We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are going to give this a second try; it has promise”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chow's Asian Bistro
Ranked #322 of 555 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
171 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“We are going to give this a second try; it has promise”
Reviewed June 23, 2016

A friend recommended this place, so we tried it for lunch, and decided to have all appetizers. We happened to pick a very busy day when there was a large group there for lunch, so that may have impacted our experience. The pot stickers were tasty, particularly the pepper sauce they were served with, but they were barely warm. The lettuce cups had cubes of chicken, rather than ground chicken, and were very under seasoned. The chicken spring rolls were warm, and they came with a nice dipping sauce, but again, were a bit underseasoned. They forgot our order of steamed pork buns until we reminded them. Unfortunately, they seemed overcooked and dry, and the filling was unremarkable. We did notice a lot of entrees being delivered to other tables, and they looked quite good, so I think next time, we will try those instead.

  • Visited June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wohlerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We're locals who don't care for Chow's.”
Reviewed June 13, 2016

Over the years, my husband and I have given this place several chances, and every single time we go there (usually because somebody we know invites us to tag along), we come away saying "no más."

For us, Chow's just doesn't live up to its promise and reputation, which is a shame because we desperately need palate cleansers in this green-chili-and-posole town.

Instead, try Ying Yang… but be sure to order off the excellent menu. Don't go for the buffet.

  • Visited May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFeSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Serious Asian food”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

If you're looking for Asian food while in Santa Fe (I'm not sure why you're not eating southwest) this is the place to go. The spices are perfect and if you ask for hot, it's actually hot and perfect. In a town renowned for good food, this is a good restaurant.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank Addison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove
Level Contributor
175 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Meh, Average Chinese”
Reviewed December 5, 2015

I was told by the locals that this was great Chinese food, but it was just okay. The service was even worse. The decor was trying to be high end, but the food didn't live up to the decor. I wouldn't go back here again unless this was the only choice for Chinese in town.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
159 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great for takeout”
Reviewed November 21, 2015

Every other week, the wife picks up takeout from Chows. It travels all the way to Eldorado very well. I really love their food. Walnut Shrimp, Coffee Chicken, Lemon Fish, Beef and (well anything) but usually broccoli and any of the various noodle dishes always impress. We've eaten in the restaurant twice over the years but for some reason, take out is our regular M.O. with chows. The food is rather inventive, the quality of the ingredients are very good. On Friday nights when we usually get take out, they are usually very busy with a takeout orders so call ahead and be patient.

  • Visited November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow's Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Chow's Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing