We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk
Nearby Hotels
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
US$255
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$263
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$244
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$242
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Menger Hotel(San Antonio)
US$176
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveler rating
366
237
75
43
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
237
75
43
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel indigooffice buildinggibbs buildingbar bistrooriginal elevatorfront deskwood floorsthe river walkhistorical buildingvalet parkingunique hotelvalet servicecorner roomking suitelocation was perfectbed was very comfortableconvention center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We left our room for the day and my valuable sapphire and diamond ring was stolen by the maid while we were out. The manager and maintenance person checked the key entry log and confirmed that the only person to enter the room was the maid and when I reported to the police-the hotel wouldn't release the name of the maid to the police.
The hotel has since done NOTHING and won't take any responsibility for the theft!!!
If you stay here-stay with caution and don't leave anything valuable in your room!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm473, General Manager at Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We apologize for the experience you had at our hotel and that you were not able to locate your valuables. We are happy to continue cooperating in the search of your valuables and apologize the formal search conducted of the housekeeper's personal belongings was not to your satisfaction. As always, we encourage our guests to use the complimentary safe deposit boxes provided to store valuable items. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reservation made on 2/23/18 for Two Queen Leisure for 4 adults. Confirmed reservation on Monday 3/19/18. We arrived on Saturday 3/24/18 and was given a King suite with hide-a-bed. Was told by front desk staff that this was what was reserved. Showed them my copy of reservation. They did not have another room for us. The king suite only had enough towels for 3 people. Linens on hide-a-bed appeared slept on. Large stain on mattress!! Bathroom floor dirty. Old sock found in closet. The night manager was very apologic, but was not able to help us. Said he knew who changed reservation and was going to deal with it. Will not return!!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm473, General Manager at Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I do apologize for the mistake we made with your reservation and the inconvenience it caused you during you stay. The experience you had overall was unacceptable and we will use your feedback to improve our overall guest experience. I would like to discuss your stay with you please contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018

The photo of the Hotel Gibbs is exactly how our room looked. Big windows on two walls providing great light in the daytime. But don’t worry, closed drapes made room very dark for sleeping. Our room was right next to elevators, but there was no issue with noise. At all. Very quiet. This hotel is just kitty-corner from the Alamo, so very convenient to everything. Hotel staff was very nice. We did have some issues with having our room serviced, but the manager accepted the mistake and eagerly compensated us for the trouble. I don’t think that our experience with the room cleaning was a typical thing that happens at Hotel Gibbs. I would stay again, because it is beautiful inside with natural wood and marble, quietness and it’s convenient location. The breakfast was really good too!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank menus15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm473, Manager at Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

I thank you for the review. We hope that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and apologies again for the service issues you had during your stay. We would love to have you stay again on your next visit to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018

This is probably not the best hotel to stay in. You should probably use this one as your last resort. To start off, the bathrooms smell like if you left a wet piece of clothing sitting for ages, pure sewage. The shower smells the same way just worse. There are no extra blankets in the closets and if you asked the front desk for some they don't even deliver it for you the first thing they say is yes but if you want them you to have to come down and get it yourself. The AC is very loud during the night and is yet to be modernized.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm473, Manager at Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Our deepest apologies that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Please contact us so that we can find out what room you stayed in. These type of issue's are not acceptable and I would like to discuss it with you. David Recknagel 210-933-2000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

This hotel is the perfect location for all the attractions of San Antonio. Directly across from the Alamo and steps from many San Antonio attractions. Our view from the room was of the Alamo. The room was spacious and well appointed. Beautiful restored hardwood floors. Such a unique boutique hotel. Will definitely be staying here again for our next Alamo 13.1!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimmomgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm473, Manager at Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

We are please to hear that you enjoyed you stay along with the view of the Alamo. We will see you next year or hopefully sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews