We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
79
29
10
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
79
29
10
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charming hotel breakfast was delicious enjoyed our stay a lovely stay no electricity ida ac dock island diving porch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2020

Positives: Friendly staff; staff member met us at dock and walked us to the hotel; staff upgraded our room (three beds) for no extra charge; breakfast was delicious and affordable; short walk to dock and town; nice view of ocean and nice common areas/porches; free purified water.

Negatives: Beach area in front of hotel is disgusting/unsafe/un-swimmable due to trash pollution (not necessarily hotel's fault but just a fact); shower in our bathroom didn't drain properly; overall, the owner/staff are friendly and nice, but they lack knowledge for how to treat guests: here are examples:
- The credit card reader was out of service for several days and the owner showed no interest in getting it fixed. Normally, I wouldn't mind, but there's no ATM on the island, so this created a problem for us;
- The light bulb was out in our room when we arrived, so I reported it to a staff member. The staff member asked me to get on a stool myself and change it (which I did);
- The hotel provides shampoo packets. However, we asked if there was soap but we were told we had to go to a store to buy soap ourselves (which we did);
- About 5 of the 8 dishes on the breakfast menu included fruit. The owner told us she didn't have any fruit. I asked what she would replace it with and she said nothing;
- Each day, the staff started fires on the property adjacent to the hotel. The smoke blew into our room and the common areas, which forced us to leave the hotel.

Overall, if the hotel makes some minor improvements (fixing credit card reader, shower drains, better customer service), this would be an okay option. But, I wish we had stayed somewhere else.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank evantraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmeras, Director General at Hotel Las Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear Evan,
Thank you for the positive aspects that you mention in your comment, we are glad to know everything you liked,
unfortunately the period of time you where here there was a big storm with winds and we cannot go agains mother nature, when there is that kind of storm all the beaches on the island get affected, about the credit card machine as the hotel is on an island that doesn't have a Bank, so to get it fix it will take a few days because you have to take it to the other island where there is only 1 Bank and they take time to solve it.
As we are on a remote island where we get our shipment weekly from the mainland and unfortunately that week the cargo boat didn't come to the island due to the strom that we was having, so when that happens every body stays without fruits or veggies.
The smoke that comes into the hotel sometimes, is from the neighbours not from the hotel staff.

On the points mentioned as improvement we thank you in advance to share them to continue working as a team and provide the expected attention that our guests deserve.

All feedback is always welcome and we will make sure that your observations are turned into positive opportunities for us to learn and be better every day.

Kind Regards!
Ida Archibold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2020

Overall was a great experience. Ida and the staff are very accommodating & she actually cooks the food herself! This is one of 2 places on the island that has AC and it is very much appreciated on hot days

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Marykaymck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las P, Propietario at Hotel Las Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020


Dear Mary,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, also that you enjoyed our food.
Look forward to welcome you back some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2020

I stayed at Las Palmeras during a visit to Little Corn Island over the holidays. It is a charming hotel that is centrally-located in town - easy to get to from the pier. The staff are very welcoming and helpful, and did a great job of making me feel at home. The rooms are basic, but still cute, clean, and a great value for the price. The food was excellent. Big nod to Ida and her pizza! They have a great snorkel guide on-site, and also offer diving. I stayed at one of the other, more expensive hotels on the island for part of my trip as well, and I definitely liked Las Palmeras better.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chrismjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2019

We had a lovely stay at Las Palmeras. Ida was such a great host and she made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived at the hotel. The room was exactly as shown in pictures, and we had a nice sea breeze during the night. We felt we had the best spot on the island!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mctoupin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las P, Propietario at Hotel Las Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for an incredeble review in Trip Advisor.
we are glad to have such a great feedback.It is our constant endeavour to improvise the facilities and services to create memorable experiences and we are very happy to know that guests enjoy there stay with us, we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. we hope to have you back in a future.

Sincerely
Ida. A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2019

My Wife and I spent 3 nights in Las Palmeras, the service was excellent, they really work hard to give us an impressive service, having breakfast there was so pleasant, it was so delicious and the view wow! but something that you cannot miss is taste "Boca", it is a really really good collage of flavors: fried lobstes, shrimp, fish fingers, fries, tostones, pico de gallo and cheese!! i want to go back to little corn and eat some Boca!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoPerez24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews