We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Neighborhood Asian”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chow's Asian Bistro
Ranked #322 of 559 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Neighborhood Asian”
Reviewed February 24, 2017

Visited here with old friends and ordered three dishes - Almond (and Raisin) Chicken, New Wave Scallops, and Lemon Fish. All were excellent - hard to say which was best. The scallops and chicken were unique and innovative, both very tasty. Prices were a bit on the high side, but it was worth it.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classy Asian food focused on Chinese with good service.”
Reviewed December 16, 2016

We just had a small birthday party at Chow's. The signature dish is the coffee chicken. It's amazing. We also had the prawns with walnuts in a sweet/sour sauce and the delectable fried wontons stuffed with a light cheese that came with a lime/ginger sauce. There are many wonderful choices on the menu. Locals know this place so plan to come early if you want a table. Lunch is from 11-2 pm. The service is very good. Thank you to our our guy Brady who is outstanding. My son also received a complimentary birthday dessert which 4 of us shared. Great place and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainb0wmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Some of the worst food I have every eaten”
Reviewed October 14, 2016

I don't know what to call it, but Chinese food is the wrong nomenclature. This is some the worst Chinese food I have ever eaten. Everything I have ever tried here has been awful except for the glasses of tap water. Avoid it.

  • Visited October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BSS9878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Totally Overinflated - Don't Believe the Hype”
Reviewed August 30, 2016

They call themselves contemporary Chinese but that's just total baloney. From the crabby husband to the pushy wife at the front of the house, this place screams "go elsewhere." (Go to Yin Yang!) The food is only average Chinese, with nothing special, in spite of the wife's boasting how fabulous it all is. They are both rude, in their own unattractive way, and have no understanding of what proper, pleasant, customer service is. Their food, for anyone who has eaten great Chinese from one of the provinces made by a real Chinese chef in a major American city, is the equivalent of a big Mac to a nicely grilled rib eye, ie just no comparison. Unfortunately, Santa Fe doesn't really have excellent Chinese--it's all pretty mediocre--but the customer service is far better at any of the others in town.

  • Visited August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kushka53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Went to Chows on a very slow evening. There were maybe 2 or 3 other tables with customers. Had a variety of foods including Mongolian beef, Cashew chicken, beef Kung Pao with an appetizer of Ranch Spring Rolls. Most of the meals are between $11 to $15. Service was great and friendly. More food than we could eat and they packaged our remaining food right at the table for us. They had good Saki too. Next time I'm in Santa Fe I will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilecoyote2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow's Asian Bistro also viewed

 
Santa Fe, NM
 

Been to Chow's Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing