We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miquel is fantastic”

European Wine Tours
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Gratallops
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Full day wine tours and wine tastings in DOQ Priorat and DO Montsant with the author of the first wine books about the region. Tours include visits to 2-3 cellars per day along with sommelier-guided tastings of the wines. Visitors will enjoy the best meals in the region at the wonderful restaurants that have opened over the years to accompany the top-end wines of Priorat and Montsant. These are private, custom tours that never mix groups and give you an unparalleled insight in to the wines and culture of the region. Please contact for reservations via email!
Reviewed 5 August 2018

My wife and I booked a tour with Miquel as part of a stay in Barcelona. Now, as we’ve been describing our trip to friends back in the States, our day in Priorat consistently comes up as the highlight (take that, Gaudi!) It was a total package, with transportation, impressive language skills, and most importantly deep but accessible wine knowledge paired with terrific wineries and vineyard experiences. We would never have been able to assemble a tour like this on our own, and the wines we sampled were both extraordinary and representative of this fascinating region. Miquel is a great host, and though he knows Priorat wines and winemakers intimately (his books were a delightful included bonus), he is much more than just an advocate, able to be critical and balanced in his presentation. If you love wine, this is a package not to be missed. By the way, our meal at Brots was also absolutely superb. The price may seem high, but I felt it was worth every euro, and actually kind of a bargain given the quality overall.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank fiddlebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudin, Owner at European Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Bruce, thank you so much for the review and I'm thrilled to hear you had a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"train station"
in 5 reviews
"worth every penny"
in 3 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"delightful lunch"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 2 reviews
"high quality"
in 2 reviews
"priorat region"
in 2 reviews
"miquel"
in 26 reviews
"books"
in 5 reviews
"expert"
in 5 reviews
"barcelona"
in 13 reviews
"scala"
in 3 reviews
"dei"
in 3 reviews
"producers"
in 3 reviews
"enthusiasts"
in 2 reviews
"mas"
in 3 reviews
"wine"
in 18 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018

When looking for wine tours near Barcelona, I stumbled across Miquel's tour of the Priorat region. We were absolutely blown away by the overall experience!!

We took the train over from Barcelona and were met by Miquel at the quiet train station. Miquel asked about our previous wine knowledge, and immediately catered the tour to our novice level! With Miquel, we were able to see wineries and vineyards which would have otherwise been inaccessible on our own. The delicious lunch was a great stop along the way. Miquel had fabulous relationships with each place we visited, which made the whole experience feel much more personal. We so enjoyed the day chatting with Miquel and learning about the beautiful Priorat region. I cannot recommend Miquel enough and have loved sharing the fun wine facts he taught us with our friends after returning home.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank rebeccapope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudin, Owner at European Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for coming down and enjoying this wonderful region!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2018

My fiancee and I were visiting Barcelona, but also wanted to learn something about the local wine and to get out of the city for a day so we arranged a tour with Miquel. We couldn't have asked for anything more from our visit to the cellars and vineyards of Priorat, Miquel was a great guide and had as much knowledge about Priorate wine to share as you could possibly want, and then some left over after that. The visits to the cellars and vineyards Miquel arranged were experiences that would have been very difficult or impossible for us to arrange on our own, much less in a convenient one day visit to the area. This is the kind of experience that you will remember long after your trip to Spain has ended. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Elon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2017

As someone who lives locally and loves wine, I wasn't sure about spending time on a tour in Priorat but I'm so glad I did. Miquel is professional, engaging and knows more about the Priorat and Montsant wine regions than anyone I've ever met - he has literally written the definitive texts on them! I visited wineries that ordinarily wouldn't be open to the general public, had a wonderful lunch and came away with a lasting impression of the region and their wines. If you choose to explore the gem that is Priorat, be sure to book a tour with Miquel; you won't regret it.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Fintan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We visited Priorat in October as a group of 10 wine enthusiasts. We trusted Miquel Hudin to take care of all the details of our visit, and we just had the most wonderful experience. The guiding was very inspiring, and Miquel was able to answer every question we had. He took us through beautiful Priorat and Montsant landscapes, visits to skilful and enthusiastic winemakers and wine tastings of superb wines. In between we enjoyed a delightful lunch at a top restaurant, accompanied by another wine maker and his wines. Miquel is the perfect host, and I cannot imagine a better choice. Thank you so much for taking so well care of us, making our day such a memorable experience.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank bilars791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudin, Owner at European Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Was wonderful to take your group around. Priorat enthusiasts can't be welcomed enough!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed European Wine Tours also viewed

Gratallops, Province of Tarragona
Gratallops, Province of Tarragona
 

Been to European Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing