We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Eggs Benedict!”
Review of Gold Street Caffe - CLOSED

Gold Street Caffe
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 2nd and 3rd
Description: Gold Street Caffe is a small local eatery that has been serving downtown Albuquerque for 18 years. Our menu is well thought out, made with care, and made from scratch. We are casual yet refined, and we serve the best food you'll find downtown. Whether on lunch, on vacation, or simply in the neighborhood, swing by for a bite; because above all we are here to serve you, and we love doing it!
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Visited this place for breakfast and decided to have the Southwest Eggs Benedict. I loved their take on Eggs Benedict. The green chile biscuit was amazing as was the jalapeno hollandaise. Also has a blood orange mimosas, it was very tasty.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank nirammel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

A nice little space in downtown Albuquerque for coffee or maybe a mimosa. I especially like the outside sidewalk seating. Very nice staff. Was a little disappointed with our breakfast though, it was ok. Happy travels.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank ReignMadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Oh my goodness! The Southwest Eggs Benedict with green chile cheese biscuit chile glazed bacon and jalapeño hollandaise!!! And for dessert...buttermilk pancakes! Both of these were the best I've ever eaten.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We loved our breakfast at Gold Street Caffe. Out Groupon made it very inexpensive and was an incentive to drive downtown merely for breakfast. The Caffe is relatively small with a few tables on the sidewalk, four or five tables upon entering, and a long and narrow, raised area at the rear. It reflects the ambiance of Albuquerque perfectly. The breakfast menu is small but diverse. I agree with previous reviewers regarding the southwest eggs benedict. They are really, really good. The chile biscuits used as the base are a big part it as they would be wonderful on their own. My poached eggs were perfect, the chile bacon added even more flavor and the chile cream sauce - which smothered it all - made it irresistible. The accompanying herb skillet potatoes were very tasty and of a generous portion. My husband ordered the omelet for which one can choose three fillings. The mushrooms and spinach were fresh, and the just-right amount of cheese made it a filling and delicious meal. The same potatoes are served alongside. Our waiter - I think his name was Jose - was attentive, funny, informed and just a really nice person. Prices are about average for this part of the city and portions are more than adequate. There were a lot of diners when we were there on a weekday mid-morning, and all seemed to be local. We will certainly return even without a discount. There are many more breakfast offerings to sample and the lunch menu looked appealing.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

The restaurant isn't particularly close to us but we had a Groupon. These encourage us to get out and try new places.

We liked the fact that at lunch time, you can order from the breakfast menu as well as the lunch menu. So, we had the Southwest Eggs Benedict and a burger. We both felt we made the best choice.

The eggs are on a green chile biscuit (which carry a significant amount of heat) and crispy bacon. The eggs were cooked perfectly and the combination was fabulous. The potatoes were also cooked well - a little crispy on the edges and soft in the center.

The burger was also cooked well and the fries were very well done with the crispy, well seasoned outside and tasty middle. The iced tea was mango flavored.

The restaurant was busy but our server did a good job checking on us while taking care of everyone else. We can see why this is a popular cafe.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank CJGinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Street Caffe also viewed

 
Albuquerque, NM
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing