We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sta. Monica Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
Atmosphere Resorts & Spa(Dauin)
US$249
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acqua Dive(Zamboanguita)
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Essencia(Dumaguete City)
US$38
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wellbeach Dive Resort(Zamboanguita)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Go Hotels Dumaguete(Dumaguete City)
US$25
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort(Dauin)(Great Value!)
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Dorado Beach Resort(Dauin)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
23
29
17
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
29
17
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoffer freepool siderooms are cleansoap and shampoorelaxing placecable tvhome away from homeapo islandboholfacilitiesresorttricyclegeneratormaintenancetrips
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016

As we had already stayed at two other One-of-Collection resorts, the Amorita in Bohol and The Funny Lion in Coron, we wanted to try the Sta. Monica Beach Club in Dumaguete to see what it was like. The location of the hotel is quite good, a bit off the main south road but still within the city boundaries and about a 10 minute tricycle ride to Robinson's Mall and a 20 minute ride into the city center. There isn't really much of a beach at the hotel, just a bit of grey sand that isn't particularly inviting and I don't think anyone would choose to go swimming in this area.

Check-in at the hotel was smooth and efficient and the staff at the Reception were friendly and helpful. Our room #107 was in the main block where most of the rooms are located, overlooking the garden and pool area. Outside the room there is quite a large patio with a table and some armchairs. The room itself was quite large but a bit dark because of the patio in front and the furnishings were quite spartan in nature with a small writing table and chair, a bed, a bedside table and that was about it. During the course of our stay the hotel did change some of the furniture and brought in a larger writing desk that was much more practical. My major criticism is that the room had no character whatsoever. Here we are in the Philippines that has a thriving furniture industry and some of the most beautiful handicraft items in Asia and there was nothing in the room to distinguish it from any other hotel rooms in the world- what a pity and what a missed opportunity to highlight some local Negros artwork and handicrafts! The bathroom was basic but clean. The air-con did work but it had a fairly major drip which had destroyed the wooden frame around the unit and the water continued to drip on the writing desk and floor- we indicated this to the reception but nothing seemed to be done to fix it during our stay.

The outside area of the hotel was quite nice and the pool area was lovely apart from the fact that there were very few sun umbrellas so it was almost impossible to lie by the pool without getting sunburned. The other unfortunate thing about the pool is that it never seemed to be cleaned and it had a layer of leaves floating on the surface the whole time we were there. When you walk around the Sta. Monica it feels a bit like a time-warp- the hotel was probably built in the 1980's and nothing seems to have been done to it since then, either to the buildings or to the gardens. There are flowers and trees but they are a bit sad looking and a bit few and far between. The buildings are okay but would definitely look better with a coat of paint and some new furnishings. The pool area also has a bar which serves drinks and snacks and we also had dinner there one evening when they had a poolside BBQ. The staff at the pool bar were not very attentive and seemed happier to chat to each other and play with their phones rather than keep an eye out for guests.

The main hotel restaurant is located near the beach and we went there twice as breakfast was included in the price of the room. Staying at the Sta. Monica you don't really have any other option for breakfast unless you get a tricycle to take you to the mall or into town, so you are a bit stuck when it comes to meals. I have to admit that the breakfasts we had both days at the Sta. Monica were probably the worst I have ever had in the Philippines and a total disgrace. The first morning when we arrived there was virtually nothing sitting out on the buffet table apart from a loaf of white bread, some butter and some jam- all of these went quickly as people were obviously hungry and took what was available. We ordered some eggs and other breakfast things from the kitchen and eventually they found their way to our table. The waiters were few and far between and didn't seem to cope very well with the demands of hungry guests. This is the Philippines after all so where were all the delicious fruits that are readily available, where were the local breads and pastries and esaymadas that Dumaguete is famous for? The breakfast was a total embarrassment and if I were the management of the hotel I would do something to change this immediately- it is not an expensive fix and it is absolutely necessary if they hope to remain open as a hotel.

The GM of the hotel was around during the weekend we were there but he made no effort to introduce himself or ask how we were enjoying our stay, which is a real pity. The GM at The Funny Lion in Coron, Michael, was much more pro-active and made a real effort to chat to hotel guests and see how they were enjoying their stay. The staff at the Sta. Monica were lovely but totally untrained and seemed unable to cope with the smallest request so once again the hotel management needs to do some serious in-house training sessions if standards are going to improve.

I guess all these criticisms would not be so serious if this were a hotel charging PHP 1,500 or PHP 2,000 a night but when this sort of hotel charges PHP 6,000 to 7,000 a night you really expect something better than what we got at the Sta. Monica. We were surprised that the owners of the One-of -Collection had done nothing to improve the condition of the resort and bring it in line with their other properties.

We would definitely come back to the Sta. Monica Beach Club if and when the hotel is updated and brought into the 21st century but until then we will probably go elsewhere and would advise other potential guests to do the same.

Stayed: May 2016
4  Thank Jamesinmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Director at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Hello JamesinManila,
We are grateful for the time you took to share a detailed review of Sta Monica Beach Club. We are deeply saddened to learn that our facilities, service, and dining options fell short of your expectations. The One of Collection family values providing unparalleled personalized service and only the highest quality of facilities to ensure that our guests find truly delightful holidays during their stay with us. Your comments helped us identify specific areas we would need to prioritize in our on-going effort to improve our facilities and offerings. We will be refreshing our facilities soon and We hope to get another opportunity to serve you better and hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I needed a hotel near enough the city that has activities for kids. Since most hotels within Dumaguete city don't have gardens or swimming pools, we opted for Sta. Monica.

We arrived around 8PM, and the resort was dark, and quiet. After checking into the room, we made our way to the pool bar, where there were guests sitting in silence, with not a single wait staff in sight. We found out there was a restaurant, and made our way there through the dark garden. Service was slow, and I was beginning to think we made a mistake. I opted to wait until morning to cast further judgement on the place.

The room was dirty. They need to work on improving housekeeping. The floors were stained and not mopped properly. The corners of the walls had so much dirt built up. The shower stall was even more dirty! I don't think they ever scrubbed the shower floor. There was hair, pieces of dirt floating in the water, mould and guck along the corners. It was not a very comfortable place to shower in. The shower head was awful! It went in all directions but where it was supposed to go. Plus, the water leaked into the rest of the bathroom, soaking up the floor towels.

In the second room, our companions waited for housekeeping to clean the room properly. There was a fly and hair on the bedside table. The two nights we were there, the fly and hair were there too.

The bed was comfortable. The sheets clean. The chairs though were stained with food! The fixtures, door, cabinets need a LOT of improvement!

Breakfast was horrible! They used the cheapest meat that the only thing I allowed my daughter to eat was sausage on the first day, and chewy bacon the second day, which she didn't even bother eating it was that bad. There was no bread selection and they only offered loaf bread. They had a native delicacy on the second day, Budbud, which was what all of us wanted to eat, we finished the little what was on the platter, and they did not replenish it. Coffee was good though.

The grounds need improving and cleaning! Right outside our room were two buckets and what seemed to be a dumping area. The two nights we were there, the buckets never moved.

The pool was murky and smelled like very strong chlorine. The two mornings we were there, we never saw anyone clean the pool. On the second morning, at 8AM, I had to tell housekeeping to take glasses and bottles away from the pool ledge since the kids were playing there. Those glasses and bottles were there from the night before, and the kids had been swimming since 6.30AM. There were cigarette butts littered all over the pool area, and it looked like they've been there for a long time.

So, the resort has potential. Just lower your expectations. They have no sense of cleanliness, and definitely need a whole lot of improvement in that area. Again, it's tolerable, just lower your expectations. But, unless they show tremendous improvement, this is a definite no for me. I will not visit this resort again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Director at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Hello Antoinette B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is unfortunate to learn that you encountered concerning issues with our facilities, service, and dining options. Your comments help us identify areas that need our close attention. These shall be priority in our continuous effort to improve our facilities to ensure that our guests have a most comfortable and restful stay. We do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you when we welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Dispidida dinner w/ companys directors w/ good service and meals.Clean hotel and only no ice avalable because in that night manager said machine was broken down. But the guests are happy and,very iimpressed.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank eulope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Director at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Hi eulope,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your party at Sta. Monica Beach Club! We are glad you liked our food and service and that we were able to make your group happy which matters most. Our apologies for the broken ice machine and we are delighted you enjoyed your party despite it. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We stayed for 3 nights and would love to extend our stay!!!

I heard there is a new management, as the reviews in booking.com and tripadvisor where not the best and i was already worried that i made a mistake for our last days of vacation with my family!

surprisingly we had such a great time and honestly the best !!

Rooms are nice, big and clean!
Aircon is perfectly working
internet is working on the terrace and pool area perfectly!
Bathroom is small but clean and it comes with free lemon grass shampoo and conditioner as well lemon grass soap and hair dryer!
Beds are big and many super confi pillows!!!!
Tv and Satellite is super working!
pool is super clean, big and from shallow (good for kids) until deep!
surroundings are super clean and basketball and volleyball is available
Pool bar/restaurant is nice and the food is delicious!
laundry is done in 45min!
Staff is friendly and helpful with transportation's to Robinson shopping mall and airport or anywhere else! And for a fair price!

Thank you for the last days!! We are back!

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Director at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Hi Karin S,

It sounds like you did enjoy your stay at Sta. Monica Beach Club! It was our pleasure to have served you and your family! Thank you for your kind words and for giving us the opportunity to show you how we take care of our guests with the new management. We can’t wait to welcome your family back and meet your friends at our resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2016

If you are tired of life in a city or just done touring around the city,
you may try a visit to this place to unwind :D
Near at the beach with swimming pool and It's just few minutes from Dumaguete :)

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderwoman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katalene A, Director at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

To be able to provide relaxation to the body and mind is one of the experiences we aim to give our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us wanderwoman! Thank you and we hope to see you again at Sta Monica, your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews