We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
252
63
25
8
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
63
25
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta bravaleading hotels of the worldthe general managerpiano playingnespresso machinegorgeous hotelcoastal pathscandlelight restaurantsitting rooman upgradecomfortable with great viewsluxury hotelhotel is locatedrelaxing stayswimming poolsuperior room with a sea viewjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We drove over an hour from Barcelona to S'Agaro to stay at Hostel de La Gavina. What a treat. The grounds are amazing. The pool was a highlight as it was huge and the staff was there to wait on you hand and foot. The view from the property to a must-see. This was a hit for both ourselves and our boys.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AroundtheWorld2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertoDepau, Director General at Hostal de La Gavina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear AroundtheWorld2003,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback about the Hotel. We are delighted to know you and your family had a great experience.
We look forward to welcome you back at La Gavina.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2018

I arrived at Hostal de La Gavina for a five night stay. I had requested a superior room with a sea view. First, I was thrilled they were able to provide an early check-in. Thank you! Next, this is the most amazing housekeeping staff I have ever seen. Linens were changed twice a day and sheets were of a light linen fabric. Unfortunately the superior room seemed rather small, a large tree blocked the view, while the neighbor's barking dog disturbed any calm.

The choices provided for breakfast were excellent! You can easily walk to the beach, restaurants along the coast, and/or small markets. Unfortunately, there was a period of no electricity due to some maintenance work and then a storm came through and knocked out the AC units for over a day. When I inquired about small fans to use - none seemed to be available.

The spa is excellent and something not to miss.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlan1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertoDepau, Director General at Hostal de La Gavina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Harlan1021,
Thank you so mucho for sharing your feedback about your stay. We are very pleased to know you were satisfied with the housekeeping and breakfast service. However please accept our most sincere apologies again for all the inconveniences caused by the cut in electricity during the storm. We are taking extraordinary measures in order to avoid similar incidents in the future.
We look forward to welcome you back very soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2018

.

Words fail me as to why anyone would think is a sophisticated or luxurious hotel. It's pleasant, but the location is totally nondescript, the service average, the rooms at Euro 500+ a night very underwhelming.

The first thing I noticed upon arrival was the tatty weather beaten 'Leading Hotels of The World" flag ... tatty and weather beaten not being a great advertisement. A wise manager would have had that removed and replaced.

There is currently a large construction site going on across the road - lorries going back and forth and noise. Yet, the terrace for a light lunch or cocktails is situated right across from it. Does the management really not have the sense to move the chairs and tables away from a building site ? Obviously not.

There were no daily English language newspapers until the weekend. That's odd for a 5* hotel. And as usual English speaking people have nothing but BBC World and CNN to watch on TV.

I was bemused to notice that on the Friday a large table and floral arrangement were situated in the foyer. Clearly weekend guests are more important than weekday guests.

Once again on the Costa Brava we came across this horrible dumbing down of not offering tea or coffee at breakfast. You make your own from a Nespresso machine. I can do that at home in my own kitchen. I see nothing luxurious or sophisticated about making my own beverages in a hotel. All the staff at breakfast seem to do is police the room like police wardens marching around waiting to pounce and snatch a used utensil off the table.

What I really take great exception to is disingenuous photos advertising the hotel. Take a look at the website and you'll see a large peninsula of a hotel and grounds which give you the impression that you'll have access to all that's in the photo. But it's simply not true. The reality is you'll only have access to the small area I have circled. There's no significantly sized gardens to walk around.
There's also a very inviting photo of a restaurant facing a lovely blue ocean. This isn't part of the hotel either. It's owned by the hotel, but it's not on the hotel property.

Our stay was just "OK", not remotely memorable. The area itself pretty dire. In all honesty, it was money thrown down the drain.

.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Serial_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertoDepau, Director General at Hostal de La Gavina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Serial_Traveller,
We are very sorry to find out here that your experience at La Gavina was not good but I would like to thank you for your suggestions to improve which will be taken seriously.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We just returned from our visit, and it was one of the best experiences we have had as members of the Leading Hotels of the World. We had a room overlooking the property on the top floor. From our room the view, which can also be seen from above the pool area, were spectacular and scenic. Even without the view, walks through the property and beach will allow for the same view. We took many photos! When we booked the hotel, we admired the old world charm but weren’t familiar with the history behind the hotel or the region. Needless to say we were very impressed upon arrival - the property is just beautifully maintained. The hotel retains its traditional glamour, and the staff including the general manager were extremely hospitable throughout our stay. The pool is beautiful and while the hotel was full throughout the weekend, it never once felt crowded. The food including breakfast, lunch, drinks, and dinner were great. I highly suggest dinner at Candlelight as it was an unforgettable experience. We have stayed in many luxury hotels throughout the world but what we admired most about this hotel was the old world glamour, charm, and high level of service that is at times lacking in modern luxury hotels. As a couple in our late 30s, we wish more hotels were like Gavina. We highly recommend visiting here and will sure to be back someday!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NYHappyTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertoDepau, Director General at Hostal de La Gavina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear NYHappyTravelCouple,
Thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful feedback about the Hotel and its service. Comments like yours is what makes our job very special. We are very pleased that you had a great experience.
We look forward to welcome you back very soon.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Had a week's holiday at La Gavina and the reviews are spot on. What a lovely place. The staff were without fault, the room was lovely (sadly, with an indifferent view from our balcony!), the food was good except for the 'candlelight' restaurant which was sublime. We will return!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank LincolnHairyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertoDepau, Director General at Hostal de La Gavina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear LincolnHairyBear,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are delighted to know we fulfill your expectations and had a good time at La Gavina.
We look forward to welcome you back very soon!
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews