We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Mangroove, Autograph Collection(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica(Gulf of Papagayo)(Great Value!)
US$420
US$336
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo(Gulf of Papagayo)(Great Value!)
US$360
US$316
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vista Bahia Beach Resort(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$750
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,797)
Filter reviews
3,797 results
Traveler rating
1,452
1,242
580
312
211
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,452
1,242
580
312
211
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubthe oriental restaurantsnack barfirst clubsunset walkcosta ricathe grillguest serviceshigh tidemain buildingour honeymoonevery other daya la carte restaurantsocean viewair canadazip liningbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
1,025 - 1,030 of 3,797 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2015

From A to Z since we placed a foot on that place service was great, first class even. We felt just like home the welcoming was excellent. Once we got to the room the view was outstanding. The restaurants were top notch especially the Italian restaurant, the waiter there made us feel very special we plan on going again this year and hope to find him still working there. Pretty much the stay there was unbelievable very secluded but yet so relaxing.... Don't hesitate to go you will not regret this place!

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mohware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Dear Mohware,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are pleased you enjoyed yourselves and that our staff contributed so much to your stay. The service we offer to guests is our main priority and your comments serve as great motivation to us all. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for highlighting some important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience. We look forward to welcoming you again to Occidental Grand Papagayo soon. Kind regards and warm wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Great place! 25 min. Away from Liberia airport. Nice rooms, clean , spacious . Free Wifi in the rooms. Service excellent, food delicious , drinks, smiles etc etc. Unbelievable , a nice walking distance beach. Many things to do.
Only one complaint the cleaning of the room took place early in the afternoon, not morning, so would come back to a room the same way you left it in the morning.

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
Thank Anna-Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2015

Dear Anna-Louise G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves overall and appreciate your recognition of all our staff`s friendliness and efforts. We are grateful for the points you highlight in your review and the information you have provided our future guests. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards and warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Let me start be saying ALL of the staff are World Class...from check in to check out, the staff went above and beyond to cater to our needs. The grounds are outstanding, rooms are comfortable as well as the other facilities. Gym is small but very functional with updated and maintained equipment. Lobby bar was great for hanging out and relaxing. The disco was very nice with a good play list. The pool was great for a refreshing swim. Small, but adequate. The beach is awesome. I would highly recommend spending a few days on the beach. Beach bar/Lobby Bar/Pool Bar are well stocked. If you can't find what you're looking for, then you probably don't need it. Beds are comfortable and the A/C works great. The food was good, but nothing over the top and plenty of it. We will be back.. Thank you Occidental Grand for taking care of us during our stay

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2015

Dear Jimmy M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you all had a great time and we appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for highlighting some important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience. We appreciate your recognition of all our staff`s friendliness and efforts. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to my colleagues as they serve is all as motivation to continue on the same path. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards and best wishes from us all,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2015

There is a delay to me posting this review due to circumstances back home however it was important to write about our stay because of the amazing hospitality we received during our stay. We stayed for 3 glorious weeks in July this year, the room was clean as you would expect and any personal details & requirements were arranged without fuss.

The staff, all of them from the GM right across the spectrum, restaurant waiters/ess, gardeners, pool staff & cleaners, managers and barmen...you get my drift all were so friendly and accommodating.

The grounds and pool was immaculate, the food was good and we were on occasions treated with VIP status, a really nice personal touch.

It would be difficult to name individuals because that could imply that others are not worthy of mention, so not true, but and there is always a but, Josue in reception was a star his people skills are amazing he truly has the attitude that there is no problem everything sorted, thank you some how does seems not enough.

Linda...I would like to think we have found a real friend here..thank you

I want to mention more but they know how we feel about them, in the restaurants and the pool :)

We traveled from England, not easy as at moment no direct flights, but it was worth the effort we will make the trip again and soon, one of the best secrets in the world.

The Staff make this five star if you want to pick fault you will find things so just chill out and let yourself have an amazing time with some great people.

Tony, Hazel, Giles & Sara

Room Tip: Go for one of the attached bungalows, great views and quiet
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Antony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2015

Dear Friends,

Thank you so much for sharing your holiday experience at Occidental Grand Papagayo with like minded travelers. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff made such a valuable contribution to your stay. The service we offer to guests is our main priority and your comments serve as great motivation to us all. You have indeed found friends in all of us and we hope you will all come back and visit us again soon here, in your new home from home in Costa Rica. Kind regards and warm wishes to you all,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Great facilities, staff was very professional and courteous and the variety and quality of food (buffet area and restaurants (Oriental and Mexican) was second to none. Hotel is somewhat secluded but does not restrict access to activities, tours and excursions.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RTee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2015

Dear RT 2013,

Thank you for sharing your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Hotel Grand Papagayo. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the great points you have highlighted. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews