We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chow's Asian Bistro
Ranked #341 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Went to Chows on a very slow evening. There were maybe 2 or 3 other tables with customers. Had a variety of foods including Mongolian beef, Cashew chicken, beef Kung Pao with an appetizer of Ranch Spring Rolls. Most of the meals are between $11 to $15. Service was great and friendly. More food than we could eat and they packaged our remaining food right at the table for us. They had good Saki too. Next time I'm in Santa Fe I will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilecoyote2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    6
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“We are going to give this a second try; it has promise”
Reviewed June 23, 2016

A friend recommended this place, so we tried it for lunch, and decided to have all appetizers. We happened to pick a very busy day when there was a large group there for lunch, so that may have impacted our experience. The pot stickers were tasty, particularly the pepper sauce they were served with, but they were barely warm. The lettuce cups had cubes of chicken, rather than ground chicken, and were very under seasoned. The chicken spring rolls were warm, and they came with a nice dipping sauce, but again, were a bit underseasoned. They forgot our order of steamed pork buns until we reminded them. Unfortunately, they seemed overcooked and dry, and the filling was unremarkable. We did notice a lot of entrees being delivered to other tables, and they looked quite good, so I think next time, we will try those instead.

  • Visited June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wohlerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“We're locals who don't care for Chow's.”
Reviewed June 13, 2016

Over the years, my husband and I have given this place several chances, and every single time we go there (usually because somebody we know invites us to tag along), we come away saying "no más."

For us, Chow's just doesn't live up to its promise and reputation, which is a shame because we desperately need palate cleansers in this green-chili-and-posole town.

Instead, try Ying Yang… but be sure to order off the excellent menu. Don't go for the buffet.

  • Visited May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFeSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Serious Asian food”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

If you're looking for Asian food while in Santa Fe (I'm not sure why you're not eating southwest) this is the place to go. The spices are perfect and if you ask for hot, it's actually hot and perfect. In a town renowned for good food, this is a good restaurant.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank Addison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Meh, Average Chinese”
Reviewed December 5, 2015

I was told by the locals that this was great Chinese food, but it was just okay. The service was even worse. The decor was trying to be high end, but the food didn't live up to the decor. I wouldn't go back here again unless this was the only choice for Chinese in town.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow's Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Chow's Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing