We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$599
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$355
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
America's Cup Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$359
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cleveland House(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Sims' House(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Artful Lodger Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
US$995
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveler rating
316
105
21
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
105
21
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking suiteboutique hotelurban beachapple tvsconessmall platesoatsno elevatorart museumlovely boutiquemy husband and ithe main hoteltop floorthe cliffloved this hotelthird floorwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018

The Attwater was the perfect location for us - easy to walk into Newport or out to do the coastal walk then gawp at the rich people's houses - with some bars and restaurants nearby. We were made really welcome The breakfast is a refreshing change from the usual hotel fare and delicious. We were made very welcome. Apparently the Attwater is part of Lark Hotels - a small local group. Highly recommend

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have level access to a verandah at the back which might be nice
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Love that you were able to take advantage of our perfect location and explore all that Newport has to offer from the classic mansions to the great restaurants and bars! We're so glad that you felt so welcomed during your stay and enjoyed the unique small plates breakfast. We'd be thrilled to see you again for another stay in Newport or at any of our other Lark Hotels properties – we have 19 across New England and a group in Mendocino, with a new property opening in Provincetown soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2018

The Attwater was just what we envisioned - the perfect blend of "quaint" and modern. We booked the Lark Suite for a three-gal reunion in Newport, RI. The suite configuration was fantastic and comfortable. The sofa bed even slept comfortably! The décor was delightful, linens perfect and plentiful, and the room was spotless. We enjoyed the compact kitchen area with convenient countertop, refrigerator and microwave. You'll love the "small plate" breakfast - so inventive! But NOTHING can top the staff. Pleasant and professional and obviously well trained in hospitality. They treated us like royalty, providing concierge service, folding out the sofabed each night, and generally taking care of anything we needed during our stay. If every Lark brand hotel is like this, I'll be looking for them. Made our stay in Newport memorable. Yes, we'll be back!

Room Tip: The spacious Lark Suite doesn't have a view, but who needs one in a suite so well-appointed!
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Hip boutique hotel in the heart of Newport. Its a very easy walk to the restaurants and stores on the harbor. Rooms were spacious, clean and hip decor. They provide a very nice breakfast in the morning with fresh baked scones and biscuits that were hot out of the oven. Staff was very welcoming and friendly. Parking available which is important in Newport. They have a fitness facility but I didn't get a chance to check it out. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

So happy to hear that we might be seeing you again the next time that you're in Newport! We're glad that you enjoyed the homemade small plates breakfast offerings, found our staff to be so welcoming and your room to be clean and spacious. We do hope you were able to utilize our central location and do some exploring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

The Attwater was very clean and modern, which my husband and I loved. He particularly liked that there were Apple TVs in the rooms. Though it was one of the smaller rooms we stayed in on our trip, the space was used wisely. I loved the bathroom - it was clean and had a stand up shower. Also this hotel is in a perfect location - we walked almost everywhere. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Only downside was that since it was a historic hotel, the floors creaked and you could hear any of your neighbors moving about. But what can you expect from an old house? We loved our time in Newport!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank ashleykaye12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

So glad you and your husband had such a great time with us in Newport! Happy that you found everything to be clean and modern, enjoyed you comfortable and well thought out room, as well as our friendly and accommodating staff. We hope you were able to explore all that our city has to offer and we'd love to see you both again for another getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel is great. A wonderful boutique hotel. Walking distance to the wharf and all the fun shops and restaurants . The staff is accommodating and the king suites are very large. The breakfast is unique and delicious ! Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
Thank dkensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews