We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary. We went because”
Review of Alice May

Alice May
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$23
Cuisines: International, Healthy, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Take a step back in time and immerse yourself in the story of Alice May Parkinson along with some mouth-watering food and great ambience. Spectacular views of the Southern Alps can be appreciated from our courtyard. Alice May prides itself in serving traditional New Zealand homemade food. We welcome locals and visitors to call in for a delicious freshly cooked meal and beverages. We offer a range of beer and cider from a West Coast Brewery and a selection of NZ wines.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very ordinary. We went because it was rated No 1. But sadly it’s not. Don’t get me wrong, wonderful atmosphere, great decor and story. Service a little slow to start with and then very intentive. Unfortunately the food lets itself down. The white bait fritter tasteless, and I love whitebait fritters. In fact had a great one the following day. Monkfish overcooked, the polenta, sorry heavy glutinous. The food is very very ordinary, recommend for a drink, but not the food, won’t return.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank markhV1500XJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Cool tribute restaurant to an infamous lady and good food. We shared an Arancini entree, Chicken Romanesco and a Falafel salad mains. The falafel was a bit dense and oily, only and very minor grumble of an otherwise cracker dining experience. Wait staff were lovely, perfect spot for a romantic dinner.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Highlander65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2021

We had the pleasure of having dinner at this outstanding restaurant over the Easter long weekend. The history of Alice May was great to read - a very interesting story! The food was divine - we started with the whitebait fritter and loaded garlic bread, followed by the lamb shanks, beef cheeks and also the salmon. Quick and friendly service and it was a very busy night. We sat outside in the conservatory with the gorgeous fire on our table. Ordered dessert too and took the option of the takeaway dessert. Overall it was a perfect evening.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrshowty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2021 via mobile

Had a meal at Alice May. Great food and great atmosphere. The restuarant was turning people away as they were so busy. Yet the waiting team provided very good service. Hats off as to how well they managed.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank PhillipB294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2021

We all enjoyed our food at Alice May. Nothing out-of-the-ordinary on the menu but all the courses the six of us had were much appreciated. There was high praise for the seafood chowder and the arancini balls. Our vegan daughter got some good food and the mains were all very well done, especially the beef cheeks.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kentdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice May also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
 
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
 

Been to Alice May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.