driver but decided to come back to stay. I advised I wanted to stay probably a couple of nights and would most likely extend. I was told that I had to pay the money before booking, which I challenged as this is not the norm. The owner arrived and told me that I had to pay the money (and 4% added with a credit card which is not applied in any other hotel I’ve stayed) before checking into the room which I challenged again. Her view was that she’s had two people who left without payment and if I could not commit to more than 2 nights she needed to keep the room open for internet bookings. She was completed dismissive of customer care, was hugely disinterested and I felt that the only thing she wanted cynically was money. I paid and stayed. The room was small and over priced. There are only local channels on tv. The breakfast was extremely disappointing with poor selection and quality of fruit. The coffee was satisfactory and when I asked for a third cup I was told that I would have to pay for it. Next, when I tried to retrieve my contents from the safe, the door would not open with my passcode. I advised the receptionist who tried to open it with a key, but was unable to do so as the safe was a new one. She tried to phone the owner, but could not reach her for some time and there was no voice mail to leave a message(the husband had gone diving for the day but the receptionist couldn’t confirm where and when the owner (wife) would turn up/be available). I was left waiting indefinitely with no initiative from the receptionist or timescale for the owner to turn up so I asked her to phone the locksmith and police to see if they could at least open the safe. Eventually after extensive chasing, the owner then phoned and turned up 30 minutes later (she said she would be there in 20 minutes) after I first alerted the staff over 80 minutes ago. In the meantime, the maid asked me when I was leaving so she could tidy the room. The owner arrived and opened the safe (after going into the office to retrieve the key) and when I asked her why there was no spare key kept with the staff, she said because she didn’t want the staff to have access to it (highly disingenuous, verging on lies given that they had access to the key for the majority of the older safes and doesn’t engender confidence or trust in the owner or her team). When I and the maid took my luggage down the receptionist and staff were no way to be seen and didn’t bother to assist with my luggage. The treatment is poor and cynical, focused on money. I’m staying in much nicer guest house for practically half the price with exceptional customer service. I would recommend that others sat elsewhere.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
Thank Farah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIDCAB81, Propriétaire at Sous Le Badamier, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018
Google Translation

Nous ne sommes pas du tout surpris de votre commentaire.
Dès votre arrivée dans notre établissement, vous avez été très désagréable envers le personnel.
Nous ne comprenons pas pourquoi vous avez décidé de séjourner chez nous, vous n'en aviez aucune obligation.
Vous critiquez la chambre et le tarif, mais vous avez visité avant de réserver. Pourquoi êtes vous restée si cela ne convenait pas ?
Concernant le fait que vous avez du régler la nuitée à votre arrivée, nous ne comprenons pas pourquoi cela vous choque;
Nous fréquentons régulièrement d'autres établissements et la règle veut que l'on règle à l'arrivée dans l'établissement.
Concernant le blocage du coffre, nous sommes désolés que vous ayez dû attendre pour que nous venions le débloquer.
Mais il faut tout de même garder à l'esprit, que si la porte s'est bloquée, cela est dû à une mauvaise manipulation de votre part; non à un défaut du coffre qui pour le coup est neuf dans cette chambre.
Il nous semble que ce n'est pas compliqué de composer 3 chiffres et 1 lettre pour déverrouiller un coffre.
Nous sommes conscients que nous ne pouvons pas plaire à tout le monde, mais lorsque ce sont des personnes désagréables qui émettent des commentaires négatifs, nous sommes contents de savoir qu'elles ne reviendront plus chez nous.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Good points: Located a bit outside Grand Baie, hence more peaceful area. The entrance/ground floor is a restaurant, and rooms are on the ground and first floor. Swimming pool is at the back and calm place. The hosts are a middle-age french couple, who really helps. A great night club is 5 mins walk distance. An amazing home-made pizza at the restaurant!
Bad points: Poor check-in, where I was given a tiny room (the size of my home shower room), but after complaining, the receptionist agreed to move me to a larger room. There are no views from the room, its directly on the neighbours' window. No indoor parking, had to park on the street. No "good beach" or grocery shop in walking distance.
I like the place, and will probably go again because the hosts were good, but the pricing is too much for a relatively simple place.

Room Tip: Go first floor, any of the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zu_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2017

rooms are very bad, it is smelling humidity and balcony has no view, it has been blocked by wooden board so can't see anything. shower and washing-stand is not in the bathroom because of there is no seperated bathroom. you are sleeping with washing stands and if someone getting shower, you can be get shower as well due to it is in same place. it looks like very old, un-modern room, unhealty, dirty room.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We booked here for 5 nights.. but managed to stay only one night... on our second night we found cockroaches in our room on our things... although i understand that its common here due to humidity but still having cockroaches in room is not acceptable in my opinion.. these could easily enter the rooms cause there are wooden windows that doesnt close properly + the sink/ shower holes are not covered + there was a huge empty gap in the balcony door... this is a matter of hygiene.. for the manager this was normal but for myself its definately not

Atleast the manager understood the problem & refund us for 3 nights but it still was a hassle having to find another accomodation in the middle of our dream holiday's 2nd night... for us that could have been easily avoided if the matter is addressed + some needed refurbishment

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KaRls18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We stayed there 2 nights. The place is nice and well decorated. The room was clean and beautiful but a little bit dark. The main issue was the noise at night and in the morning. The room wasn't very well isolated. We could here people speaking in the morning as if they were just closeby. Finally, we were a little bit disappointed by the food. We have tried once looking at the good reviews. The burger wasn't good at all. I would say, this is a lovely place but improvements are required.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vinz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews