We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UpScale Chinese Food.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chow's Asian Bistro
Ranked #322 of 555 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“UpScale Chinese Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With menu items such as Nuts and Birds, Coconut Curry, and Volcano Fish you know you are not in a traditional Chinese restaurant. Their Coffee Chicken is a delight.Vegetarians and Canirvores will find gourmet quality dishes that are not easily found. Every dish we tried was delicious. They have an average wine and sake list, but the food is the main draw. A wonderful place.

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"I'm all about making money"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been a Chows customer for years but a carry out order error gone bad led to an argument with Lucy in which she refused to replace a dish that we were told on the phone was gluten free but was not. My wife called the following day and was treated so rudely by Lucy that we will never go back. Her defense for not replacing the dish was that "I'm here to make money" and then abruptly hung up on my wife. Bye Bye Chows. .. We will not be back and will take our money elsewhere from now on.

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rickb824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
149 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Best Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place has reliably good quality - food is very good yet not exactly like big city Chinese eateries.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank HannaKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Neighborhood Asian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2017

Visited here with old friends and ordered three dishes - Almond (and Raisin) Chicken, New Wave Scallops, and Lemon Fish. All were excellent - hard to say which was best. The scallops and chicken were unique and innovative, both very tasty. Prices were a bit on the high side, but it was worth it.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classy Asian food focused on Chinese with good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2016

We just had a small birthday party at Chow's. The signature dish is the coffee chicken. It's amazing. We also had the prawns with walnuts in a sweet/sour sauce and the delectable fried wontons stuffed with a light cheese that came with a lime/ginger sauce. There are many wonderful choices on the menu. Locals know this place so plan to come early if you want a table. Lunch is from 11-2 pm. The service is very good. Thank you to our our guy Brady who is outstanding. My son also received a complimentary birthday dessert which 4 of us shared. Great place and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainb0wmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow's Asian Bistro also viewed

 
Santa Fe, NM
 

Been to Chow's Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing