We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serious Asian food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chow's Asian Bistro
Ranked #322 of 555 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Serious Asian food”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

If you're looking for Asian food while in Santa Fe (I'm not sure why you're not eating southwest) this is the place to go. The spices are perfect and if you ask for hot, it's actually hot and perfect. In a town renowned for good food, this is a good restaurant.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank Addison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove
Level Contributor
175 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Meh, Average Chinese”
Reviewed December 5, 2015

I was told by the locals that this was great Chinese food, but it was just okay. The service was even worse. The decor was trying to be high end, but the food didn't live up to the decor. I wouldn't go back here again unless this was the only choice for Chinese in town.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
159 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great for takeout”
Reviewed November 21, 2015

Every other week, the wife picks up takeout from Chows. It travels all the way to Eldorado very well. I really love their food. Walnut Shrimp, Coffee Chicken, Lemon Fish, Beef and (well anything) but usually broccoli and any of the various noodle dishes always impress. We've eaten in the restaurant twice over the years but for some reason, take out is our regular M.O. with chows. The food is rather inventive, the quality of the ingredients are very good. On Friday nights when we usually get take out, they are usually very busy with a takeout orders so call ahead and be patient.

  • Visited November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheated”
Reviewed October 23, 2015

Went with a coupon for buy one get one that was published for supporters of a local non-profit. They would not honor it! Not expired, not misprinted, they just didn't want to. Period. We felt good about our dinners until then. We paid in full, plus we paid in spades with indigestion and disgust. A real shame as this restaurant used to have a good reputation. No longer.

  • Visited October 2015
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crowded at lunch, worth going a little out of the way from I-25”
Reviewed October 2, 2015

Take the St Francis exit, go a few blocks north to an exit on the right for McDonalds, At stop sign, carefully turn left, go under St Francis and see Plaza del Sol catty-corner to McD. It is in there. My hot and sour was the best I have ever had--has diced tomatoes in it. My wife and I each had soup, split an entrée. Bathroom situation is awkward--in back, past the kitchen; pet store next door, so location is not ideal, but the food is tasty.

  • Visited September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow's Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Chow's Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing