We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sta. Monica Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
US$119
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atmosphere Resorts & Spa(Dauin)
US$248
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort(Dauin)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Essencia(Dumaguete City)
US$37
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Go Hotels Dumaguete(Dumaguete City)
US$25
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wellbeach Dive Resort(Zamboanguita)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Dorado Beach Resort(Dauin)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acqua Dive(Zamboanguita)
US$59
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
23
29
17
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
29
17
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoffer freepool siderooms are cleansoap and shampoorelaxing placecable tvhome away from homeapo islandboholfacilitiesresorttricyclegeneratormaintenancetrips
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

This resort must have been beautiful once upon a time, renovation or general cleaning is badly needed. Spider webs are all around the in a restaurant. The room is big, clean and complete toiletries. However the service must be upgraded (staff are very polite and friendly), food was not good at all and it takes time.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Chayong23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Director at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Hello Chayong23,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Sta. Monica Beach Club for your trip to Banilad, Dumaguete in Negros Oriental. We appreciate you for sharing your personal experience through this review as it helps us see the areas we need to improve. Rest assured we will alert the housekeeping and kitchen department regarding these matter. We hope you can still extend us another opportunity to serve you better when you find yourself in need of a home in Dumaguete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night as our preferred hotel was booked for the first night on Negros. We did not expect much, but for such a stay it is actually quite okay. Do not think it is a real resort as you can find so many here.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the pool is nice enough, however there is no beach. The food is decent, but nothing special. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are fine.
Overall the place had a bit of a run down or neglected feeling about it. Maybe due to the low season.
But it is not expensive so still good value for money.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Mattijs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Director at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hello Mattijs T,

Thank you for choosing Sta. Monica Beach Club for your place of vacation in Dumaguete, Negros Oriental. We are glad you enjoyed the food, the resort facilities and team’s signature personalized service. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

My family and I visited Sta. Monica last summer. It is a beach front hotel, strategically located near the city. The hotel area is big, big enough to cater special events. I can absolutely say this hotel is good for everyone especially families with kids. Our stay is worthwhile because we were able to visit great places like Apo Island. Should I travel again in Dumaguete, I will certainly book a room at Sta. Monica because it's like a home away from home.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank MariaBernadetteRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Director at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi MariaBernadetteRamos,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Sta. Monica Beach Club for your family’s trip to Dumaguete, Negros Oriental. We highly appreciate you for sharing a review of your personal experience. We are very glad to learn how your personal experience was. We are grateful for the recommendation of SMBC to families and we are delighted to learn you lived a life celebrated through traveling and exploring the beauty of Dumaguete. We look forward to your return, we are glad to be you home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Dumaguete had been the only place my wife and I had visited more often than any other place in the Philippines as local tourists. On our previous visits, we stayed near the city proper to make the most of our time. This time we have chosen this resort together with a relative couple because we just want to relax, and allot just one day for an out-of city visit in our 4 days stay in Dumaguete. We got a special package from One of Collection that also manages places in Bohol and Coron, Palawan that includes airport transfers, free breakfast, and 1 night dinner for the 4 of us.

Although at first, we have an issue on the assigned room to us, succeeding experiences until our departure are pure enjoyment of the available facilities the resort had offered. For a transparent assessment, I have compared the provided flier with our experience on house amenities; efficient cable TV and split-type A/C unit, working hot shower (we loved the shampoo/conditioner) and a luxurious 4*-5* hotel bed. On guest services and facilities; relatively large & clean pool for kids and proficient swimmers, in-room efficient wi-fi and a working back-up generator. The resort overlooks the bay, it doesn't claim to be like most of Bohol and Boracay, but our observation during our breakfast at their restaurant fronting the bay, local families flocked to the beach and even kids managed to swim with their older folks.
Our best experiences:
- Upon arrival, our request for change of room was addressed in less than an hour.
- Integrity of Management's distributed fliers on what to expect in room amenities, and in guest's services and facilities.
- Large clean pool which we utilized on our first day and onward.
- Variety of good Filipino food on our free 1 night dinner, with our meal restrictions fulfilled.
- Trustworthiness of staff in dealing with guest. thank you to the lady front-desk officer with an "L" in her name (sorry for not remembering your full name), and to the courteousness of all others in housekeeping, maintenance, restaurant staff, and even security guards.

Opportunities for improvement.
- Study if there's a need for an exhaust fan in the toilet & bath; the smell inside was spread into the room.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIKO597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Director at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Hello KIKO597,

Thank you for choosing Sta. Monica Beach Club for a relaxing trip in Dumaguete! We are glad you had a lovely time at the resort. To live a life celebrated is to relish the good times and live in the moment! We are happy to be your home in Dumaguete and it was a pleasure serving you classic delicious Filipino dishes! We highly appreciate your review and your comments on things that need improvement. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We visited Dumaguete to celebrate the birthday of my brother. Since we werent familiar with the resorts around the area we decided to stay elsewhere and only heard of this resort from one of the staff at the hotel we were staying at. Since they had a buffet dinner during Saturdays we decided to have our dinner there along with a chance to use their pool facilities. The place is really clean and beautifully maintained. I enjoyed the time i spent there especially their Grilled Buffet, the seafood was fresh and really really good. They would grill only the ones you ask them to which was also a good thing since the food always remained warm. I love the taste of their fried rice and the beef dishes . Like i always say, the place would be nothing if their staff werent friendly no matter how beautiful the area is, the staff would always make the experience worthwhile. Sta Monica's staff were very accommodating and would go to an extra mile just to serve guests ( considering we were just day use / buffet guests ) It was heartwarming. The next time we go to dumaguete we would definitely stay at this resort <3 Truly recommended <3 ( btw, i rated 4 stars because i find the bathroom / changing rooms really creepy... it’s pure white and the ambiance is a bit eerie ( only there though... ) ... i can feel the hairs of my skin standing as i changed in the area, maybe it’s because its dark outside? o - o ;; it’s not just me, my sister and brother felt like something was there ;; sorry to say but its true ;; )

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SimplyJonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Director at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hello SimplyJonique,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Sta. Monica Beach Club, the most iconic place to celebrate in Dumaguete! We highly appreciate you for sharing a review of your personal experience. We are happy to learn that you loved the Saturdau grill buffet options. We are grateful for your commendation for the staff. We also thank you for pointing out areas for improvement. We look forward to you return as checked-in guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews