We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Johnny Moon Cafe

Johnny Moon Cafe
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Laoag
Cuisines: Filipino, Cafe, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2017

This was a fun dining experience, because on top of the good food that they served they also had us wear stick on mustaches and top hats and took a photo of us channeling the "Juan Luna" vibe. Service was good too.

We ordered several dishes, but the miki was my favorite - and I think it says something about a restaurant if they can elevate something very simple to a dish you'd want to keep coming back for. Also worth trying are the bagnet sandwich and pasta verde. Paella was a bit bland though.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geekyobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the same as before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2017

We were huge fans of Johnny Moon Cafe and was disappointed when it was closed for a few months. Now that it's open again, we can't help but compare it to how it was before. Food quality isn't that good anymore (with the exception of the Johnny Moon Pasta). Service was quite confusing as they served as a dish we didn't even order (despite the fact that our order was repeated three times). I still recommend people going here but don't expect much.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank jdlumain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“New management and staff, definitely not the same quality or customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

Johnny Moon was closed for about 2 months for renovations, and we used to frequent the "old" establishment when we had business trips here.

Service driver told us the place was open under new management, so we decided to pay a visit. Interiors haven't changed much except for addition of cheap tables and chairs (far cry from old Art Deco furniture that made the place really classy). Ordered our usual fare of sisig, Johnny Moon pasta, paella and the iced tea. Supposedly "sizzling" sisig was served on a cold plate, with an egg on top (specified one of our friends had deadly allergies to eggs), baraniw (basil) iced tea was regular powdered iced tea, no hint of basil, paella wasn't really paella (just rice topped with seafood), but pasta was a-ok. Big disappointment for us (seeing that we were regulars of the old joint).

Definitely not coming back.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank ejmariano619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenzuela, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Homey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2016

I visited this place last summer as part of my #SoloBirthdayTravel. Every time I search for a must visit place in Laoag, this place is always part of the search results. It was a very warm afternoon when I arrived Laoag. I took a tricycle from the bus terminal and the tricycle driver is not familiar with this place. Good thing I have Waze and it is just beside the "Laoag Museum". Luckily, I'm the only customer that time, so it really feels like a homey for me. I used the couch dinning area and order the infamous Bagnet out of their menu with a drink that I really forgot the name but I remember it is a fusion of rice wine and some fruits. I like the color and decoration of the place. It is also a fusion of old and modern artistry. Now I understand why most people recommended this place.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank looklikecris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky spot with good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2016

Laoag is filled with wonderful old stuff and ilokano cuisine proves to be the perfect companion to complete the nostalgic trip in the capital. However, stepping inside Johnny Moon, (or Juan Luna) you'll feel the hip and inventive vibe that the youth of Laoag has to offer. Its a good breather because the place is colorful and cheery. The food is also great! I ordered dragonfruit shake, empanada and the Johnny Moon Pasta. Though I forgot the individual prices, they all are worth more in terms of the taste. This has got to be THE must try place to everyone visiting Laoag.

  • Visited January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Moon Cafe also viewed

Laoag, Ilocos Norte Province
Laoag, Ilocos Norte Province
 
Laoag, Ilocos Norte Province
Laoag, Ilocos Norte Province
 

Been to Johnny Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing