We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$18
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/22
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$22
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/21
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Balay da Blas Pensionne House(Laoag)(Great Value!)
US$27
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$22
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Java Hotel(Laoag)
US$63
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
1
1
3
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
1
3
2
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Following the signs for Gertes from the National highway had us going in circles on our first attempt, but following my map instead of the signs soon found it. The resort is around 5 minutes drive from main highway.

The resort itself is large and well maintained, with pleasant surroundings and pool areas. At weekends is popular with locals.
Rooms are spacious and clean and well presented. Cable tv channels are basic catering to locals, no foreign channels.

Breakfast was a bit of a disaster, at 8.30 we obviously were last to the buffet as nothing was left and no staff to replenish, so ended up with just coffee.

Wifi was ok but patchy , could use when out of rooms!

Our stay was meant to be only overnight as we were heading north, but an embarassing incident resulted in being locked out of the car and a replacement key had to be shipped from Manila.
Staff went out of their way to be helpful, and assist. Could not fault the staff at all.

Overall, this is a good clean resort which mainly caters to local clientel, It is a bit out of the way (but only 70php) to Robinsons Mall or Laoag City itself.
Rooms are clean, large but basic, improved TV reception would be a bonus.
Breakfast, well I cannot comment as although included wasn't really available ( maybe a weekend thing when busy).
Staff are a bonus, wonderful and accomodating and eager to assist.

Would I stay again .... Yes, when passing through Laoag this will be where I will stay.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank saf7670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We got the best deal when my friend and I had our recent trip to Laoag. For 2 nights we only spent 2k plus with breakfast. The room was decent enough for our stay. Place has a small pool and car park which we needed because we brought one. Although a bit "remote" and far from the main city, this resort is a good deal for budget travellers.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank tinagalido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

We've been here for 2 days for our Ilocos tour. It was already part of the package that we've bought from one of the worst travel agencies too that we've come across, Travel Galore. 

Food is OK. And when you I say OK, it means it’s not. And the worst part was the bathroom has a very weak water flow that my urine is stronger compared to it–and I meant that in a literal sense. Thus, it is very hard to flush the toilet. You need to either wait for a few more minutes or the flush to refill or fill the bucket inside to do the flushing Filipino style. Yet it will also take more time. Then I realized that there is no good service in a cheap (I would rather use the term cheap instead of affordable) price.

Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
5  Thank Joemar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2015

RATING???? - - - -00000

It is not all about PRICE TAG

I strongly advice that this accommodation should be taken out, not only on the trip advisor page but, to all other web sights to prevent others ending up at this place

I’m appealing and begging TRIP ADVISOR to take this accommodation out or de-listed this accommodation, as this is a no, no go Zone for travellers at all. This accommodation is only applied to those who leaves around the area or excursionist from the city or nearby city only as they take care there own transformation and not relying or depending on the public transportation at all. And for the sake of health and safety of the travellers too

1. Transportation to get out of this place is not friendly use, if you happened to get out of the tricycle before checking the accommodation then you’re stuck for good. The only way to get out is to ask the reception to call for tricycle to come and collect you

WARNING -Not advisable for any emergency...this place is deserted no place for travellers unless you have your own transportation


2. We where put into a very small accommodation/ room and for the price I didn't ask for more as I just wanted my family to have fun in the swimming pool as this is only for an overnight or 2. On the other hand they could have given us a much better accommodation to empress us so we will stay for another night as we are the only guest that night. Somehow they are not open for business


3. Shower/toilet room has no vent, so you will smell a foul smell with a combination of toxic smell of toilet block at all times. I suffered from headache and nausea the whole night long because the smell. The smell was worse after using the shower room. Could not complaint as there was no other guest besides from my family and I dint want to put my family in jeopardy just incase the situation get worst because of me complaining about their accommodation. Criticism is not the best thing to do when you know there is no where to run

4. Air-conditioning is so noisy that I hardly sleep at all. The room gets really, really hot. Turning the air-conditioning off is not ideal at all

5. Clean surroundings but the foul smell of the surroundings is just overwhelming. You will not miss the very bad smell, makes you feel sick instantly. The smell is coming from the sewage system

6. Food ????? after discovering the problem I couldn't hardly stomach the breakfast anymore as my brain was wondering about the hygiene of the kitchen as the person who serve the food the night we checked in, he smells cigarettes and not looking as running a business at all. We didn’t have other option, we have child with us but to eat the food

Room Tip: Request to see and check facilities of the room your staying before committing
Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
3  Thank BeatrizVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

Compared to other hotels we've check, accomodation in Gertes is really cheaper. But we regret staying here because instead of having our expenses lessened, the transportation from the hotel to the city proper vice versa costs us much more. This place is so secluded, and the only way to get out there is through tricycles, which you need to contact through Gertes reception because there are none travelling in front of the hotel. Also, the rooms has poor ventilation and water supply.

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
2  Thank Ayee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews