We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$306
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$215
US$202
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$288
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$260
US$239
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$320
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$188
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pearl Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$174
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Waikiki Beachside Hostel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,838)
Filter reviews
3,838 results
Traveler rating
1,073
1,543
777
246
199
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,073
1,543
777
246
199
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskona towerconvention centerplantation cafebeach parkbusiness tripconvenient locationacross the streetcoffee makerself parkingconvenience storewaikiki areaocean viewking bedstarbucksmicrowavehawaiiconference
Filter
Updating list...
2,015 - 2,020 of 3,838 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2016

We had a king room, ocean/city/volcano views, on the 20th floor (there are 36 floors). The room was spacious, very clean and had all amenities to make us comfortable, including microwave and refrig. The staff is great and very helpful. It is right next to the Ala Moana shopping center, where there are lots of shops and restaurants and a huge food court. The hotel is very close to the Waikiki area; you can walk there. It's across the street from a huge park/on the beach. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: For a view, go as high as you can.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMHGM, Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Mahalo for staying with us. Guests find that the Ala Moana Hotel to be the perfect base to enjoy all the attractions our Beautiful Island has to offer.

Warmest Aloha and Ā hui hou kākou (Until we meet again)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2016

Went down for a business trip and found a back curly hair in the tub! Not very clean - given another room, major construction and no view so went back to the original room after they cleaned it. The club is VERY dated, not worth going to - overall the only great experience was Kona, a fantastic concierge at the hotel. The internet was down at the front desk as well as the room. Would not stay here again. Was told not to walk to the beach or outside at night as the area was too dangerous ... yikes!

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaninaIsSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMHGM, Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Mahalo for staying with us and we apologize for the lapse which we will discuss at our Housekeeping meeting this morning. We appreciate the feedback because it is through your caring concern that we improve and live up to the standards all our valued guests deserve.

Warmest Aloha and Ā hui hou kākou (Until we meet again)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

I booked an ocean view 1 bedroom suite and got mostly a parking lot view of the mall instead because it was on the 13th floor. If you do decide to get a ocean view, don't accept a floor lower than the 20th otherwise it's not worth it.
Only the housekeeping staff was friendly. We needed a couple of items the 1st night and the staff was very helpful and came back to give us a forgotten item.
Check in staff needs better customer service training. The lines were long at check in and the staff I don't think smiled at all. Quite impersonal. I also witnessed one of the reception staff yell at an Asian tourist who didn't quite understand English to fall in line and was told he should know what "fall in line" means as that is common travel? language. (Service at the DMV in Minnesota is better than that, btw. They MN people are very patient with non-English speakers)

Location is good, walking distance to the mall. But that's about it.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
Thank docneneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMHGM, Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Please accept our sincerest mahalo for taking time to write and making us aware of the issues you experienced during your recent visit to the Ala Moana Hotel. We apologize for any inconsistencies with service. Rest assured, your comments were shared with the Front Desk Team.
We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention for it is only through your caring concern that we improve and live up to the standards you, our valued guest, deserve.

We look forward to your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2016

The hotel is in a nice location. It is at the edge of Waikiki and is near many buses that take you to different locations. The lobby is nice and quite large and includes a Starbucks coffee shop. I did not experience a very long wait by the front desk when checking in or checking out. When I initially checked into my room, there was visible dirt (possibly sand) on both the sofa-like chair and reclining chair. I called the front desk and within a few minutes, housekeeping came and vacuumed this dirt. Also, I noticed that there was no desk chair and again I called and within a few minutes a desk chair was brought to my room. The hotel provides a free daily newspaper. However, the hotel does not provide a free breakfast. The hotel provides free wifi in your room and the wifi worked well. The hotel has a business center but charges to use the computers in the business center with a minimum $5 charge. I very rarely see hotels charge for use of the business center and recommend that the hotel change their policy and allow free business center use. You can check out and leave your bag by the bell desk and go touring until you need to leave later for the airport. There is no charge for storing the bag by the bell desk until later that day. I would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Professor18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMHGM, Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Mahalo for choosing the Ala Moana and it is music to our ears that a sophisticated traveler such as yourself will be returning. Like many hotels here in Hawaii the Business center does charge to surf the net, or print and fax documents but we do provide complimentary printing of boarding passes which is the most common request which we receive. Once again mahalo for allowing us to host you and Ā hui hou kākou (Until we meet again).


Warmest Aloa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We stayed there for one night near Christmas. Our room was rather small, with a "view" over the Ala Moana center parking but very quiet and quite comfortable, probably a decent value for this time of the year.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMHGM, Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to host you again soon and earn a review with a title of: "Spectacular!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews