We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilltop Inn(Newport)
US$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Marriott(Newport)
US$499
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
US$750
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliffside Inn(Newport)
US$415
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$835
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
296
40
5
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
40
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation roomwine and cheeseblue baysunset roomother guestsmy husband and ioff street parkingbreakfast was deliciousgas fireplacedining tablethe location is perfectfour poster bedrestaurants and shoppingcliff walkhostesswharftoiletries
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We were here over the St. Patrick's holiday weekend and stayed in the plantation room. You check in across the street and are brought over to meet Daria, the innkeeper/hostess. She is charming! She took my wife and I up to our room and went over all of the features. While it may be one of the inn's smaller rooms - it was spacious enough and very comfortable. The room was in GREAT shape and overlooks the bay, offering some peaceful vistas. We didn't partake in, but there was a 5PM social that offers wine and cheese.

Breakfast was wonderful...Claudette was warm and the food offered was very tasty.

The location, the accommodations and most definitely the people make this a place worthy of your consideration for your trip to Newport.

WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JCM1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Public Relations Manager at Almondy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to read such a detailed review from guests who have enjoyed the entire Almondy Inn experience as well as truly appreciate our wonderful stuff. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We largely book places because of their high ratings, which also applied here. We were a bit surprised to find that the place is actually run as an extension to a hotel across the road. We were the only people staying here and there were no staff on duty during the afternoon and night so everyone else was “out”. It didn’t create a warm friendly atmosphere more of a ghost town. No one turned up to give us our 5:00 pm wine and cheese. The room itself was on the small side, the carpet badly stained and the decor tired. We were woken up by workmen early next morning apparently engaged in refurbishing the place which is a good sign long term but bad for sleep short term.

Overnight the room became very cold and we had to put the fire on, but I am never comfortable with a gas fire in a bedroom.

Breakfast, in America, is always interesting. We got our cooked breakfast on one side of the plate and fresh fruit salad on the other side. Please tell me the girl was just having a laugh. That can’t be the way Americans eat. Is it yet another example of no one wanting to do dishes? Which is becoming a bit of a feature on this trip.

Overall I was going to rate this as poor but we didn’t pay too much so I give them credit for that and that drags them into average.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Aequitas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2018

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at The Almondy Inn for Valentines Day weekend. I cannot say enough positive things about the location, the staff and the inn itself. The location is fantastic and near many local restaurants and shops and a short trip away from Mansions, the Cliff Walk and other experiences. The inn itself is warm, cozy and incredibly charming. We did have one very small cosmetic issue with the room and it was fixed IMMEDIATELY. The staff was incredible and breakfast every morning was heavenly! We already hope they're open next winter so we can make the Almondy Inn a yearly Valentines Day tradition.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DanielleTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Public Relations Manager at Almondy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are so glad that you chose the Almondy Inn for your Valentine’s celebration. We pride ourselves on having a property and staff that makes special celebrations even more so. Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you back at the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Thank you Almondy Inn for a beautiful and relaxing stay. We booked the sunset room and stayed for 2 nights in February. The fireplace was fabulous and the bed is very cozy! Billy provided us with so much info on the town and really made sure we made the most out of our 2 days here. The woman who made our breakfast was AMAZING and her food was absolutley delicious. The table set up was exceptional. Everything about this inn feels like home, with gorgeous history and so much attention to detail and design. The staff made us feel comfortable and we really enjoyed the wine and cheese hour. The inn is at a PERFECT location right near the water and downtown Newport. Antique shops, restaurants, and stores are all walking distance. Stay here if youre looking for a relaxing but luxurious stay!

Room Tip: Sunset room was great but I would like to stay in the Blue bay or Captains quarters next time!
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Public Relations Manager at Almondy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely and comprehensive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Almondy Inn as well as our wonderful staff who do so much to make a stay at our inn memorable. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Pros: Free breakfast provided, convenient location, off-street parking included, free wine and cheese in the evening
Cons: Heating in the Sunset Room was pretty much non-existent--unbearably cold in the winter, slow wifi internet

We stayed at the Sunset Room this past week, with the temperature dropping to less than 10 degrees fahrenheit daily. We were so looking forward to a cozy room and relaxing by the fireplace. Unfortunately, we could not sleep at all the first night because our room was so cold. The solutions that the inn suggested to us included leaving the fireplace on, turning on the heat lamp in the bathroom and leaving the bathroom door open, and plugging in a space heater. We were aghast that the inn's staff did not seem surprised that the room was cold (with the explanation that the house is old, the windows face the harbor, there are a lot of windows in our room), and yet still rent it out to guests in the winter! In the end, the inn upgraded us to the penthouse Captain's Quarters. Although everything was resolved in the end and we were able to have a relaxing second evening in the inn, do yourself a favor and DON'T book the Sunset Room if you are looking for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the Sunset Room if you want working heat in your room
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnguyen616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Public Relations Manager at Almondy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

We are sorry that you had an uncomfortable stay in the Sunset Room. Prior to this extreme cold spell, we were unaware that the room’s heating system was not up to the task of keeping the room warm and comfortable in these severe conditions. As a result, the system is being upgraded and repaired to address this issue. Fortunately, we were able to accommodate your party in the Captain’s Quarters for the rest of your stay and are pleased that it was enjoyable for you. Again, please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that you will consider a stay at the Almondy Inn for future travel to the Newport area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews