We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$210
US$186
View Deal
Barcelo.comUS$186
Hotels.comUS$210
Expedia.comUS$210
eDreamsUS$186
TravelocityUS$210
Orbitz.comUS$210
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,527)
Filter reviews
5,527 results
Traveler rating
2,468
1,627
759
391
282
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,468
1,627
759
391
282
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar the oriental restaurant first club premium level costa rica the grill guest services high tide a la carte restaurants every other day our honeymoon beach towels howler monkeys zip lining ocean view swiss travel lobby area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 5,527 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2020

I spent a week here with my mom in early December. It was our first time in Costa Rica and I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

The rooms were clean and the resort itself was very modern and beautiful. The staff were very thoughtful and helpful and attentive to our every need - whether it was at the restaurants, bars or reception. They were also very friendly and kind and went out of their way to make sure we had the best experience.

The beach was small and very clean, but there was enough space for us to swim. The ocean was very calm most of the time so we were able to swim with no problem. Remember to bring water shoes if you go, as there are some parts of the beach that were rocky.

I also took two tours from the travel agents at the beach - look for Carlos & Marvin, they're hilarious! I did the bird watching tour at 5 am near my resort, which was great because I saw dozens of bird species without having to travel far. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about all the kinds of birds that we saw, and he even knew a lot about the plants and wildlife that was in the area.

I also did a rainforest tour. This tour guide was also very knowledgeable about the country's history as well as the Guanacaste province. At the rainforest, we were able to see many kinds of animals like sloths, monkeys, and birds. The tour guide also told us a lot about the different plants and flowers in the rainforest.

Overall, we had a very positive experience with the resort and the super friendly locals both on and off the resort. Whether you're going to Costa Rica for the first time or if you've been here before, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: The best buildings are 1 & 2 as they're close to everything. The second floor is quieter.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kimoch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2020 via mobile

We stayed at the Occidental Papagayo for 3 nights as part of our Costa Rican Honeymoon. Overall, we were unimpressed with our experience and probably will not be back here if we return to Costa Rica.

Starting from check in, we had to wait a decent amount of time for staff to be available for anything. I’m not sure if this is due to COVID regulations, or they just don’t have enough staff to meet their guest’s needs. We tried to set up appointments for kayaking and to request the shuttle service, but were constantly being transferred in circles among staff, if they answered at all. We spent a whole day trying to track down the correct staff member to make us a kayak reservation. Staff also frequently had various answers to the same question, depending on who you asked. Second star given for our dining experiences.

Lows: very few amenities for an “all inclusive” resort, unhelpful/absent staff, lots of stairs and walking, poor location (not by any shops/restaurants in a short walking distance), beach access is right next to public access point.

Highs: pretty good food, nice pools, seemingly well-kept grounds, clean rooms.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank esmith1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Experience, Other at Occidental Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2020

Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for making our Occidental Papagayo one of your choice venues for such an important celebration. We deeply regret reading that your experience fell short of your expectations.

We have taken good note of your remarks on the service received during your stay and very much lament the setbacks you report, we will not fail to share your feedback with our heads of department for information and further revision.

On a more positive note, we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your dining experiences and are grateful for your highlights on the beauty of our resort that afford breath-taking views over to the gulf and on the cleanliness of our guestrooms as we know this is an aspect of prime importance always and more so in the current situation.

Once more, we deeply regret not fully meeting your expectations and certainly look forward to regaining your trust on a future occasion if you gave us that chance.

Kindest Regards,
Customer Experience
Occidental Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

We took 5 days at this hotel with our social bubble. Firstly we want to mention that we consider traveling very seriously to avoid getting sick and spread the virus. We felt safe at this hotel, the measurements taken from the check in, meals, entertainment, public spaces really made us feel safe. In general the staff cared about our wellness starting on the safety and then helped us enjoy our stay with good activities and a very close follow up of our special conditions for the food and activities. We want to thank Enrique, Alonso, Carlos and Roy, they really cared about us all our stay. Don't worry too much if the experience at the front desk is not the best, the rest of the stay should be great.
We totally recommend this place, we felt safe, and on top of that we really enjoyed all the experience.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Y420QMricardos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2020

I spent two nights with a friend and it was awesome. Excellent food, excellent service and very nice facilities. The hotel is beautiful. We felt very comfortable staying there and we had a relaxing time. Everything was very clean too.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 203m_nicab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2020

We spent our first week in Costa Rica at Occidental Papagayo. It was a bit off the beaten path, and that's just what we needed. The all inclusive had everything we needed to relax, and we didn't need to go anywhere! Our room had the most incredible view - room 606. I spent mornings there with coffee and reading and loved every minute. The Italian fine dining was good, the Oriental marginal. I had a great salmon dish there, but my husband's was salty. Food in the dining room was good and what we expected for a buffet. But the staff were friendly and worked really hard to know our names and serve us well. The entertainment 2 nights was spectacular, especially the one night with Steven who played violin an guitar. It was a night to remember. He's very gifted and self-taught. Would definitely visit again! Great stay and the price good.

Room tip: Premium rooms with an ocean view superb - building 6!
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 648jeannineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews