We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Downtown(Salt Lake City)
US$100
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little America Hotel(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
University Guest House & Conference Center(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
49
63
15
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
63
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooked to order breakfasttemple squaregreat breakfast includedsalt lakewithin easy walking distancesized bedcoffee makerthree nightsdowntown slcsinkmicrowavelodging
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Let me start by saying the hotel is one block from Temple Square and beats the price of all of the other hotels I looked at by a lot. I stayed in the Carlton for a total of three nights, two nights in the company of a friend and one night alone. When i first arrived, the receptionist made sure i knew how to use the garage (no charge!). The room was actually two rooms with three beds for two people! There was a mini kitchen with sink, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, real glasses and real coffee cups! When I returned my single room had a king sized bed, table with chairs and a kitchen that included all of the above. The staff were friendly, helpful and always there when you needed them. The complementary breakfast was so lush (eggs however you wanted, bacon, pancakes, the works), I had to check to make sure it was free. This is the best hotel I can remember staying in at an unbelievable price.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

I'd like to give 4 stars but the interior is dated. Great deal with free airport shuttle and breakfast. Staff are friendly and helpful. Convenient to grocery store and restaurants. Room needs updating from 80s. I'd stay again.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I stayed here while on a family vacation last summer with my mother, in her nineties, and my teenaged daughter. When the staff saw our family, they were immediately accomodating, giving us a small 'suite' of two rooms with a kitchen on the first floor that was perfect for us, and for an incredible price. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the hotel quiet and is located right in downtown SLC, within easy walking distance of many of the sights and shopping options--grocery and other. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and felt right at home there for our week of vacation. And then there's the amazing breakfast that comes with staying there! Walk downstairs to the café, and be greeted by the cook, who makes your breakfast to order in a cozy setting. This hotel is a quiet gem in the middle of the city. I will definitely stay there if I am in Salt Lake again!

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Ramshackle is one word that comes to mind for this establishment. I don't mean to imply that it is run down or un-loved, just that it has some quirky, slapdash construction as it has seen remodels over the ages. A house cat could get down the hall without creaking the floors but not much else. The building is worth two stars at most. The people and the address are the better half.

All that said, the sit-down breakfast beats most chain hotel complimentary breakfasts and the location/price cannot be touched for miles around. It's what fills those near-by miles that does it for the Carlton. The Avenues present a nice neighborhood to stroll as does the capitol, the upscale mall, the 200 South bar-row, the U of UT and yes, the LDS cathedral. Beyond that, but still hike-able is the City Creek trail and even the Jordan River Parkway if you want to cycle or run a marathon on a scenic trail.

There are a lot of nicer hotels out in the 'burbs that are better for sleeping but most of them are in "dead" locations. There are other hotels downtown but they are not nearly as budget-friendly. All in all, I enjoyed my four-day stay at the Carlton. The employees and the wide range of nearby attractions make downtown the place to stay.

Room Tip: #112 was ok but it seems like any but the top floor will have you listening to your upstairs neighbor walking around.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2016

This hotel is ideal as it is a few minutes walk from the Creek Shopping centre with many places nearby for eating although the hotel included a hot cooked breakfast in the price a little bonus as the hotel was reasonably priced for the location. Free parking as well although not a lot of room to manouver.

Room Tip: our room was facing side on to a multi storey car park which remained lit all night
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews