We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)
US$248
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$246
US$202
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$288/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$277
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
US$217
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$237
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$310
US$289
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$391
US$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vive Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$219
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$458
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,973)
Filter reviews
1,973 results
Traveler rating
621
811
374
108
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
811
374
108
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hilton hawaiian villageacross the streetala moana blvdwailana coffee housefree applesfridge and microwavecoffee makerparking garage isfree shuttlemin walkdiamond headred lobsterbeach towelsstreet noiseflat screenwithin easy walking distancerental car
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,973 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We have travelled all over the world in the military (25 years) and subsequently. We accidentally found the Aqua Palms more than ten years ago. Now, many or most hotels in Hawaii have friendly and caring employees, but we found Aqua Palms (for the next ten years) to be our family. We know the manager and staff by name and do not care to go anywhere else on Oahu. Oh, did I mention that the hotel is situated in the very middle of the best part of Waikiki. Finally, the rooms are clean and very comfortable. Go and see for yourselves, but please don't knock me and my wife out of our annual visits to our favorite not-hugely-expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Best views of Diamond Head and others are from front rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank alibill3092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AA H, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Aloha alibill3092 and thank you for sharing this lovely review. We are honored to be your home away from home and will gladly welcome you as part of our ohana whenever you visit. We are happy that we continue to be your choice for a convenient, relaxing escape in the heart of Waikiki. We appreciate your kind feedback and hope to welcome you again for another wonderful stay soon. Mahalo and a hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I spent a week at the Aqua Palms and found the staff to be disinterested. The room was clean but the air conditioner didn't appear to work properly and was very noisy. We heard a buzz of all the air conditioners in the area finding it hard to sleep. When trying to ask staff a question they were more interested in a phone call and swapping shifts. We thought ne of them could have at least acknowledged us standing in front of them. The do have a free shuttle to Ala Moana shops and Waikiki which was handy until we got our bearings and found it quicker to walk but it was a nice touch but 2 of the drivers were following their GPS so we thought they were new staff, one driver even took a wrong turn and stopped at the lights and told us the way to walk to get back to the hotel. Dana on the tour desk was amazing.....a great help to us. I think the hotel should have better signage instead of recognising the hotel by the IHOP stop. Be aware of the resort tax, the hotel tried to charge it twice. A positive was they have a laundry which we found by accident as the staff didn't tell us about any of the ammenities. It was only a five minute walk to the AlaMoana shops which has a great food court.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Imaloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AA H, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Aloha Imaloser and thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay. We are happy that you liked our ideal location close to Waikiki beach and Ala Moana, and that you got a chance to take advantage of some of our convenient amenities like our laundry facility and shopping shuttle. However, we are very disappointed to hear that you did not receive the excellent service and friendly aloha spirit we are accustomed to providing our guests. We apologize for this and for the inconvenience you experienced with the air conditioner. We appreciate your valuable feedback and suggestions about our signage. Your comments will help us to improve the guest experience and will be shared with our leadership team for careful consideration. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2017

I needed a reasonably priced place to stay for one night, prior to boarding a cruise. This was the cheapest hotel I could find with decent reviews. The check-in/ check-out process was easy. The lobby looks great. The rest of the hotel is dated, BUT clean. The rooms are small, with a Golden Girls feel to it (due to wicker furniture). I liked the idea of a mini-fridge and microwave, but I didn't use it. The bathroom being small is an understatement (verify the availability of handicap accessible rooms). The door nearly touches the toilet, so you have to shut the door to maneuver to the shower. The tub was chipped in places, but whatever. After visiting friends in another hotel, I realized this hotel was on par with the area. There's a very 70-ish feel to it all of the hotels- structurally and aesthetically. The lobbies updated, nothing else. For me, the hotel serviced it's purpose- clean, safe, and central located. I'd stay again. TIP: Don't walk in comparing it to the Hilton or Sheraton.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kendra6303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AA H, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Aloha Kendra and thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide great value to our guests with comfortable rooms, quality amenities, and friendly customer service with lots of aloha spirit. We are happy to hear you liked our convenient location and welcoming lobby but sad to hear that the room wasn't as spacious as you had hoped and the property wasn't as updated. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it will help us improve and we will be sure to share it with our leadership team for careful consideration. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

When we arrive late at night, we were a little unsure of the hotel. Seemed quiet and a little dated. But we were pleasantly surprised when we woke up the next morning. Although the rooms need a makeover, they are clean and tidy. We had a nice balcony overlooking the main road, but it didn't pose too noisy or distracting. Staff were great and really helpful. Really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AA H, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Aloha Nicola and thank you for sharing your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our comfortable room and that our friendly and helpful staff made you feel welcome. Although glad that you were pleasantly surprised, we are sad to hear that the room and property were not as updated as you had hoped. We try our best to make your stay relaxing and memorable and we appreciate your feedback. Your comments will be shared with our leadership team for careful consideration and we hope to welcome you again for another great stay soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2017

I have stayed at this hotel for about 15 years and I have always liked it. However, I think it is time for some renovations. I found the facility getting a bit shabby. My room needed a makeover and the halls look like a facelift is needed. My room was next to the ice maker which was fine and quiet but the pipes behind it were filthy. There were three or four huge trash bags leaning against it which partially blocked the entrance to my room. Very unsightly to say the least. No excuse for this as I checked in at about seven in the evening! Where was housekeeping at this hour? The entry to the garage is ridiculously steep and the $25 charge for parking is outrageous. The garage could also do with a paint job. Staff is friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELLEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AA H, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Aloha Ellen and mahalo for sharing your review. We appreciate you coming back to stay with us and we are pleased that you felt welcome by our friendly staff. However, we're sad to hear about your experience with the parking, ice machine, and trash bags and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. This does not reflect the standard of quality and cleanliness were are accustomed to providing. We're also disappointed to learn that the room and property were not as updated as you had hoped. Your valuable feed back will help us to improve and will be shared with our leadership team for careful consideration. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve you soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews