We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Christopher Dodge House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Providence(Providence)
US$157
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$189
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dean Hotel(Providence)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$179
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Providence Hotel(Providence)
US$159
US$99
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Providence Biltmore(Providence)
US$159
US$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
223
71
30
13
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
71
30
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomgas fireplacehot dishoverflow lotoverflow parkinglovely bed and breakfastb and bcandy barsthe ground floorbaked goodsceiling fanroad noisenice alternativeyogurthardwood floorshard boiled eggsparking on site
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

This little B&b stole my heart when we visited Providence this month. The service is great, rooms are clean, hotel space is unique, price is right, and it is conveniently located. I loved the Dodge house and would definitely both recommend it to others and would stay again. Food is an added bonus and the bfast met my expectations.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank agampatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Front Office Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay! We truly appreciate your kindness and recommendation to others. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

I was in Rhode Island for a volleyball tournament. The location is a 20 minute walk or $5 Uber ride to the convention center. I arrived late (after 9:30pm) but simple instructions were e-mailed to me on how to obtain the key for entry. In the morning the smell of fresh coffee and delicious sausage woke me up and forced me out of the most comfy sleep I've had in a while! Breakfast was delicious and there was a spread of breads, freshly baked goodies, coffee and teas. The staff was so sweet and so accommodating. The house was so warm and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and above all, CLEAN! Really enjoyed the stay and would definately go back!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Serena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Front Office Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

We appreciate your kind and generous review of your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We were only in Providence one night, in order to visit Brown University, though I wish we could have stayed a little longer. We had two rooms, and both were very spacious, with comfortable bedding. The best part of the experience was breakfast - delicious apricot French Toast and sausage, plus homemade scones and coconut cake. The other families at our table were also doing college visits, which made for a lively breakfast conversation. I would definitely recommend this B & B for anyone coming to Providence, especially since the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CullFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Front Office Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your recommendation to others and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The property is in a lovely circa 1850 home. Furnishings are adequate and the room was clean. The heating source in my room was a gas fireplace - very nice touch! The common room had coffee and pastries at all hours - also a nice touch! Breakfast was better than the generic prefab free breakfast in many Hotels. The staff was amazing and every effort was made to make the guest feel welcome. Would suggest advising guests before they arrive that rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors are accessed by stairs (no elevators), as this may be an issue for some. Also, was a lot of street noise as the Inn is located near the expressway - this was not an issue for me but may be for some.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank roelofvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Front Office Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us in our historic B&B. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I stayed two nights and found the room, bed and bath comfortable; the staff very friendly and helpful; and the location very favorable. The breakfast service was very lacking: no healthful options, unless you consider eggs healthy; no basket of fresh fruit; only sugar-laced granola and yogurt; apple strudel bizarrely presented as the main breakfast item the second day; breads were of the sliced sandwich variety, bagels seemed store-packaged. Maybe some people want dessert or candy for breakfast. For others, how about a little effort to select higher quality, more healthful foods to make the stay AND the breakfast memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almare_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Front Office Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you felt our breakfast offerings lacked healthful options. The fresh sliced fruit is placed on each dish instead of on the buffet. All of our slices of bread and bagels get individually wrapped by staff to keep them fresh and germ free from hands. The hot meal offered that particular day was a breakfast strudel containing eggs, potatoes and vegetables. The chef had tried to explain that it was "like" an apple strudel given that it was an egg dish wrapped in puff pastry. Creating a memorable stay for our guests is our number one priority. We are sorry that you feel we have fallen short of doing so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews