We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS”

Colonial Room Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 22/06
20:00
Ranked #28 of 4,839 Restaurants in San Antonio
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Built as an addition to the original hotel and later remodeled by San Antonio architect Atlee B. Ayres in 1912, the Colonial Room Restaurant reflects the prevailing neoclassical style of its time. Decades of elaborate balls and parties have been hosted in this room. Among the celebrities who have dined here are Presidents Grant and McKinley, Robert E. Lee, and French actress Sarah Bernhardt. The Colonial Room Restaurant's famous mango ice cream was served at both of President Clinton’s inaugurations. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, the Colonial Room Restaurant features a fabulous noontime lunch buffet featuring their Signature Menger Tortilla Soup and Bread Pudding. Don't miss the popular Sunday Brunch buffet, which includes your first glass of champagne or mimosa; reservations highly recommended.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sunday brunch is served from 11am-2pm with a reservation. It's $30/adult including your drink. Coffee was delicious. Unlimited drinks, including mimosas.

It's a buffet-style brunch. Waiter will take your order for an omelet and/or waffles and bring it to your table so you don't have to wait in line for it.

Service was great. Our server was Armando. He was attentive, respectful, and did a wonderful job. All the staff members were extremely polite and hardworking. I was impressed.

Food was great. Good selection of breakfast and lunch items. Our favorite was the bread pudding - definitely the best I've had anywhere! Desserts looked great, but I was too obsessed with the bread pudding to try any.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank vmsolko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Breakfast was very good, service was excellent but the true highlight was the coffee. Without a doubt the best coffee I've ever had.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank homewood_traveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2021

Due to the Pandemic, you are no longer allowed to serve yourself at the breakfast buffet. One of the waitstaff has to serve you and it does take a while if there are very many patrons in the restaurant. Be prepared to wait a while.

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank ThePhiloso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2020

The Colonial Room offered a great alternative to cooking at home and a great meal for travelers. Four of us enjoyed delicious food and attentive service for Thanksgiving dinner while meeting our son in San Antonio. The Colonial Room required reservations and managed the diners effectively in two seatings. After checking in a host/hostess called groups by their reservation to their tables. The restaurant implemented procedures by spacing tables and by having staff serve each diner. A large variety of tasty and attractively displayed food was offered. We were pleased with our Thanksgiving dinner at the Menger Hotel.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BillM551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2020

Went for lunch after self-guided hotel tour. Very limited menu, but the service and the Huevos Rancheros were authentic and very good. A seat by the window provides a great view of the beautiful courtyard. Excellent comfortable and refreshing stop after long hikes around the downtown area.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wslin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Room Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Colonial Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.