We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$18
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/02
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$11
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Balay da Blas Pensionne House(Laoag)(Great Value!)
US$27
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$23
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Java Hotel(Laoag)
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
8
6
15
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
6
15
4
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017

do yourself a favor and stay away from this place. it's not safe, especially for girls plus just look at the photos, the place looks old and looks more like a haunted house than a resort. there's another hotel only a few meters away with pretty much the same rate, i can't remember the name, but you would be waaaay better off there than in this "resort". so again please do yourself a favor and stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaphiraWynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear SaphiraWynn,

Thank you for your review.

I can see that it appears that you did not feel safe and the ambiance did not live to your expectations. Though our business is a family run enterprise, I believe we show credibility to what we offer to customers like you. For our future punters, we got a website and a Facebook page which showcases what the resort is all about.

Safety is certainly what we value most. It may appear that you did not feel safe, but I would like to reassure you and our future clients/customers that there are CCTV in selected areas. For added reassurance, we have a security guard in place in certain hours.

We certainly value your opinion but the fact is Grand Octagon is constantly labouring and not haunted as you have expressed.

To our furniture clientele, we are active in responding to your questions and we are happy to negotiate if you require special arrangements in your stay with us. Just drop us an email/message via Facebook or call. These are all available in the web.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2017

No way you/We would know until we checked in at the hotel at 9pm. It was like a ghost hotel, we thought we were the only guests. Pool was opened from 10am to 10pm, we thought we would jump in to cool off for few minutes. But OMG, the pool looks like it has not been cleaned for a long time, No way we wanted to use it. Receptionist was nice and triedto help but she did not speak much English. We stayed for 2 days, no one ever came in to clean or checkout the room. There was no water pressure to take a decent shower, water stopped and ran. Hotel is in a bad location, very very noisy ,day and night. We could not even use AC because it sounded like a locomotive. We were waken up for Breakfast served at 7am whether we wanted it or not, one cup of fried rice, one frie egg and few strips of bacon! When we return home I will be sure to tell our agent not to book this hotelto save others not having the same experience

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank adidapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Adidapt,

Thank you for taking your time in putting out a review with your stay with us.

1st of all, I would like to say thank you for acknowledging our staff who tried to help despite the ability to speak the English language and them being "nice" as to what you have described in your review.

The pool that you have raised in your review is very surprising and I am baffled. Reviews in our FB page says a different story. Unless there were external factors which may have affected the swimming pools colour which is a constant challenge.

Room service, ie. cleaning it is clearly indicated in room notices and it is done as per requests only.

I would have been grateful to transfer you to a different room with a better AC.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and we hope to welcome you with a better experience.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 November 2016

stayed for 2 nights as owner not allowing us for refund. staff are helpful but definitely not the owner. cleanliness, facilities, rooms are no where near for the price you/ve paid for. if you want your holiday to be stress-free, just try and avoid. however, in desperation and no way of retrieving your payment, then that's if for you. BTW beware, if travelling in a large group, you might end up staying in a dormitory type room (bunk beds) with 20 people sharing 1 toilet and bath outside the room (can't imagine)

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smallcow2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear Smallcow2002,

Thank you for taking your time in putting out a review.

I can clearly see and feel your frustration of not achieving having a refund. Our resort have policies in place before we give refunds and I would like to reassure our future customers that these policies are fair.

I strongly suggest, if you book via travel agents, please be honest, transparent and open to discussions in your needs and expectations regarding your accommodation. Our travel agents and partners pre-arrange room allocations with us. We discuss, negotiate and agree with the agents regarding guest room allocations and we follow these according to what we have agreed.

Our facilities are closely monitored and checked to ensure these are within good acceptable standards to our local and international guests.

Thank you for at least acknowledging our helpful staff in the duration of your stay. This will certainly give them a light despite your frustration.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in the Philippines.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Our stay there was just part of a tour package, so we really had no choice.

Location-wise, it is not a very convenient hotel since it is a little far from the city center. There is even no convenience store nearby, not a lot of places to eat.. you'd have to ride a tricycle to get to those places. There is just one restaurant (Urban Kitchen) located at the corner of the street leading to the hotel. We ended up eating dinner there for our 2-night stay so we do not have to go too far.

They allocated us to Room 3, there were 5 of us. There were 2 queen-size beds, and one single mattress placed on the floor between the 2 beds for the 5th person. The mattresses were, I can say, fine. Not so soft, not so hard -- just right for back support. The pillows were a little small though.

The airconditioning unit was noisy, even when put on "quiet" mode. The bathroom/toilet is so small, you can hardly turn around. The hot and cold shower was working well, only takes a little amount of time for hot water to come out. The washbasin/sink was disgusting though. It doesn't drain well/quickly. So imagine brushing your teeth there -- really disgusting.

They gave us only 1 toilet paper for a day. They should have put 2-3 rolls in there, knowing that there were 5 guests occupying. They don't refill toilet papers every day unless you ask them.

The wifi connection is really slow, other times there is no connection that reaches our room. Breakfast came late for the 2 days we were there. They did not even ask us what we wanted for breakfast, we expected they'd give us a menu once we get to the dining area. We waited and they served all of us fried fish. 2 of us don't eat fish. That's just frustrating. The servings were small. I think that they should ask the guests the night before what they want for breakfast, or give them a menu.

We went to the pool area, and that's just disappointing as well. The pool was not maintained and it was dirty. We didn't dare touch the water.

The area as well was a right-of-way for the people that were living at the back of the resort, there is a gate leading to their houses. That means that the property is not a secured location.

I am pleased though by the security guard in the area, because he always greeted us "good morning" or "good evening" every time he sees us.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
4  Thank Yacque_717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Dear Yacque_717,

Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay in the resort.

We certainly aim for a comfortable and pleasant stay to all of our guests.

Group tour packages has certain arrangements and requirements and we agree to deliver these services in order to accommodate everyone.

For the pool area, we take pride in keeping this pristine and fresh at all times. It is very unfortunate that the weather is out of our control and Philippines is a pathway for typhoons. An outdoor pool is a challenge however, we would like to re-assure you and our future punters, the pool is treated and kept clean at all times.

Thank you for highlighting the good demeanour of our security guard and we will ensure this feedback will reach him and his mentors and agency.

We hope to welcome you with a much better experience in the near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2016

So unhelpful, never book this online, never come to this hotel, they won't let you cancel your booking. They blame you for falling down stairs. Lack of health and safety, can't believe I survived. I would have rather stayed in the car. Bath tubs unclean, the rooms have mosquitoes, as a European, it was worth than travelling to Greece.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank chubbyguy436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Dear Chubbyguy436,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing your recent experience with Grand Octagon Resort.

Am sorry to hear a very unpleasant experience that you had with us despite the efforts made by the Manager and her team in accommodating your expectations in your stay for 2 nights and 3 days.

You were upgraded to rooms by the time of checked-in, to which you made us believe you were satisfied till you left and made a review of the resort.

On line bookings via third party, we have been transparent by the time you checked in.

Health and safety, we have systems and procedures in place. It is unfortunate that we are not in control of individuals/ groups who may choose to do as they please.

Unclean facilities, we extremely apologise for these. This is unacceptable and we will ensure this will not happen.

Again thank you for your review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind Regards.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews