We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilltop Inn(Newport)
US$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Marriott(Newport)
US$499
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
US$750
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliffside Inn(Newport)
US$415
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$835
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
100
56
18
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
56
18
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrevolving doorparfaitharbor houseevery morningrose roomyogurtpastrythames streethot pastriesturnoversorange juice and waterapple turnovercloth napkinsbars restaurantsnext morningfree parkingeach guest
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This Inn is charming and wonderful. It's about a 8 minute walk from the main dock and shops but right on Thames with many adorable shops on the Thames street, with the Inn. THey deliver hot fresh baked pastries with a delicious yogurt parfait every morning. They don't want to wake you so they leave it on a shelf in the hall! Unbelievable pastries. Not to be missed. Reasonable price considering it was July 4th Week. THe staff are very friendly and accomodating. We parked our car in the back and our bikes were safe from view and we never got in the car except to leave Rhode Island. Excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Have dined at Bouchard restaurant a hundred times. The food is excellent and the menu is consistent. We decided to stay at the inn for a short weekend but have to say, we were disappointed overall. First for the positives.

Pricing was fine and we loved the no fuss check in and out procedure. No long lines when you’re trying to get out of town. You just leave. The location was perfect. Loved the nice touches, from make up remover in the bathroom to a warm fresh baked pastry in the morning. It is a family run inn and it shows in those touches.

But there is a disconnect with basic maintenance in the rooms that befuddled me. The bedspread was simply a duvet filler but no duvet cover. From a practical perspective, I can’t imagine that the duvet is laundered after each guest.

The room was repainted at some point in time but no one sought to remove the painters tape from the no smoking sign which is in plain sight on the door. The paint in the bathroom walls was peeling in spots; the pipes that ran through the upper walls and the baseboard heater were rusty or grungy in spots. These are minor maintenance things that make a huge difference in the feel of a room, and whether it feels clean and fresh or not.

The room was not properly cleaned while we were there. While the maid came to freshen towels and make the bed every morning, no one vacuumed, no one dusted while we were there. The pastry crumbs from our first breakfast were still on the floor the morning we left four days later giving you the sense that the room was not clean at all. The top of the upholstered headboard in our room quite clearly hadn’t been dusted in a long time. These are all easily remedied but have to wonder why no one seems to notice. It was disappointing.

We stayed in the older rooms above the restaurant. There are two outbuildings on premises that are much newer and we are willing to give those rooms a try.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank thenewporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Le Bouchard is a gem. My wife and I had a fantastic two-night stay and already want to go back. Great location and accommodations. Lovely fine dining French restaurant downstairs and fresh, hot pastries each morning. Highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank socdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We came here with high expectations and all were surpassed. The chef is a master at many things but especially sauces and accommodating allergy needs (gluten and lactose). Service was superb!!! Friendly, non-intrusive, well versed in every aspect of menu and wines and highly attentive (Ben). If you want a truly special night out and a superlative dining experience, this may be your new favorite place!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Loved our visit. One night in Newport for a wedding. Elegant and homey. Busy road and lots of noice. But it was really kinda fun. Right in the middle of things so to speak. The turnovers and parfait in the morning was exquisite. We will defiantly come back. Very nice employees too.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank hoomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews