We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Gertes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gertes Resort
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

We are able to stay on the said resort as our tour operator contacted them for our overnight stay.

The place is nice and clean. Very clean. The homey atmosphere bring relaxation and fun to us (as guest).

The room is very clean. AC is well maintained. The bathroom is good enough to use and no stink. The room has cable TV. And they many wall sockets (that can accomodate charging mant devices that we have). Bed sheets and pillows are also good.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Ericson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 13 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2016

Following the signs for Gertes from the National highway had us going in circles on our first attempt, but following my map instead of the signs soon found it. The resort is around 5 minutes drive from main highway.

The resort itself is large and well maintained, with pleasant surroundings and pool areas. At weekends is popular with locals.
Rooms are spacious and clean and well presented. Cable tv channels are basic catering to locals, no foreign channels.

Breakfast was a bit of a disaster, at 8.30 we obviously were last to the buffet as nothing was left and no staff to replenish, so ended up with just coffee.

Wifi was ok but patchy , could use when out of rooms!

Our stay was meant to be only overnight as we were heading north, but an embarassing incident resulted in being locked out of the car and a replacement key had to be shipped from Manila.
Staff went out of their way to be helpful, and assist. Could not fault the staff at all.

Overall, this is a good clean resort which mainly caters to local clientel, It is a bit out of the way (but only 70php) to Robinsons Mall or Laoag City itself.
Rooms are clean, large but basic, improved TV reception would be a bonus.
Breakfast, well I cannot comment as although included wasn't really available ( maybe a weekend thing when busy).
Staff are a bonus, wonderful and accomodating and eager to assist.

Would I stay again .... Yes, when passing through Laoag this will be where I will stay.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank saf7670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2016 via mobile

We got the best deal when my friend and I had our recent trip to Laoag. For 2 nights we only spent 2k plus with breakfast. The room was decent enough for our stay. Place has a small pool and car park which we needed because we brought one. Although a bit "remote" and far from the main city, this resort is a good deal for budget travellers.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank tinagalido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile

We've been here for 2 days for our Ilocos tour. It was already part of the package that we've bought from one of the worst travel agencies too that we've come across, Travel Galore. 

Food is OK. And when you I say OK, it means it’s not. And the worst part was the bathroom has a very weak water flow that my urine is stronger compared to it–and I meant that in a literal sense. Thus, it is very hard to flush the toilet. You need to either wait for a few more minutes or the flush to refill or fill the bucket inside to do the flushing Filipino style. Yet it will also take more time. Then I realized that there is no good service in a cheap (I would rather use the term cheap instead of affordable) price.

Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
5  Thank Joemar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2015

RATING???? - - - -00000

It is not all about PRICE TAG

I strongly advice that this accommodation should be taken out, not only on the trip advisor page but, to all other web sights to prevent others ending up at this place

I’m appealing and begging TRIP ADVISOR to take this accommodation out or de-listed this accommodation, as this is a no, no go Zone for travellers at all. This accommodation is only applied to those who leaves around the area or excursionist from the city or nearby city only as they take care there own transformation and not relying or depending on the public transportation at all. And for the sake of health and safety of the travellers too

1. Transportation to get out of this place is not friendly use, if you happened to get out of the tricycle before checking the accommodation then you’re stuck for good. The only way to get out is to ask the reception to call for tricycle to come and collect you

WARNING -Not advisable for any emergency...this place is deserted no place for travellers unless you have your own transportation


2. We where put into a very small accommodation/ room and for the price I didn't ask for more as I just wanted my family to have fun in the swimming pool as this is only for an overnight or 2. On the other hand they could have given us a much better accommodation to empress us so we will stay for another night as we are the only guest that night. Somehow they are not open for business


3. Shower/toilet room has no vent, so you will smell a foul smell with a combination of toxic smell of toilet block at all times. I suffered from headache and nausea the whole night long because the smell. The smell was worse after using the shower room. Could not complaint as there was no other guest besides from my family and I dint want to put my family in jeopardy just incase the situation get worst because of me complaining about their accommodation. Criticism is not the best thing to do when you know there is no where to run

4. Air-conditioning is so noisy that I hardly sleep at all. The room gets really, really hot. Turning the air-conditioning off is not ideal at all

5. Clean surroundings but the foul smell of the surroundings is just overwhelming. You will not miss the very bad smell, makes you feel sick instantly. The smell is coming from the sewage system

6. Food ????? after discovering the problem I couldn't hardly stomach the breakfast anymore as my brain was wondering about the hygiene of the kitchen as the person who serve the food the night we checked in, he smells cigarettes and not looking as running a business at all. We didn’t have other option, we have child with us but to eat the food

Room Tip: Request to see and check facilities of the room your staying before committing
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
2  Thank BeatrizVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
1.9 km away
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
#8 of 12 in Laoag
86 reviews
1.7 km away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#2 of 12 in Laoag
123 reviews
3.2 km away
Northview Hotel
Northview Hotel
#7 of 12 in Laoag
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
38 reviews
3.6 km away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
261 reviews
10.5 km away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gertes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gertes Resort

Address: Barangay Payas, San Nicolas, Laoag, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Price Range: ₱865 - ₱2,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Gertes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing