We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mountain Chalet Motels(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Lakes Motel(Twizel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
US$85
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Twizel Holiday Park(Twizel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$68
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/27
US$82
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
48
126
118
44
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
126
118
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount cooktwo double bedsno liftcomfortable hotelsmall balconyopen firetour busesplace to staybit dateden routesmall townlake tekapotown centremackenziestopoverpoppieschannels
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Stayed one night in a group as part of an inclusive tour. The hotel comprises mostly ground floor rooms looking onto a garden area. We had a well equipped spacious room with terrace looking out onto a berried Roman tree and garden. Very pretty. There are big public spaces to sit quietly or take a drink in the bar. Good quality buffet dinner and breakfast. A very pleasant stay.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Ian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twizeled, Manager at Mackenzie Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Some 20 years ago we stayed at the Inn with friends and we were overwhelmed by the then quality, service and friendliness of the owner and staff. 20 years later again visiting with friends there have been very few changes, other than the tour buses now roll in loaded with what seem to be very aggressive rude people from other countries, a couple of which were definitely going to get their moneys worth at the all you can eat buffet, seven times we saw them go for food. It stalled our meals being delivered whilst the staff dealt with the on rush of tourists eating for China!

When meal it arrived was very nice and the surroundings were as they were some 20 years ago, we did not worry that it took a while to get our meal as the entertainment was very funny. Overall the place has not changed and the service and friendliness was very good the quality however leaves a lot to be desired. 20 years ago it was somewhere worth going to stay and bragging about it now she is a tired old lady in need of a refit.
It will not stop me going back as the memories flooded back and the scenery in the surrounds is truly amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the mountains at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kiwi353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twizeled, Manager at Mackenzie Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This is a larger than average hotel in my experience of New Zealand. The room is large, bathroom a good size, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge.
A lot of my accommodation experience so far has been in the cheaper motel type, so a couple of things struck me about this hotel; there's no lift, and there's nowhere to unpack/put your clothes...
I had assumed this was a factor in motels but based on this, and our following nights experience, it's quite commonly widespread!
I'm physically able and comparatively active, but carrying two large suitcases up and down stairs is something I would avoid if I could!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 747idletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twizeled, General Manager at Mackenzie Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Paid top dollar for this room...worn, old bedspread and furniture...bathroom door did not stay shut or lock. No microwave. Reception forgot to advise us of the buffet tea leaving us all searching for affordable meal for all the kids. Only 2 towels provided for the 4 of us. Really poor quality and value....saved to take gghe grandchildren...very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank millsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twizeled, Manager at Mackenzie Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback - we will address the issues raised immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel presents itself as a full service establishment, BUT, upgrades are in order. Attached is a picture of one of two chairs in our room (110), unsanitary and not suitable to sit in. The balcony had no table or chairs to sit out with a glass of wine, but then there were no wine glasses either! A notice in the room stated that there was enough hot water for two ten minute showers after which you would have to wait 3 hours (see notice attached). This in a room with two queen beds! We registered our complaint about the chairs and were assured they would be removed, but that was of little satisfaction to us.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank TorontoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twizeled, General Manager at Mackenzie Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Sir

As stated the chairs have been removed from the room and taken to the refuse center.Each room has it's own individual hot water cylinder and we find that Guests tend to take very long showers and leave none for the next person, it is more an advisory note as to why you will run short of hot water.
I am sorry that the room was not to your expectations but I do hope you enjoyed the region we live in.The Hotel is being upgraded in stages but this is very hard to do so in the height of the busy season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews