We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Westhaven(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
US$75
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
US$94
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Cook View Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
165
97
37
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
97
37
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest loungetop floornew zealandcd playervenisonthe general managerbefore dinnerone nightin townlovely bathroomsmall townbreakfast was excellentgood sizecomplimentary glass of winehome comfortsmodern roomsour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a bit appalled by the surface grime and fingerprints on nearly all the surfaces. This may have been a rather nice hotel about 15 or 20 years ago, but it is now quite worn out and in need of a thorough cleaning and refurbishing. Freddie, the gentleman at the desk was very helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate. But overall not a nice place to stay and definitely not worth the price.

Room Tip: Don’t stay here...
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 4DVD8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was one of the more expensive places we stayed while visiting NZ. To call this place "boutique" is a real stretch. It's pretty much a Holiday Inn type of hotel that you would find in the states. Nothing special at all, and certainly not even close to justified the premium price. The staff was very nice, but as I have said many times, who isn't in NZ. Everyone is very nice. The biggest plus was it did have a good location to restaurants in town. A short walk. The rooms were OK and I could give it a grade of Average, but I just can't get pass the amount of $475 NZ dollars for one night. I know there are better options while staying in Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018

The hotel is located on the Fox Glacier Highway (6) a short distance from the centre of Fox Glacier Town. If driving, there is free undercover parking underneath the bedrooms. The rooms are large and comfortable. The kitchen serves a decent breakfast and the hotel is walking distance to some reasonable restaurants for evening meals. We found the staff her friendly and informative about the local area: places to eat and visit. They also engender a friendly atmosphere between the residents in the lounge / bar area and served a complimentary glass of wine each evening.

It’s a great base to explore Fox Glacier and, 20 minute drive away, the Franz Josef Glacier. Ask about local conditions: the road to Fox Glacier, for example, was closed due to Cyclone Gita. Reception did point the way to the Franz Josef Glacier which has an excellent walk from a free car park to the glacier proper. They also suggested Lake Matheson, a short drive away that also has a restaurant with excellent evening meals.

A great place to investigate Glacier Country

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jon_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionFox, General Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jon and Janet
Appreciate the time you have taken to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Distinction Fox Glacier. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and trust you had a great time in NZ. Regards Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018

Property was well-maintained although decor looks quite 90s. The cost of room is skewed high side for what it is worth.

Check-in staff was very thoughtful and polite and we are thankful for his hospitality.

Everything was still okay until I got shouted at, at the breakfast bar by the cook. All I did was to put a mini croissant through the rolling bread toaster which turned out it got caught on fire. I have traveled globally and there is no rolling bread toaster in the world I have used that would not let a mini croissant pass through and fire it up.

The cook was being called out and the first thing she did was shouting on my face. I explained that I did not know this toaster would not work for croissant since there was no signage saying so. She would not let me finish and shouted again "THAT DOESNT MATTER JUST DON'T PUT IT IN"

I wanted to say, it does matter!

Judging from the way the staff around reacted, I believe this was not the first time someone made a fire-croissant. So if the hotel does not take the initiative to just put up a small notice/ sign, who is to blame in the end? Besides, the fire died down very quickly before the cook arrived. No damage done but a wasted croissant.

Does a customer deserve to be shouted at in public for a wasted croissant?

I hope to receive an apology and a promise that better hospitality training would be given to the staff including back-office.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Qoosties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

The Distinction Te Weheka is a very nice hotel right in the centre of Fox Glacier, within yards of the helicopter company's office and restaurants etc. Our room was very large and supremely well equipped and the under- cover parking was a bonus, too. The Concierge, Frederico, was charm personified and nothing was too much trouble for him. Breakfast is quite modest, with a choice of eggs as the only hot offering but the happy half hour at 6-30 each evening serving a nice glass of wine in the lounge was a nice touch. We would happily return there.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room overlooking the village
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionFox, General Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thanks very much Lindsay for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Distinction Fox Glacier. Regards Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews