We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$109
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Madikeri Heritage(Madikeri)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
9
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
2
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Madekeri in Allaranda Homestay with the Allaranda family of Mrs Bhavna and Vittal ji along with their mother and two kids Mukhul and Rasignya. We were showered with a lot of personal attention and affection by the family and we had the opportunity to celebrate Puthari festival along with the family. The warmth and love shown by each member of the family whether it was home cooked pork, lending their scooty for dinners to nearby places or simply chatting with us was a tremendous departure from the Delhi life which is so opposite of the Coorgi culture wherein everyone living in Madekeri recognised Vittal ji. This place was referred by a colleague and I am glad that we choose to stay here.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rahulr249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Most recently I had been to Coorg for a short family vacation. One of my closest friends suggested me this place. I could get Mrs Bhavana's (Owner) from my friend. She is very down to earth. I explained that we will need stay for 4 days. The price that she mentioned was very reasonable. She provided accommodation, Breakfast and Dinner for 4 days for a very minimal price. I was so worried as my kids were young as they would not have outside food. She prepared separate dishes for Kids and elders.She did not even charge anything for Kids. She was so polite and Humble.Overall I would say our stay was worth remembering for long. Thank you Madam.

Room Tip: Home made food, Hospitality, Loyal and Trust
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2014

For those of us who struggle to look up a good hotel because our family needs are so different the ones you're travelling alone, a decent Home Stay is a pleasant option.

The Hosts
Allaranda Home Stay was our first such experience. We went there on a friend's recommendation without any expectations. Our 6-night stay with the Allaranda family proved to be a lovely time. Bhavana and Vittal Allaranda are the hosts, with their two sons (Mukul and Rasagnya) and Bhavana's mom playing co-hosts.

The Location
It's a lovely family from one of the local Kodava clans - The Allarandas. The 2 bedroom Allaranda Homestay facility is just a few yards away from the host's lovely home and nestled in the midst of a few acres of coffee plantation. Right in front of the facility is a shady mango tree with a beetle-leaf vine creeping up. The campus is lush and rich with plants of medicinal value too. For the first time we saw a pineapple bush/shrub, a huge fig tree with really healthy figs in bunches near the stump, bay leaves plant, pepper plant (creeper) etc all within the small (when compared to those that span a few hundred acres) coffee plantation.

The Allaranda Homestay is about 3.0 km from KSRTC Bustand, Madikeri and is on the same way to the Club Mahindra Kodagu Valley resort. The auto-rickshaw guys are mostly honest and charge around Rs 50 to 60 from the town. The main town is a bit away from the homestay and after dusk, all you can hear is the sound of nature :)

The rooms are clean with basic amenities like a Satellite TV, dressing area nicely tucked between the washroom and the bed, western toilet with solar-powered hot water 24x7, well almost ;). The tariff per night in May 2014 for a double bed (two adults) was Rs 1500. An extra charge of just Rs 100 for the child was a big surprise (another homestay was wanting to charge Rs1000 extra for the child)! This is so, so reasonable when compared to lodges, hotels and other Homestays which could charge.

Albeit not on the property, there's a small brook nearby and Mukul took our son there. The next day the three of us tagged along with Mukul and spent memorable time at the brook, trying to trap tiny fish into a perforated aluminium bowl (to no avail ;) of course.

The Food
Another beauty of the Allaranda Homestay is your opportunity to taste great traditional Coorgi cuisine. Every meal can be an experience and its not an exaggeration. Bhavan's mom is a great hand at the traditional recipes. We still can't forget the Kadumbuttu (steamed rice ball served with mint-coconut chutney), Thalia Puttu, Akki Roti, jack-fruit curry in coconut milk and the local variety of chicken curry.

Just like your home, there's no menu card. The hosts are courteous and ask for our preference (veg/non-veg). We stuck to veg mostly. Everything is reasonably charged. For two adults and a child, the average cost for a meal (lunch or dinner) was around Rs 400. Drinking water is RO treated and safe. So, you don't need to buy bottled water.

The Dining Area
Especially in the mornings and evenings, eating together at the specially done slightly elevated open dining area is something we will miss until our next visit.

Other Assistance
The hosts will assist you in planning your trips to the tourist attractions, help arrange for a cab for your day trips, suggest genuine places to shop for honey, spices, home-made chocolate and home-made wine (grape, pomegranate, coffee, fig, apple etc). Another family staying in the room next to us were taken for a ride while shopping for spices.

The Last Word
Allaranda is not your 5-star hotel. It's the closest experience you'll get of life in Coorg with a real family and be safe. Though tourists flock Coorg in the summer time, monsoon is equally an ideal time to see the same place in a different light.

Go for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrysolyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Its a basic homestay but hospitality is very good . They have two seperate rooms , a large open ground , place to have your food in open . The homestay has got hot water ,filtered drinking water , electricity inverter and provides good delicious homely food . We loved our stay here .

Bhuvana , the property owner is very polite . My kids enjoyed the company of Bhuvana's kids Mukul and Rasagnaya . Bhuvana also got us a bookin at Handi Estates at Chikmanglur . The property is owned by Bhuvana's friend Palavi .

Handi Estates is 50 acrs coffee plantation , the estate has got a coffee processing units , we had a wonderful morning walk . Pallavi again is an excellent cook , we over ate what ever she cooked . Camp fire was cherry on the cake , local coffee plantation wokers entertained us with kannad songs and we danced .

Truly enjoyable stay .

Room Tip: Just one tip Allaranda is difficult to locate , so rely on your GPS . Also Handi estates is 50 Acres ,so you can easily as any local to provide direction . Avoid reaching there for the first time at night , as its easy to get directon during morining.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anshul408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We, a group of 4 girls decided to go to coorg and was looking for a homestay with in budget and found this one from net , ( that time it was not on trip advisor) . So we didnt see any pics and was wondering how it will be.

Finding this place might be a little tricky as its a little far from coorg town.The address says that its0.5 Km from mahindra resort which is just perfect.

I loved the property . There are only two rooms at this place and the owner family also stays near by. we took one room with an etc bed and blanket . the rooms were clean with a decent bathroom which had hot water the whole day.

The location is just lovely , very silent as its far from the main city . and its in between a plantation which has a lot of trees around.

If you are taking the food from the family then its god otherwise get something oacked from the main city as you wont get anything near by to this homestay.

Recommended when you want a budget stay without the tension of the food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonal3684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews