We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ewa Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Renew(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Waikiki Resort Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,609)
Filter reviews
1,609 results
Traveler rating
407
626
348
121
107
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
626
348
121
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond headhonolulu zooacross the streetlouvered windowswaikiki beachkapiolani parkquiet end of waikikibell deskpool deckjunior suitean older hotelcity viewthird floorcorner roombit datedsmall balconymini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 1,609 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Great place to stay in Honolulu, opposite the Zoo at the quieter end of Honolulu just yards from the beach with great views of Diamond Head. Staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to help in making your stay there as great as possible. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in Honolulu.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front entrance have great views of the Zoo, Diamond Head and the seafront
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Hearing that our team has gone above and beyond our guests' expectations is always a pleasure and encouraging as we continue to strive for success. Our convenient location is a favorite of our guests and we're glad you found our close proximity to the beach and zoo as an added bonus to your visit. We appreciate your recommendations to our future guests and look forward to having you back for your next visit. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Super hotel. I recommend you get a Diamond Head view looking out over the green canopy of the Honolulu zoo and botanical gardens. If you hear a loud roaring noise in the night, it is the lion! The staff is super nice at Queen Kap, super fast Internet is free, and the rooms are really well laid out. Good value and excellent location. The south side of Waikiki is a really nice beach and there are good restaurants nearby with acceptable prices. I hear that there is a big reno being planned for the Queen Kap and I hope they do not disturb the olden day feel that comes from the cool architecture and the lovely old paintings of Hawaiian royalty.

Room Tip: South side looking over the zoo and Diamond Head.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hexakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Our team strives for excellence in service and quality and reading your feedback is fantastic proof of our success. Our Diamond Head view rooms are a favorite of our guests and we're glad you enjoyed this during your stay. We're glad you were able to take advantage of our unique location throughout your stay and explore the local attractions and dining. We are planning on improving the hotel but will maintain the beauty and elegance that Queen Kapiolani has always stood by. We look forward to your next visit and wish you the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

First I will say that the hotel is in a fantastic location. Right across the street from Waikiki Beach. Walk to a lot of the conveniences. ABC, Starbucks and every restaurant you can think of.
Hotel staff at check in was very very nice and allowed us to check in early as we arrived on the island early morning.

Cons: Unfortunately there are many. This majestic beauty needs a multi million dollar makeover. The entrance is beautiful and open air. The landscaping is haggard and basically non existent. (See photo)
The room- a closet sized cubicle with two twin beds. One was pushed up against the wall because the room is so small.
The pint size fridge sat precariously on the floor at the foot of the bed. TV was mounted on Wall with wires draping along the door to no where.
The louvered windows from the 50's do not keep out noise or heat.
Some state that "you get what you pay for!" My expectations were not too high but for $565 for two nights I would have liked a little more square footage and a larger bed!!! I don't think that is asking too much.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank cerveza930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are proud to read of your compliments on our service quality and fantastic location. We're glad to have been able to assist you with early check-in. We do regret to read that you found your accommodations less than satisfactory. Our hotel is planning for future improvements and we appreciate your feedback as it is important in our decision making process moving forward. We hope you may return for another visit in the future so that we may demonstrate our improvement. Have a terrific day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Our stay here was perfect. Our room was roomy and the view breathtaking.

Kevin and Kawaii were the best employees there, so friendly helpful and full of personality !

We would come back just for their service ! Thank you so much !

Room Tip: ask for the junior suite
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Hearing that you would return strictly because of our service quality is rewarding to our team and we thank you for your kind comments. We strive for perfection across the board at our hotel and it's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your room and the breathtaking views that came along with it. We can't wait for your return and wish you the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2016

It was a last minute decision form me and my family to go to Hawaii within three weeks. Being this was the same weekend as the Pro Bowl, there were limited lodging options. With combined airfare the QK came up as one of the lower cost options through Travelocity.

Reading some of the other reviews, most were fairly accurate regarding this hotel. For the lower cost, overall it was worth what we paid (I had other family members staying literally a block away at the Marriott for a LOT more). The property is definitely in need of an upgrade, with many of the bathroom fixtures and the carpet long overdue for replacement. However, the location is superb, with a small balcony we could look right out onto Kapiolani Park, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. Additionally, the beach is only about a block and 1/2 away. All kinds of shops, restaurants and places to buy small goods (two ABC stores almost right next to each other) are literally only a few steps away.

All the staff were extremely friendly and attentive to any needs we may have had. With the money we saved we were able to see more things by being able to rent a car on a couple of separate occasions. And UBER is ubiquitous; ready for pick-up in usually ten minutes or less. We would stay here again in a pinch.

Room Tip: Get a room facing South toward Diamond Head if possible, You won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It's excellent to read that you found great value at our hotel for your vacation budget and schedule. Having the extra funds to invest in entertainment and fun is always an added bonus to a vacation. Our guests love our convenient location and being able to easily navigate the area and explore. We see you were able to take advantage of this throughout your visit. We appreciate the kind words regarding our team's efforts and attentiveness and have shared this as an encouragement moving forward. Your comments and concerns regarding opportunity are important to us as we move forward with improvements to our hotel and we have shared them internally for review. We look forward to accommodating you once again and wish you and your family safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews