We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast”
Review of Federal Diner

Federal Diner
Ranked #11 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$60
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This is a hidden gem, frequented by locals who know where to get good food. Good coffee, variety of breakfast dishes to suit all tastes, delicious home baked goods.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Fi_B111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, great to hear you enjoyed your Federal experience. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Federal was once a great place, good coffee, service and food. But the last two times here it’s on the downward slope. Service is no longer great, staff just seem tired and too busy, uninterested in going the extra mile.

We were there for breakfast and the food was ok, but again not as it used to be.

Overall disappointed, and in need of finding somewhere else to have brunch in Wanaka.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank turnbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

I was very disappointed to read your review and to learn of your experience. Yes we are a busy cafe, however this shouldn't be to our detriment. I will be taking your review on board and reviewing our product and service. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

so-so food. Got the Buddha, which is eggs Benedict with spinach/mushrooms sautéed and a roasted tomato, on bread. not much flavor there, almost bland. Added salt and pepper, immensely improved flavor. coffee was good. got a 2nd to go. good vibe. would go back.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Paprika25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, great to hear you enjoyed your Federal experience. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We had seafood chowder, bacon/egg butty and pulled pork roti, along with tea and coffee. Food was delicious, coffee was good, presentation was excellent. Service was slightly sluggish, otherwise a 5 star cafe. Will definitely visit again to try more of the brunch/lunch options.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank finbarrm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, great to hear you enjoyed your Federal experience. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We were absolutely blown away. The food was faultless and the service exceptional. I highly recommend this place!!!!
It was surprisingly quiet which was unfortunate during warbirds. I don’t know why more people are not eating here!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank NZTravellerAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Wow, what a great review and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your Federal experience. Can't wait to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federal Diner also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Federal Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing