We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
WOW!!!! Who knew?

So much history in such a cute little house! Museum cases with artifacts dug up in the back yard... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Charlie L
,
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Old bones and great archaeology

So this was interesting - most of the historic home museums are interpreted to look like what we... read more

Reviewed 6 October 2018
gormer
,
Arizona
Read all 22 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Salem
from US$12.00
More Info
from US$89.00
More Info
from US$16.00
More Info
from US$20.00
More Info
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
13
6
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews middle class interesting tour new england nps occupation parks century ranger derby artifacts period tours information history
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

I've never been on another tour like it- It was a wonderful opportunity to see the remains of a house that would have been occupied by a fairly middle class family. More than that, the decision not to restore it has given tour goers the chance to really examine how the house has survived over the years, and especially through out the generations of the different families who have lived there.

Thank emjayohsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Luckily, we were able to sign up for this ranger-led tour today. Small spaces limit size of group to 8 and tour fills fill up quickly. Interesting to see how middle class folks lived in this area in the 17th century. We enjoy the history part of Salem so this fit right in with our interest in learning more about the area.

Thank cbtreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Was very pleased to find out that this is a free self guided look, with a member of the Parks Dept, there to answer questions. It is a quick look into the first floor of this house, but the house and artifacts inside are very cool to look at if you are a history lover.

1  Thank pjbeck3029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We were wondering the village in search of the Hawthorne House when we came across the Narbonne House. What a wonderful opportunity to see how the 99% lived 200 years ago. Highly recommended.

1  Thank j0eb0lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We enjoyed our visit to this house that dates back to 1675. That's hard to fathom. This would have been a typical middle class home for the period. The docent from the NPS was very informative and gave a visual example of how the house was added on to over the years (Wooden replicas of the house and all of the additions). You could almost visualize what life was like back then. We timed our visit just right because we walked up just as the NPS docent was arriving to unlock the house. Not sure if there are set hours or not, but it worked for us. Worth a short visit to see.

Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews