We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Experiences with the BEST Guides”
Review of Bahia Aventuras

Bahia Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bahía Aventuras, located in Uvita-Bahia Ballena, Osa, is a family-friend owned and managed boat and nature tour operator with the mission to responsibly share with national and international visitors their love for and knowledge of marine ecosystems as well as educate and promote the conservation of the priceless natural resources that are found in the Marino Ballena National Park, Mangroves Wetlands Refuge of Terraba-Sierpe, Cano Island Biologic Reserve and the Osa peninsula through fun, friendly and safe boat tour excursions.
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Our group took the full day tour to Corcovado National Park and it was excellent. Reymer, our guide, hustled all day to make sure we saw as much as possible while we were over there. We saw a tapir!! Twice!! It was absolutely amazing. We had a lovely day, our younger, pickier eaters said lunch was, "sooo good", and it was! We finished the day walking to a waterfall and were able to swim in the clean refreshing river. On the boat ride to and from the park we saw numerous dolphins and a whale with her calf.

A couple days later we chartered a fishing boat for our second excursion with Bahia Aventuras. We had a full day out fishing, whale watching, swimming and having fun with Dean and Captain Heiner. Once again, the service was top notch. Attention was given to details regarding safety, learning about the ocean and it's wildlife, and keeping us all happy. We caught a mahi mahi, again saw numerous dolphins, and this time 4 whales with their babies. The last of the day appeared no more than 30 feet from our boat. It was breathtaking.
I highly recommend any tour hosted by Bahia Adventures. They are efficient, educated, friendly, they care about safety and they care that you leave satisfied. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Rafael, Dean and Rey! --Michelle

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank Marfa_MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaAventuras, Manager at Bahia Aventuras, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi, Michelle!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences with us.

We're honored to have had the opportunity to share all of the beauties of this area with you and your companions on multiple tours and excursions. It brings us great joy knowing that we were able to deliver phenomenal service along all fronts: safety, education, enjoyment, nature, and all around passion for protecting the environment

We hope to see you again!

-Team Bahia Aventuras



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"corcovado national park"
in 35 reviews
"boat ride"
in 59 reviews
"whale watching"
in 34 reviews
"cano island"
in 59 reviews
"sea turtles"
in 28 reviews
"day trip"
in 29 reviews
"combo tour"
in 14 reviews
"ranger station"
in 12 reviews
"full day tour"
in 5 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 17 reviews
"scarlet macaws"
in 15 reviews
"great lunch"
in 13 reviews
"fruit"
in 26 reviews
"boa constrictor"
in 4 reviews
"snorkeling experience"
in 6 reviews
"flying fish"
in 9 reviews
"see whales"
in 13 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Nice tour to Corcovado, We saw whales, monkeys, ... We had a good lunch and a great team & guide, thanks!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank aloisrosenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaAventuras, Manager at Bahia Aventuras, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hello,

Thank you for writing this review.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the abundance of wildlife that Corcovado has to offer. Thank you for being open to trying our lunch, and we're pleased to hear that our entire crew and staff was able to provide you with an overall fabulous experience.

-Team Bahia Aventuras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Today we went out on the whale watching tour. We saw a whale with her baby calf, two different kinds of dolphins and numerous birds. The guides were knowledgeable and very attentive. You get fresh fruit and water on the boat which was delicious. The guides were well versed in all safety procedures and they definitely knew what they were doing. A wonderful morning!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank becky09072002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaAventuras, Manager at Bahia Aventuras, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hello,

Thank you for writing this review.

It brings us great joy hearing how we were able to give you and your companions a great combination tour to start your day! We're very happy to hear that you share our passion for fresh fruit, water, safety, and nature!

We hope to see you again in the future!

-Team Bahia Aventuras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We went whale watching with this company. At the end of the month of july you can see a lot of them. The service of the company was very good, the staff is really friendly! We saw 10 different whales and also a few babies. We also saw a giant turtle. We went to the caves and to whale island for a swim. I saw already whales at the Azores but here they came closer to the boat. What a nice and unforgettable experience!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank NoeB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaAventuras, Manager at Bahia Aventuras, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hello,

Thank you for writing this review.

It brings us great joy hearing that you felt our service and professionalism exceeded your expectations. We're so honored to be able to have shared this once in a lifetime experience of seeing the humpback whale and her calves with you, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed it as much as we do!

-Team Bahia Aventuras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

My three friends and I went on an 18 person boat to whale and dolphin watch, see sights from the ocean and snorkeling/swimming. Two other families and a couple were also on the tour. We started at a location where whales had been seen before and were lucky to see a mama and baby humpback whale playing! After that we headed to where dolphins had been located by another boat and were able to see these as well. Then we went by Ventano Beach and an island with a bird rookery. The last part was swimming/snorkeling at the "Whale's Tail" rock formation accessible at low tide. At all times the guide was knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. The boat tours work together in this area when on the water for whale sightings and have a code of conduct to make sure they take turns and do not overwhelm the whales. When snorkeling the guide took time to point out varieties of fish to me, which enhanced my experience. The guide and crew were extremely professional, experienced (I've been boating enough to recognize this) and put safety first above all things. Everyone was required to wear a life jacket at all times. They were also excellent with the elementary age children on board. This excursion was by far a favorite for me from others taken on other trips.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaAventuras, Manager at Bahia Aventuras, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi, Catherine,

Thank you for writing this detailed review about your experience with us on our combination tour.

We're thrilled to hear that mother nature was on full display for your friends with the stunning humpback whale and calf showing up for a little play time! It's great to hear that you were able to retain some of our staff's speaking points about the amazing marine and sea life.

Thank you for sharing our mission of safety with enjoyment. It truly is so important for us that our guests feel safe and secured, while still feeling immensely connected to the nature that this area has to offer.

We look forward to possibly seeing you on another one of our tours in the near future!

-Team Bahia Aventuras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Aventuras also viewed

Ballena, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bahia Aventuras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing