We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$289
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$289
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$289
US$231
View Deal
SAVE US$58
Booking.comUS$289
eDreamsUS$289
AutographUS$289
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
650
248
90
35
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
650
248
90
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel sitting room long pool costa rica liberia airport autograph collection presidential suite resort fee guacamole open air beautiful property pool chairs water sports pura vida breakfast buffet is ceiling fan pool service
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2021 via mobile

El Mangroove is an exceptional property. The accommodations, property, dining, staff, location were all exceptional. The corner junior suite was spacious and luxurious. The staff makes you feel at home and the service is personalized. Sherelyn runs an exceptional service of multiple dining options - all with inventive and delicious choices. I will return to this property again in a heartbeat! Also, special thanks to Javier, Jonathan, Challah, Masiel, Tracy, Yariel for making the Mangroove feel like home and family. Pura vida!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SFGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2021

Rooms: We stayed in a habitat superior and crown suite (second largest suite) for 5 nights - both were beautifully appointed. My brother stayed in the lowest category room and even that was excellent.
Lot of bugs - they designed the buildings with standing bodies of water around (not moving) which attracts a lot of mosquitos, despite it being a nice design - expect to get stung A LOT (we were in Costa Rica 3 weeks at 3 other hotels where it wasn't as bad) - if they added jets and made the standing water move it wouldn't be as much of an issue. Poorly thought out.
Property: It's a beautiful property and has all the amenities one would need
Service: This was the biggest issue. All staff are very friendly however - they embody the "Pura Vida" slow service mentality it seems. We were left waiting for a waiter to take our order for 15+ minutes on 3 separate occasions. The small details (ie. salt and pepper, bringing toast on time for breakfast) - these are things that happen over and over again over 5 days begin to frustrate you. It's what distinguishes this property from a 5-star hotel.
Food: 80% of the food is very good, however you can go wrong on the menu.
Location: Very remote location, need expensive taxi or rental car to get anywhere, otherwise you are trapped in the hotel
Beach: The beach is not that nice however it is very swimmable.
Pool is wonderful.

Room tip: Get a room in building 4, these are closest to the pool!
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GuillaumeSabourin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2020

We came here for my birthday. Absolutely love the lush green of this hotel. we have the corner suite habitat and I loveeee it! waking up surrouding by nothing but nature is extreamly theraputic. staff was helpful , nice and aim to please. Love the pool area, it's so relaxing. Spa is top tier ! so organic , this is exactly what I was looking for , Unique experience. The beach is black sand from volcanic , to some they say its not a nice beach for me I love and enjoy it! even went out there at night time and the sky was full of stars. I highly recommend this place for anyone looking to unplugged and be with the nature. Staffs gave an excellent recommendations for everything we were looking for . Thank you again!

Room tip: Building 3 corner unit is the best room
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookk373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2020

Another great autograph collection hotel in the Marriott portfolio. This was our first trip here and I would not hesitate to visit again. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel at home. Almost empty during COVID which added to the relaxation. Easy 20 minute drive from Liberia airport. Security 24/7 at both main and beach entrances. The beach is public but plenty of space for everyone.

Pros - Cleanliness, staff attentiveness (a special callout to Javier at the pool for food/beverage service), food quality, adherence to COVID restrictions (staff mask wearing, cleaning, etc), unique and high end property, rooms were large and quiet.

Cons - Wifi doesn't extend to all of their seating closer to the beach, not enough intervention in guest mask wearing (too many guests walking around without masks with no repercussions), food options are limited (normally not an issue but the hotel isn't close to any other options), furnishings in room are due for replacement, and the fitness center lacks equipment and what is there doesn't even all work.

Room tip: The 3 buildings run away from the beach so only a few select rooms have a beach/ocean view. The rest are all similar views of the property.
Date of stay: December 2020
3  Thank TravelBrianCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 December 2020

It's been over 35 days since I've cancelled a trip and they still won't issue a refund after approving it. Half a dozen promises for follow-ups went unfulfilled. Highly disappointed in my experience with this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank DennisZ363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo Herrera, General Manager at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2020

Dear Guest

We need your personal information, as an anonymous guest, it is impossible to assist you.

Saludos

Eduardo Herrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews