We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, friendly staff, great service”
Review of The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Buccaneer is one of the well kept secrets on Corn Island. Located on ship wreck beach, we open our doors to all visitors of Corn Island. We feel very connected to the history of the island and we prove this in all aspects of your stay. We offer great tasting food and good service from your reservation until the dishes. It is always a good time in our pirate inspired restaurant.The Buccaneer is located conveniently on the premises of Paraiso Beach Hotel on Corn Island. The restaurant is open air, decorated with a typical island style thatched roof. You will have a dining view on our garden, the beach and the Caribbean sea.Whether you like a private dinner, a family lunch or group catering, just let us know and we will accommodate you. Even live music is offered regularly.For everyone who likes great food and professional service, The Buccaneer offers all possibilities.
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Friendly staff, they are really helpful and always willing to help out.
The restaurant has an international cuisine, a fusion of Latino, Asian and Caribbean style.
you can enjoy nature surrounding the hotel, its open areas with garden views and its lounge areas simulate a beach, that gives you the beach feeling you are looking for.

Sunday night is pizza night!!! Delicious variety of pizzas, perfect to end your sundayfunday!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jassgalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornIsland, Owner at The Buccaneer, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi, thank you for your kind words! I'm happy to hear you liked our restaurant!

We hope to see you back very soon.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Despite being nestled in a beautiful garden with charming thatched roof buildings, they manage to deliver meals without panache. The food is pretty standard, nothing seemed remarkable and you sort of feel as if you are a bit of a bother to the waitstaff. Service definitely runs on island time. Perhaps during the high season, they put the A Team in. Lots of potential for this to be great, but it fell a bit short.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank kristinrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

If you are staying at the hotel, this is a convenient and decent place to eat. However, don't go out of your way to get here. Nothing is particularly amazing on the menu and you sort of feel like you are a bother to the staff. The facilities are nice. The thatched roof and well manicured gardens are charming and beautiful.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank kristinrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornIsland, Owner at The Buccaneer, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi Kristine,

Thank you for your review. We do our best to always improve our service and menu. We recently added fresh curries, home made baguettes and typical island dishes. I hope you come back to try them.

Best regards,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

One of the better restaurants on the island for sure, interesting menu selections, very nice cocktails and a nice atmosphere. Most other restaurants have the same boring starchy food but this one is certainly different. Friendly staff

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank rkglauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Excellent staff and service, always attentive to your needs. Daily specials are always good as well. Reasonable priced.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank sheshe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneer also viewed

Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
 

Been to The Buccaneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Philippines
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.