We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
America's Cup Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$194
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Almondy Inn(Newport)
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$324/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$311
US$259
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Sims' House(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Artful Lodger Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
1
3
2
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
3
2
1
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This was a late booking for a popular weekend in Newport, so the rate we paid for this sub-par room was ridiculous. I really thought it would be much better but we were terribly disappointed. Our room was right off the kitchen and the door had a big crack in it which lets light (and noise) in. It was also so dingy that I was afraid to unpack anything, so I didn't. The "bathroom" sink was actually in the room itself and the bathroom contained the toilet and a good size shower. Both appeared to be clean though. The house and room was on the cold side and we had no control over that. It got cold that night. No extra blankets or pillows available, and there is no caretaker available in this house to ask. When checking in, you have to go to a different location, and that in itself is a challenge with parking, etc. When we arrived in Newport and finally saw where we were staying, our plans completely changed and we ended spending the entire day away from the room until we were ready to call it a night; that's how determined we were not to go back there- until it was absolutely necessary. The following morning, we awoke, took showers, went out somewhere for breakfast,(they do not serve breakfast at this Bed and Breakfast) came back for our bags and left there for good! Definitely not going back and will not recommend this to anyone!

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank DanJo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

We went in late September for a weekend away and picked Elm Street In for its location to the harbor activities and price. We were upgraded from a queen room to the top floor king room which was appreciated. It had its own TV and bathroom which I guess is a luxury for a B&B. I gave it an average rating but it really should be "poor" and if it were anywhere else but Newport it would receive a "terrible" rating because of the pros and cons listed below. The room we stayed on was in poor condition. Needs carpet cleaning, a good paint job and/or wallpaper repair. Our King bed was really two twins pushed together with a pillow topper on it... By morning I would be stuck in a small canyon in the middle of the bed between the two mattresses. I actually would consider staying again, because I would know what to expect, and we really just went with the cheapest thing, we didn't go there to hang out in the room all day. Last time we stayed in NPT (8/2015) we paid $240 a night at Hotel Viking via Priceline.

Pros:
-friendly staff always available for your check in.
-2 minute walk to the main area of Newport Harbor.
-beautiful, quiet neighborhood.
-free upgrade possible in off-season
-one of the cheaper places to stay in NPT.

Cons:
-room was in dire need of renovation. See photos
-breakfast was off-site, which is a nuisance.
-King bed was two twins pushed together.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FunBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2015

We were very disappointed in the stay here. First we were told to meet the person with the key on the other side of the island and with the traffic of Labor Day it took 1.5 to get there after driving 1 hour and 45 minutes from Connecticut. Then when we got to the B&B we realized it was dumpy. Seemed the plot was to get the cash then let us see the joint once it was too late. It was very tired. It needs some TLC like paint, carpet cleaning, bathroom updating and just an overhaul. So when we woke up we were at least excited to have a cup of coffee and breakfast at this BED and BREAKFAST. Well there was no coffee and cereal with no milk. So don't waist your time and go here. We should have known that on Labor Day weekend last minute when every other place is booked that it meant something. When there are no rooms within miles it is now clear that this one was left since it is so bad. Its priced as a luxury hotel and you will not see it till its too late. If fact we booked on Experia and the manager called us and asked us to cancel the order and meet him with cash. And he said he would take care of us. Well he did we got a free ride to the cleaners.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carbiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

Rick is a sneaky businessman. Lied about the property parking cost etc etc. assume no parking if he tells you there is. Assume a disgusting room if he tells you it's renovated. Assume to be taken for a ride. We mentioned to him the poor reviews before booking- And he said oh don't believe those things. Well believe this one. It's the pits. Bugs everywhere and you'll be sharing a room with more than bugs...

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
3  Thank dga456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2015

My wife, myself and our 3rd grade son stayed over the Memorial Day weekend on the top floor. We were scared a little by the bad reviews but desperate considering the last minute decision to go to Newport. Turned out staff was very good calling us on the road at 2am without prompting to make sure we were not lost, room was a good size for the three of us and the room had a comfortable king bed and perfect location. Good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jkosman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews