We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful on it's own”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful on it's own”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2017

May 2009 when my partner then & I decided to have an invasion of Northern Philippines!

We went to Fort Ilocandia, Vigan then Pagudpud before heading back to Manila.

We were surprised with the beauty of Fort Ilocandia! We enjoyed our stay there and we had comfortable sleep during the 3 nights that we stayed there.

Given a chance, I will definitely be back in Fort Ilocandia!!!

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riyadhventourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    91
    67
    27
    17
See reviews for
103
50
10
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tabriz
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2017

In our way to Vigan, we stayed an overnight in this very wonderful hotel. Amazing architecture with red bricks and magnificent design attracts the guests eyes. The interior design of the lobby is nice with a water feature and old style wooden facade. The whole residential area is very big so that one should remember the location of buildings and wings. The hotel is near to sea so that you can walk to its white sand beach in minutes. The early morning outdoor view looks a real dream. In January the weather is in its most pleasant period and the guests can enjoy swimming without that sever sunlight.
The room we stayed had a romantic balcony with the view to the other buildings covered with colorful flowers. The room had enough space and a big bathroom with a bath tub and furnished with all the essential stuff. The furniture are delicately designed and completed with an electric fan, a conditioner and a refrigerator.
The breakfast area is well designed with good choice of sea foods and fruits. Also the breakfast can be served inside the rooms, and I recommend to have it in the balcony. I guess the second floor rooms to have better view.

  • Stayed January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiseri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2017

I am excited to stay in Forl Ilocandia since these was known as prestigious Resort in the North. We arrived 10pm last December 2016. I am traveling with family we have baby and kids that's why we have a lot of stuff but no one from the concierge until front office would be kind to help us not even greetings from them. Due to long drive from Baguio we just kept our mouth in silence and proceed to our room to take a rest. In the morning, we decided to check out early, so that we could spend time wisely in Loaog. Upon, checking out I'm expecting that somebody from these will known resort staff will help us in our baggage but no one came. They just saw us leave and that's it no greetings or even smile, again. As if they were get used of watching their guest carrying there own luggage even though some kids/ toddlers carry baggage specially my sister who happened to carry her baby plus a travelling bag. I felt dismayed since I'm in the Hotel industry and these was the opposites actions of what should a service industry should do. I've heard it that management was changed.Well hoping that,Change for the better not change for being worst. By the way, rooms cleanliness is great good job to the housekeeper I forgot our room number.

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishnah Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at around 8:00 in the evening at Laoag airport and could take a shuttle to the resort. The driver drove dangerously fast, and we arrived at the resort before restaurants were closing. The resort looked promising. It was kept spic and span. Pictures on the wall looked very old but some - apart from the beauty queen photos - were interesting tales from the past. Some wall clocks were missing, and little did we know that the remaining clocks will later to seal our fate at checkout. Before that tale, here's a summary of how we found it:
- the place is huge but standard room is of average size and dated.
- safe is also very old and difficult to manage
- there are waste from previous guests thrown down from the balcony of room 359
- garden looks beautiful nevertheless
- beach is wide and has grey sand. No one was swimming from Fort Ilocandia. Public beach on the left side was full
- there's a zoo with ostriches
- there's a billiard area.
- breakfast is not at par with international or even local hotels in Vigan

Our next stop after Fort Ilocandia was Vigan. We asked for drop-off services. Unfortunately, they couldn't accommodate us and advised us to take the bus instead. So before checkout, we called the reception to ask about the shuttle to the town. We were told it will be at 10:10 and were advised to be there at 10:05.
We complied. We had accurate time on our mobile phones and it was 10:05. I could see only a parked van in front. No people shuffling in.
I then asked about the shuttle. We were told that it left already. Despite saying that we were there at 10:05, which is already 10:10 on their ancient official clocks, there was no shuttle for us. It probably left at 10:00 or even earlier - contrary to my phone conversation just 30 minutes before we went to the reception. We even gave our room number. And so there it was, we were left to our own thoughts as they began calling on the phone. After a while we were told, they will have a ride for us at 12 noon. So what we will do at the lobby until then? We were the ones who suggested public transportation. They said, "Yes, that is possible. We will help you out." But concierge didn't seem to do anything. Two were just comfortably sitting at their desks. When prompted, they did say that someone was out there looking for transportation, and we will just be informed once it's there. But this really didn't seem to be the case. We felt trapped there. So, my daring Caucasian husband went to the public beach to request one of them to bring us to the city. And one tricycle driver out there to enjoy the new year was willing to do so, whereas the fort ilocandia people remained at their posts with their parked van.
In the meantime, we reached Vigan, and it is a normal hotel at par with international hotels and could bring us back to Laoag with a private car.
With this fact, I certainly cannot recommend Fort Ilocandia. It's like a ghost town with few guests, limited transport services, bad restaurants and dated rooms.

Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thesupr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laoag hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2017

We decided to stay in this once-great hotel in Laoag. It certainly does not have anymore the reputation it used to have. It caters mostly to chinese guests. All signs are in chinese, breakfast is for chinese market. Few Filipino and other foreigners are around.
Poor maintenance.
Rooms were barely satisfactory as we just needed a place to sleep well and shower in between our road trips to the north. We will not stay stay again as there are other alternative at better price.

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbartholomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
46.5 km away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
72.6 km away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
48.3 km away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#2 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.5 km away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
50.6 km away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
120.7 km away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino

Property: Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino
Address: Barangay 37 Calayab | Pagudpud ilocos norte, Laoag, Luzon 2919, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Price range (per night): ₱3,640 - ₱5,634
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi to everyone im kuya roderick gubatan of pagudpud,ilocos norte..owner of CARLO'S HOMESTAY AND VAN RENTALS for (vigan,laoag n pagudpud). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ilocandia Hotel Laoag
Fort Ilocandia Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing