We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
FerroHotel(Modica)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/03
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/30
Book now, pay at stay
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Modica Old Town Rooms(Modica)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Le Case dello Zodiaco(Modica)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Giogaia Bed & Breakfast(Modica)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveler rating
403
89
28
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
89
28
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh ceilingsupper partthe main hotelthe hotel's restaurantcakeswine barantique furniturefamily homefavorite hotelthe blue roomhotel owneroutstanding servicelovely hotelstreet noisemodern conveniencespainted ceilingroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 526 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We stayed 3 nights inthis family owned 18thc palace. You enter the rooms onthe 2nd and 3rd floors thru anantique filled vs tubule tht makes yu feel that you are living in a palace. OurK bedded room was large,spacious, very quiet, and spotless,with ac, wifi, a safe, and modern bathroom. The staff is freindly and helpful , and the owner parks yur car for free on a nearby side street and can shuttle you to the lower town and centro storico. Breakfeast is downstariswithhotand coldcereal, croissants, cured meats, pastries,yoghurt, fruit, coffee, etc. An adjacent hotel restaurant, Locanda Del Colonello, is an alleyway across cross from the hotel, with good for, excellent service;also Nicastro, a small restaurant with many locals,offering traditional sicilian food, rez required. There is a supermarket next to the thole and a fantastic bakery across from the supermarket, notto be missed for their great cannolis. You can walk to the lower town via a series of steps that takes you by the large San Giorgio church, with a small3 tiered 19thc theatre,slighly smaller than the 4-tiered one inNoto. We used Modica as a base to take day trips to Ragusa, the duomo is the scene in the Camiliieri Montalbano detective series, and Noto, both 30 minute drives.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room facing away from the street.
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank artnuvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Palazzo Failla is an old family estate perched at the top of Modica. The estate is filled with beautiful antiques. Our room had a little terrace that was perfect to enjoy a glass of wine every evening. The staff went above and beyond to assist us with our daily trips to Scicli and Ragusa. We just loved walking the stairs down to the town of Modica - great exercise and very scenic! We are so glad we were able to spend 3 days at this charming hotel! Make sure you have dinner at their restaurant, Locanda del Colonello, one of our favorite restaurants in Sicily!!

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taraespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2015

The old building was charming - ask for rooms there in preference to the rather more corporate annex. Helpful staff who were happy to sort out car parking. Good breakfasts. Be aware that this is in the old town - so be prepared for lots and lots of steps back up from the newer part of town.....though that is a benefit it you eat as well as we did!

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Jules D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2015

High-ceilinged rooms with original furniture and tiled floors in what was once an aristocratic home. Good hotel services, including valet parking (free but give a tip). Nothing sumptuous for breakfast but it’s up to the normal high Sicilian standard with yogurt, pastry, cereal, fruit, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sweart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Palazzo Failla, is a family owned and run hotel in historic Modica, Sicily. The elegant house belonged to Signora Failla, the grandmother, and the family converted it into a charming city hotel, filled with antique furniture and beautifully, painted ceilings.
My husband and I spent 3 memorable days exploring southeast Sicily and its surrounding baroque cities, Noto, Modica and Ragusa Ibla, using the hotel as our base.

The August afternoon we arrived, Signor Failla arranged a 2 1/2 hour tour of Modica for us and several other hotel guests, gratis. We spent the evening with a knowledgeable, informative guide who shared many details about the city and its history. Although we had read quite a bit about the area before we arrived, our guide revealed details about Modica, its citizens, its colorful history and its outstanding Baroque churches.

That evening we ate dinner at Locanda, the restaurant affiliated with the hotel. Our table was on the terrace with romantic lighting and a lovely breeze. We found the service staff to be solicitous and helpful, the food fresh and delicious. Breakfasts were generous, including fresh ricotta, fruit, tomoatoes, many lovely pastries and breads, creamy butter, cured meats and cheeses and, as a special treat, a potato fritatta. Coffee was strong and hot. Providing us with gluten free alternatives posed no problem at all.

I must comment the desk staff as well. Giulia, Signor Failla's daughter, and her staff speak excellent English and provided help in all areas: maps, directions, local telephone calls, attractions. The hotel initially told us that we would have to pay to park our car, not unusual in old town centers in Siciy. However, when we arrived she arranged for staff to park it. When we figured out where they parked we took over.

Our room, the same one pictured in the photo on the hotel's Trip Advisor entry, was spaciously proportioned, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Waking up to the beautifully painted ceiling first thing in the morning was a real treat.The bath was modern and included all the amenities. We loved our terrace looking over a side street on the side of the hotel. Domestic and neighborhood sounds from the nearby market and apartments softly drifted over when we opened our French doors.

My husband and I are early risers and love city living. However, be aware that the garbage collectors, about whose schedule the hotel can do nothing, come through early and make their presence known. You might consider requesting a room on the other side of the hotel if you sleep in or lightly.

It was a really lovely stay and the perfect, central location from which to explore the whole area. It is well worth going out of your way to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews