We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveler rating
142
60
26
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
60
26
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall platestapas styleboutique hotela king deluxe roomoatssconestea selectionthe bed was super comfortablewarm cookiesminute walkcomplimentary breakfastoutside patioold houseupon checkno elevatorthe air conditioningbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I travelled to Newport for our anniversary/babymoon. We loved our stay at Gilded! The staff was wonderful - very friendly & helpful! The iPad loaded with hotel and things to do was a unique feature. The room/bathroom was clean and cozy - on the smaller size, but perfect for the 2 nights we stayed. Our favorite part was definitely the small plates breakfast that was included with our room rate. They had a wide variety to choose from and it was slightly different each day and was DELICIOUS! We also loved the fun decor and vibe! Definitely a unique place to stay! Location was great - away from all the hustle and bustle, but within walking distance to it all! We would without a doubt stay here again - even if just to get a late night chocolate chip cookie! ☺️

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Gilded, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Love that you enjoyed your time at our unique, boutique hotel in Newport! Happy to hear that everything from your clean and cozy room to the small plates breakfast, great location, and wonderful, friendly staff lived up to your expectations and we love to hear you say that you would stay with us again - we do hope to welcome you both back soon (and we promise there will be some more delicious cookies)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2018

We stayed in room 203 and loved everything about this hotel, from the gourmet breakfasts to the chocolate chip cookies (which were addicting) to the amazing staff that treated us like family. Thanks Heather and Zach for making our vacation so special!

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Karrob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We loved the hotel and location. It was away from the business of the waterfront, and half way to the beach. Zac, one of the staff, was very knowledgable and seemed to be there much. We enjoyed speaking with him and about the area. He was very helpful and you could tell he enjoyed the area. We walked everywhere from this hotel and parking was not an issue. We left the car on the street, much like we would do in city without paying for parking. The breakfast was unique and loved the outdoor seating area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hcs922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Gilded, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

It certainly sounds like you made the most of your time with us and we're so glad that you got to enjoy so much of Newport! Happy to hear that you found our staff to be so helpful and knowledgeable, enjoyed our unique breakfast and that you were able to enjoy the cozy outdoor seating area. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We stayed here two week nights last week. Cute little boutique hotel that is 2 1880 Victorian houses that have been connected via an enclosed walkway. Check in was easy, Room was as advertised, clean and comfy. No issues. Zachary was wonderful and shared a lot of info and always had warm cookies when we happened by. Breakfast was small plates and between my husband and I we tried most things. There is coffee and tea in the lobby. The only kind of unusual thing was no refrigerator in the room. There is a mini fridge in the lobby Zachary said we could put some wine and beer in, but it just seemed weird. It worked out fine though. The porches are wonderful. We enjoyed RI and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms within feet of the billard table, I woiuld request a quiet room if go to bed early.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rucingok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Gilded, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

So glad that you got to enjoy a midweek getaway with us and we love to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Happy that you found the check-in process to be so easy, your room to be clean and comfy and we hope you were able to take advantage of Zachary's suggestions and explore all that our great city has to offer. We hope to see you back in Newport soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

An easy walk to and from the harbor, the Gilded is a colorful Inn with a great mix of traditional and contemporary furnishings. The bed was incredibly comfortable with super soft linens. Upon arrival, we were offered warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. On Friday and Saturday evenings there was a selection of cocktail mixers at the BYOB cocktail bar. In the morning, an incredible variety of unique small plates was offered for breakfast. Everything offered was fabulous! The fantastic staff was friendly and helpful throughout our visit. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank dfp6452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Gilded, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

We love to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us in Newport! Glad that you found your bed to be so comfortable, enjoyed the freshly baked cookies and our unique small plates breakfast, as well as our fantastic staff. We hope to see you again soon for another getaway in our colorful hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews