We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveler rating
115
247
234
93
120
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
247
234
93
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviews older hotel full kitchen business center waikiki beach beds were comfortable bit dated heart of waikiki housekeeping laundry convenience aloha
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 809 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Well the worst bed in all our travels in 45 years and 9 months as an older couple we voted that the accommodation for the cost was not what it prided it self on ,old and tired We just love coming coming back to a comfortable bed after a day outdoors

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank johnc15250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestR20, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Aloha johnc15250,

Thanks for the review. Please know your comments are very important to us and we use them to improve. If you'd like to discuss this experience further, we ask that you please contact us directly.
We hope you give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

The hotel is run down, which is okay - what is not okay is the effort put into maintaining this place, the photos are certainly photo shopped. layered paint over mould, buckets to hold dripping water from the air conditioning, dripping taps, soiled pillows. Expect to pay $20 per day for ‘extra amenities’ including Internet, access to the swimming pool and laundry which should be included. I’ll give credit to the cleaners who do a good job with what they have.

Location is good, nice cafe nearby. If you want ‘budget’ you got it.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank l0uiel0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestR20, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Aloha l0uiel0u,

We're very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. Please know your comments are very important to us. If you'd like to discuss this experience further, please contact us directly.
We sincerely hope you give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

The Ambassador hotel came though for us when our original accommodations fell through. The building and rooms may be dated, but it does have charm and the rooms are clean. Maid service is prompt and very friendly, it's clear they take pride in their work. The location is one of the most convenient in Waikiki. This is a budget accommodation, and certainly not a five star resort, however it gets five stars in this review for how they've carved their much needed niche in clean, convenient, friendly budget accommodations in the heart of Waikiki.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Chris Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestR20, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Aloha Chris Q,

Thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you you enjoyed your stay and liked our convenient location, friendly staff members and affordable rates. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

When checking in Kathy was rude. It’s clear she hates her job or just tourists in general.. not sure which one, maybe both. She wasn’t helpful and was very dismissive. She even walked away at one point when I walked up to the counter - I suppose she didn’t want to help me so she acted like she was busy by going to the back and coming out once someone else had assisted me. The location was fairly decent and that’s the only positive thing I’ll say about this hotel. The photos are not at all what it looks like these days. Definitely old and run down, looks more like a motel. I agreed with the person who said don’t ruin your stay in Hawaii by staying here, but if you do avoid Kathy. She’ll make matters much worse and start you off on the ring foot for the people there!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Ashleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestR20, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Aloha Ashleigh W,

We're very sorry to hear your recent experience was not up to standard. Please know we greatly appreciate the feedback about the issues you mentioned. If you'd like to discuss this experience further, we ask that you please reach out to us directly.
We sincerely hope you give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Don't ruin your vacation to Hawaii by staying here. There are so many things wrong with this place, from the noisy, ancient barely working air conditioners units, to the peeling paint and plaster to the falling apart curtains to the bait and switch tactics.

Ignore any photos provided by the hotel. They must be 20 years old. No patio furniture. No refillable "eco" bottles as promised. A $20 resort fee to cover things that are standard at all others hotels. No coffee makers in the kitchen.

Expect to hear very loud street noise all night long.

Room tip: Go elsewhere
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nancy9562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestR20, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Aloha Nancy9562,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is very important to us. If you'd like to discuss this experience further, please leave us your room number and contact info.
We hope you give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews