We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

The David Copperfield Harvester
Ranked #104 of 140 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At The David Copperfield Harvester in Broadstairs food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Broadstairs, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to St Peters, Westwood and Cliftonville, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Long wait for food. Salad bar very uninspiring. Rare steak not left to rest therefore bloody plate to eat off. I would not recommend if you want good quality.

Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The David Copperfield Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mel M, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Waited an hour due to only 2 in the kitchen. Breakfast was not worth the money.... won't be going back

Thank Cassy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The David Copperfield Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cassy, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. All comments, good or bad, are always welcome as it gives us opportunity and better understanding, where we can improve and make the guest's experience a great experience. Once again, thank you for your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

ok, cheap evening out. thought it was a bit strange that most folks were in their coats . the waiter told us the heating is very ineffective, it spoilt the night. food got cold very quickly , could have had fish and chips in the car and been warmer. A very poor range of beer compared with a lot of the local competition, shame as I enjoy a well served pint.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rich w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The David Copperfield Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Rich, thank you for taking your time and leaving us an honest feedback. All our guests' comments, whether negative or positive are appreciated as it gives an opportunity to improve guest's experience in our establishment. Unfortunately, during your visit we were experiencing problems with our heating system and were awaiting an engineer to investigate. Our heating has been fixed since your visit. Our beer and lager range is continuously reviewed by our marketing team and your comments have been passed onto that department. We would find it extremely helpful to know what products from beer and lager selection would you like to add to the current selection, just so we could add a specific suggestion to our team of experts to consider it as a drink menu choice in the future. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was probably my worst ever “restaurant” experience. We took our grandchildren for breakfast as they like making their own toast and serving themselves drinks. It took about 25 minutes before a waitress came. My wife and I ordered buttermilk pancakes, with fruit and maple flavoured syrup. What turned up? 2 stone cold scotch pancake type circles( like you get in a packet), bananas and blueberries and 3 chicken nuggets on each plate. We asked whether the nuggets should be there as it seemed so strange and were told they should be. We consulted the menu and found no mention of chicken nuggets so called the waitress over to complain. She said there had been confusion but who in their right mind would serve nuggets with a fruit and syrup pancake? We declined an alternative and left. The whole place was chaotic. No milk or orange juice in the self service jugs, no cups or saucers. Staff seemed lacking motivation, though the one who took our order at least smiled. Appalling.

Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for breakfast on 28/03/18. We were seated within 5 minutes of arriving, the server then took out orders within another five minutes. We were then told to help ourselves to the continental. However this was the disappointing part, there was no hot water in the urn for making tea. The coffee machine was empty. What was left of the juices were all warm, ran out of orange and apple juice. The milk wasn’t even cold, they had nothing replenished on the continental station, me and my partner had to order an unlimited softs drink at the bar as no serves were around to ask for one. Once our got food arrived, even though it took its time, the place wasn’t even that busy, we ordered in total, 5 sausages, 5 bacon, 3 had browns and couple of eggs. This took another 20 minutes to come out so the unlimited brekkie was a let down. We will not be recommending his anytime soon.

Went to pay for the bill, the bill was printed at 11.34, and it’s now 11.50 not a single server has come up to us to pay out bill. We went to the bar where we waited longer for someone to arrive to pay.

Will not be coming back. Such a bad services and bad food.

Thank Sarahh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The David Copperfield Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sarahh J, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. A manager is always available to talk to, if you feel things are not up to par and they would do their best to rectify the situation at the time. We would like to thank you for your feedback and your comments will be used for any future in-house training deemed necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The David Copperfield Harvester also viewed

 

Been to The David Copperfield Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing