We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, gourmet food”

Ballandean Estate Wines
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Ballandean
Attraction details
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We were told we would be lucky if we got in to the Barrel Room for a Saturday sitting as we had left it to the last minute to book. We were very excited to have a 7 pm sitting for the 6 of us. It was a $80 maxi taxi ride to the Ballandean Estate from our accommodation at the Granite belt brewery. I can’t recommend enough the confit duck gnocchi, with Jerusalem artichokes and radish. It was a divine entree and well worth the $20. Make sure you have the crunchy potatoes with sour cream and chives with your main. My partner had the organic Killarney beef, smoked brisket brioche bun and loved it. My turkey was so tender and perfectly cooked ($38). We will be back. Oh, and don’t forget to try their Saperavi (2015) wine. It was recommended to us and its now a favourite ($42).

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank patricialehfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"barrel room"
in 14 reviews
"cellar door"
in 13 reviews
"granite belt"
in 11 reviews
"chocolate rum"
in 3 reviews
"gourmet food"
in 3 reviews
"shop attached"
in 3 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 3 reviews
"local produce"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful wine tasting"
in 2 reviews
"looked great"
in 2 reviews
"lovely cellar"
in 2 reviews
"salami"
in 2 reviews
"family business"
in 3 reviews
"tasting room"
in 3 reviews
"tawny port"
in 3 reviews
"take home"
in 4 reviews
"nice setting"
in 2 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018

Well worth the visit. Helpful staff with a great knowledge of their product range. No hard sell. Good range of products and loads of fun trying them out!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Visited BEW on a Tuesday afternoon for a tasting session ($5 per person, able to be taken off any purchases).

Unfortunately this wasn’t our favourite winery as we felt somewhat like just another number through the door.

Nice wine.

Beautiful location, and heard many great things about The Barrel Room.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank lanbriget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We had a wonderful time here, even with the kids in toe. Leanne was so pleasant and welcoming, giving us lots of information about the wines and the history of the estate. The wines were just lovely, but we were especially surprised by their Chocolate Rumball liquor. It was so good we drank it all during our week holiday in the Granite Belt and had to return to the estate to buy another bottle to take home.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Rechelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Regular visitors to Ballandean Estate Wines, stocked up on our regular wines we enjoy.

We also tried and purchased a few different wines.

The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about all the various wines.

Definitely recommend people who enjoy all types of wine pay a visit to Balladean Estate Wines.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank CLSA1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballandean Estate Wines also viewed

Ballandean, Queensland
Ballandean, Queensland
 
Ballandean, Queensland
Stanthorpe, Southern Downs Region
 

Been to Ballandean Estate Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing