We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$90
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loganda Karoo Lodge(Touwsrivier)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karoo Art Hotel(Barrydale)
US$104
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveler rating
581
76
22
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
76
22
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdwyka tented lodgegame driveson footcape townsafari experiencegame reservewhite rhinomain gatehot towelsour honeymoontwo nightshis knowledgeclose encounteronce in a lifetimefantastic experienceamazing animalsprivate reserve
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 688 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Stayed here for two nights, undoubtedly the highlight of our trip to SA. Managed four game drives which were unbelievable, getting up close and personal to lions, elephants rhinos and cheetah. The tented accommodation was out of this world, (air conditioning in a tent?) . Restaurant food impeccable and customer service from staff amongst the best money can buy.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drummondone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2018

Sanbona is a great private game reserve. It does not have the vast animal numbers of say Masi Mara or Kruger because it is situated in an area of semi desert, but it does have an enormous variety. In addition with only 3 small lodges it does not have masses of safari vehicles. The guides are brilliant not only do they find animals but they also allow walking safaris when possible. We got to walk within 12 yards of a cheetah. We also saw wonderful rare White Lions plus rhino,giraffe,zebra,hippo, elephants, various antelopes, birds and of course monkeys.
The Tents at Dwyka are very comfortable, beautifully situated and well serviced. The food is very good and the drinks reasonably priced.
There are 3 lodges, Dwyka is the most expensive but it is about 30 minutes closer to the main game viewing areas, so staying at Dwyka gives you about an hour extra game finding time per game drive, it also provides a more authentic experience. Worth the extra

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank wisborough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

This is our second visit to Sanbona and my husbands first.
We enjoyed it even more this time!
We stayed in the Dwyka tented lodges and they were amazing.
Each one separate so you can keep the curtains open and still have privacy.
The big bed and open shower is great.
And the service by everyone was lovely.
Our ranger Anthea who we were lucky enough to have for a second time is amazing.
Her passion for the animals is evident in her explanations and her knowledge of the animals and the area is amazing.
We got up close to so many amazing animals and it is an experience none of us will forget anytime soon.
Thank you again Sanbona you guys are amazing!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank Burbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

If you are looking for a large reserve with all the tourist trimmings Sanbona will not be for you. However if you are serious about total respect for the wildlife, and a passion for preserving a unique environment then look no further. Our guide Anthea was wonderful (as I am sure so are the others) and has 'worked with' the animals for many years, and by respecting their space and not exhibiting challenging behaviour towards them, they trust her enough to allow us some breathtaking views of them in their natural environment. Rather than allowing a circle of trucks near any of the animals, they restrict viewings to just a couple at any one time...respect!

Consequently we were able to see so many beautiful creatures, far too numerous to mention, but the highlight for me was the elephant family at the waterhole, with the matriarch keeping control over the whole herd and curbing the behaviour of 'naughty teenagers'. What a role model, she led and they followed.

The website for Sanbona is very impressive and informative, however it doesn't do justice to the reality. GO before it gets even more popular than it deservedly is and well done to the wonderful 'custodians' of this inspirational place.

Room Tip: We stayed in Gondwana Lodge and all rooms offer views of various aspects of the terrain.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SanMadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018

We came for a 2 week holiday to South Africa on our honeymoon. We were so looking forward to it and it was 100% a highlight of the trip to stay at Sandbona Safari Private Game Reserve.

It was the most incredible incredible incredible experience! We stayed in the DWYKA tented lodge and the accommodation was extremely impressive. Because there are only 9 suites, you have total privacy as well as that element of exclusivity. The staff are so friendly and so accommodating and nothing was a problem for them. The service was impeccable!

We stayed for 2 nights and went on 4 incredible game drives. Our guide Gerhard was extremely professional and his knowledge was quite literally mind-blowing. Everyone said he was the best guide and they were totally correct! Every game drive was more and more exciting/interesting and we got to see every single animal!! Including leaving the jeep to walk right up to a cheetah!! The whole experience was just so amazing and we will cherish those memories forever.

The food was delicious, well-presented and a great variety of choice. We loved the specially made breakfasts after the morning game-drives and the BBQ on one of the evenings was so so so tasty!

A special mention to Corlia who was the first person to welcome us. She continuously ensured we had the most perfect honeymoon and her attention to detail with ensuring everything going perfectly was particularly impressive. The way she went about looking after us is what made it extra special.

Many people will venture to other safaris across SA, but I promise you this is by far the best and I would consider it to be quite literally a hidden gem!

If you are looking for a private game reserve, which offers the highest quality of accommodation, incredible incredible service, the best food you could ever imagine and the most sensational safari experience – look no further than Sanbona. It will not disappoint, and we will for sure go back again!

Highly highly recommend A+++++++

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews