We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub With Rooms”
Review of The Gregory

The Gregory
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Harlaxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Stayed one night as a convenient pit stop on the A1. The room was clean and comfortable. Good parking. Food in the pub was traditional pub but of excellent quality. They clearly have a good butcher because the steak in the pie was delicious and the full English superb. Staff were friendly.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 630alexandrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2021

We were staying at the Gregory on a rare warm sunny day in Summer. The staff were all friendly, helpful, efficient and professional. The room was delightful, but at the top and front of the building it was very hot and a tad noisy. The quality of the food in the restaurant was of a very high standard at both dinner and breakfast.It would have been a little more convivial if the cleaners hade waited cleaning in the adjacent bar until after breakfast service. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laurence_B_Jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2021 via mobile

Visited on Saturday 11th July. Keeping it short. Food was fine , and service was very good , all the staff were very helpful. My only criticism is that we had the “ selection of breads “ ????? as a starter at £3.50 with butter. I would seriously look at the amount of bread you get for the money.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 June 2021

We booked lunch online for our wedding anniversary. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the décor and ambience good. There isn't a big selection of beers, although the pints of Doom Bar that we both had were obviously well kept.

What did come as a surprise was the food. We didn't expect to be disappointed but the meals were even better than we expected. The beef and stilton pie was made on the premises, delicious and I was pleasantly surprised to find it in a full crust, rather than a pastry lid on a small 'bowl' of pie. The fish (and chips) would have competed with anything from Whitby!

All in all, a delicious meal

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KuriIti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegregory, General Manager at The Gregory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Kurilti,

Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us on your anniversary and we exceeded your expectations. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed our pie, we're particularly proud of that! (Credit does to our wonderful breakfast chef for those)


We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

We have been going to the Gregory on and off for years. We chose this for my Mum’s birthday and had 2 tables of four to respect the Covid rules, we were placed together and the staff were excellent. Food fabulous. Great to have both Sunday lunch options as well as alternatives. Even our well behaved English Setter enjoyed the surroundings.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank sordysar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegregory, General Manager at The Gregory, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased to hear you all enjoyed your afternoon with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gregory also viewed

 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Hough-on-the-Hill, Grantham
 

Been to The Gregory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.