We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Octagon Resort
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth for the money”
Reviewed November 30, 2016

stayed for 2 nights as owner not allowing us for refund. staff are helpful but definitely not the owner. cleanliness, facilities, rooms are no where near for the price you/ve paid for. if you want your holiday to be stress-free, just try and avoid. however, in desperation and no way of retrieving your payment, then that's if for you. BTW beware, if travelling in a large group, you might end up staying in a dormitory type room (bunk beds) with 20 people sharing 1 toilet and bath outside the room (can't imagine)

  • Stayed October 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smallcow2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2016
Dear Smallcow2002,

Thank you for taking your time in putting out a review.

I can clearly see and feel your frustration of not achieving having a refund. Our resort have policies in place before we give refunds and I would like to reassure our future customers that these policies are fair.

I strongly suggest, if you book via travel agents, please be honest, transparent and open to discussions in your needs and expectations regarding your accommodation. Our travel agents and partners pre-arrange room allocations with us. We discuss, negotiate and agree with the agents regarding guest room allocations and we follow these according to what we have agreed.

Our facilities are closely monitored and checked to ensure these are within good acceptable standards to our local and international guests.

Thank you for at least acknowledging our helpful staff in the duration of your stay. This will certainly give them a light despite your frustration.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in the Philippines.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Our stay there was just part of a tour package, so we really had no choice.

Location-wise, it is not a very convenient hotel since it is a little far from the city center. There is even no convenience store nearby, not a lot of places to eat.. you'd have to ride a tricycle to get to those places. There is just one restaurant (Urban Kitchen) located at the corner of the street leading to the hotel. We ended up eating dinner there for our 2-night stay so we do not have to go too far.

They allocated us to Room 3, there were 5 of us. There were 2 queen-size beds, and one single mattress placed on the floor between the 2 beds for the 5th person. The mattresses were, I can say, fine. Not so soft, not so hard -- just right for back support. The pillows were a little small though.

The airconditioning unit was noisy, even when put on "quiet" mode. The bathroom/toilet is so small, you can hardly turn around. The hot and cold shower was working well, only takes a little amount of time for hot water to come out. The washbasin/sink was disgusting though. It doesn't drain well/quickly. So imagine brushing your teeth there -- really disgusting.

They gave us only 1 toilet paper for a day. They should have put 2-3 rolls in there, knowing that there were 5 guests occupying. They don't refill toilet papers every day unless you ask them.

The wifi connection is really slow, other times there is no connection that reaches our room. Breakfast came late for the 2 days we were there. They did not even ask us what we wanted for breakfast, we expected they'd give us a menu once we get to the dining area. We waited and they served all of us fried fish. 2 of us don't eat fish. That's just frustrating. The servings were small. I think that they should ask the guests the night before what they want for breakfast, or give them a menu.

We went to the pool area, and that's just disappointing as well. The pool was not maintained and it was dirty. We didn't dare touch the water.

The area as well was a right-of-way for the people that were living at the back of the resort, there is a gate leading to their houses. That means that the property is not a secured location.

I am pleased though by the security guard in the area, because he always greeted us "good morning" or "good evening" every time he sees us.

Stayed October 2016, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Yacque_717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2016
Dear Yacque_717,

Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay in the resort.

We certainly aim for a comfortable and pleasant stay to all of our guests.

Group tour packages has certain arrangements and requirements and we agree to deliver these services in order to accommodate everyone.

For the pool area, we take pride in keeping this pristine and fresh at all times. It is very unfortunate that the weather is out of our control and Philippines is a pathway for typhoons. An outdoor pool is a challenge however, we would like to re-assure you and our future punters, the pool is treated and kept clean at all times.

Thank you for highlighting the good demeanour of our security guard and we will ensure this feedback will reach him and his mentors and agency.

We hope to welcome you with a much better experience in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laoag hotels

Baarle-Nassau, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2016

So unhelpful, never book this online, never come to this hotel, they won't let you cancel your booking. They blame you for falling down stairs. Lack of health and safety, can't believe I survived. I would have rather stayed in the car. Bath tubs unclean, the rooms have mosquitoes, as a European, it was worth than travelling to Greece.

  • Stayed July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chubbyguy436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2016
Dear Chubbyguy436,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing your recent experience with Grand Octagon Resort.

Am sorry to hear a very unpleasant experience that you had with us despite the efforts made by the Manager and her team in accommodating your expectations in your stay for 2 nights and 3 days.

You were upgraded to rooms by the time of checked-in, to which you made us believe you were satisfied till you left and made a review of the resort.

On line bookings via third party, we have been transparent by the time you checked in.

Health and safety, we have systems and procedures in place. It is unfortunate that we are not in control of individuals/ groups who may choose to do as they please.

Unclean facilities, we extremely apologise for these. This is unacceptable and we will ensure this will not happen.

Again thank you for your review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind Regards.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Grand Octagon for a night as we stopped over at Laoag on the way to Pagudpod from Manila. The staff patiently waited for us and attended to our needs even though we checked in during the wee hours of the morning. The room itself was clean but the bathroom needs some good maintenance. I was hoping I could go for a swim before we leave for another long drive but the pool is only open from 10am to 10pm. We had a la cart breakfast and the serving is fair enough for the price we paid for the rooms.

Stayed December 2015, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jomar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2016
Dear Jomar O,
Thank you for your review.
We value our guests hence we aim to wait and welcome you even the wee hours. It is just unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy a dip before leaving and we hope there will be another time for you to enjoy.
We certainly take and value your feedback and we will improve on this.
We hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Laoag City.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

I visited Ilocos during the end of May in order to attend a friend's wedding. There were four of us and a friend booked our lodging here in Grand Octagon Resort. I'll try to break down our experience as detailed as possible.

1. Room - the room we booked was not available hence we were given a much better room. I think it was the deluxe room that was given to us. The room was spacious and the aircon was really cold (which i like) but the drain at the back of the aircon was dripping in our terrace which was a bit of a bummer.
2. CR - the bathroom was also spacious but the drain in the shower was I think a bit clogged because the water doesn't go down the drain immediately which is a bit of a hassle when you are taking a bath. The exhaust fan was also not functioning which was an additional hassle.
3. Room service - their respond time is quite slow. We requested for extra towels that arrived an hour or so after we requested for it.
4. Staff - very friendly & accommodating.
5. Cafe/Canteen - no food available unless you order it the day before. It would've been better if there were food you can easily order.
6. Pool - not maintained properly. We swam in the afternoon and the water was no longer that clean and the water was really hot. Just a suggestion it wouldve been much better if they replace the water to ensure it would be coold all throughout the day.
7. Transporation service - the van was as expected and the manong driver was very friendly.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank luzi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2015
Dear Luzi M,

Thank you very much for your review and we certainly appreciate it.

Please allow me to apologise for the unacceptable service specially the long wait for your extra towels. The air-conditioning issue, exhaust fan and the pool should have not happened and we aim to correct these right away.

We appreciate that our staff and "mannong driver" have met your expectations of being professional, accommodating and friendly. We certainly aim to welcome our guests like you to be happy and satisfied during their stay.

With your room reservation, you certainly deserve to have an upgrade. Overall, we will certainly do twick and improve services that you have highlighted.

Again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you with a better experience.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
12.6 km away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
5.0 km away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
257 reviews
22.2 km away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#2 of 12 in Laoag
119 reviews
70.8 km away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
488 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
#8 of 12 in Laoag
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Octagon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Octagon Resort

Property: Grand Octagon Resort
Address: Along Airport Avenue | Barangay 50, Buttong, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Price range (per night): ₱1,779 - ₱2,541
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Octagon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Grand Octagon Resort as an invigorating place to retreat from the chaotic city. Walk around the lush tropical gardens, camp on the well-manicured lawns, cement beautiful relationships at the cottage by the pool, appreciate the beauty of greenfields at the sentry like cottages built on century old trees and reflect on how greatly blessed you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Octagon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Octagon Hotel Laoag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing