We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”
Review of Sabor Espanol

Sabor Espanol
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$17
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Spanish restaurant, owners from Ibiza and Barcelona. Specializing in Paellas, Sangria, Spanish Wines List, Meats and Seafood dishes. Open for dinner.
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Parked at the restaurant then walked to the beach, saw the sunset on the beach, then back for a wonderfulr dinner. Had a party of seven. Best sauces with entrees, be sure to try the coconut curry sauce, but all were fantastic. Made us feel at home, hostess, waitress (of course) and cook all came around to check on us.

Thank paulbbq_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontseAlvarez, Propietario at Sabor Espanol, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hello Paulbbq!!
Thank you so much for write about us. Always we try you feel like at home! It was a pleasure to have you at our house. We hope see you again!

Montse Alvarez - Sabor Español

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

Highly recommend visiting if in Uvita. Located by the beach in Bahia at end of dirt road, this spot is fantastic. Family run, the food is fresh and made to order. Outdoor seating, great ambiance, delicious menu, great wine list. You may want to make reservations as it was always busy- and they do have some dishes that need to be ordered 24 hours ahead. The Stuffed Avocado was highly recommended so had to try and it did not disappoint.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MSpahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2018

So very happy we had dinner here. It was our last night and we wanted to make it special. Sabor did not disappoint. It is well off the beaten path and please do not be alarmed for the location, it is very close to the beach and at night the little road to get there is not greatly lit, but when you arrive you are greeted with a quaint, pretty, romantic restaurant. The owners are extremely warm and welcoming and tend to you right away. Get an appetizer or salad to start and the wine is amazing. They are both Spanish and their warm and loving personalities come out immediately. This is the place for seafood! It is local, fresh and if you want lobster, call them a day ahead so they can go to the market to get it. Nothing is bad here so pick whatever, you will not be disappointed. Also, please remember that everything is made from scratch so you have to be patient while they prepare the food. The presentation is also over the top! So glad we took the recommendation and came here, it was memorable! Thank you all again for a great evening!!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontseAlvarez, Propietario at Sabor Espanol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hello Erin!
Thank you very much for your nice words.
We are very happy you choose us for your last dinner trip, and you enjoyed it !. Our priority is our customers are happy with the food, ambiance, service..... thank you very much to appreciatte this!!
Sincerely,

Montse Alvarez - Sabor Español

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

This is a rather nice Spanish restaurant hidden down a dark dirt road in Uvita. Although somewhat hard to find, the labyrinthian exploration by car in the dark was still worth the effort.
The Chef, who hails from Ibiza, personally takes the order at each table, explaining preparation details of the various dishes and also checks on the diners experience. Considering how hot it must be in the non air-conditioned kitchen, it is no surprise that he escapes from time to time!
His business partner is a charming lady from Barcelona, so a good Spanish atmosphere is created in the open, well decorated dining area.
As starters we shared the double (broken) cooked roast potatoes, baked with aïoli and quite a spicy treat along with the cold Andalusian Gazpacho, which was creamy and tasty. It is of note that Costa Rican peppers are stronger tasting than the usual “international” peppers and the soup had a nice even consistency.
We shared the Mixed Paella (seafood, shrimp, fish, pork and chicken) mixed into Costa Rican style rice. The meal was washed down with a Riojas Cune red. Overall, a tasty meal.
56,000c for two people.

Thank hurlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

sorry i was very disapointed, i red on tripadvisor it was the number 2 restaurant in Uvita with many excellent comments but for me the paella was not good no taste like boiled rice with some boiled meat and a very little seafoods, it seemed it was not the real chief in the kitchen, it seemed it was another chief in the kitchen??? it is not possible to have a so bad paella when you read so good comments on tripadvisor, there was a problem in the kitchen ??? the paella was not a paella, just boiled rice without any taste, savorless, without spices, pity, disapointed, before paella we had excellent spicy mussels and a very bad gaspacho ( not of the day ??? limit to be sick !!! ), so when i come back home, i question me if i came in the restaurant i red on tripadvisor ??? i think there is a oroblem in the kitchen, i think sometimes it is another bad cookers people in the kitchen, the quality is not good every day, there are some comments medium and bad in tripadvisor, it was a bad day for me... sorry to write this because the service was very good and the women was very friendly, in conclusion the quality is not every day, so for a bad day it is very very expensive, bad quality and very expensive, quailty must be all day...

Thank Olivier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontseAlvarez, Propietario at Sabor Espanol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hello Olivier,

I am really surprise with your rewiew. I remember perfect you, I am the owner, the "friendly woman" that you comment. The chef is my husband Heri, spanish too, we never change, always he cooks.

He came to your table many times to ask for the food, like with all our customers, and me, and you always sais us "very good".... We keep very much always our qualuty.

We cook everything at the same moment that you order. Of course, the gazpacho was made one minute before you had it on the table, and the paella the same.

We are so sorry you had this bad experience, but we really sorry you dont comment anything of that when you were here with us.... Never you said us nothing bad about the food.

Sincerely,

Montse Alvarez - Sabor Español

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor Espanol also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Sabor Espanol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing