We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Algotels
$1,673
View deal
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
345
110
37
15
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
345
110
37
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basketball court full kitchen yogurt nice pool pool area bedroom suite pool towels minute drive on demand definitely stay here again pull out sofa shuttle service complimentary shuttle guest services nice property plenty of chairs beach resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 525 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2022

We paid for a 2 bedroom suite. A decent amount of space, but we have stayed in better hotels where a 1 bedroom suite had more room than this 2 bedroom. We stayed on the 2nd floor with a walkout to the turf and pool area.
While the master room seemed to have more amenities like more towels and the hairdryer, the other room did not.
Also, a set of sheets in the second bedroom looked stained with grease, and I question where they were even clean.
Kitchen was stocked well with enough of a variety of kitchen stuff, but only had 4 sets of plates, bowls, utensils, and cups. But only enough detergent to do 2 loads, which we would have been doing daily had we not gotten extra stuff from breakfast and decided to keep those in the room.
The living room had bird poop on the carpet, and the did not move the furniture to clean underneath items like the couch. There were whole Oreo cookies and other old food. I assume the hotel must spray massively for roaches since we did not see one, as they for sure would have been attracted to the rotting food, so being exposed to those chemicals is a concern of its own.

We could walk across the turf to get breakfast. Breakfast itself was ok. The options, for the most part, did not change at all for the week they were there, so that got old.
Eating in the breakfast dining area was not an option as the room was open to the outside, and there were birds everywhere. They would attack your plates of food if you left them unattended, and there was bird poop all over the floor and furniture.

The pool itself was nice. Great depth for young kids, big kids, and adults.
They could have provided more pool towels. They ran out often.
The turf area had some yard games that were great kids.
There was an area of about 5 massive grills for making your own food if you wanted.

They have a shuttle that'll take you within a mile or so. But here's the kicker, you need provide a booster or carseat for your child. That was not told to us in advance, so when we planned to leave the hotel, we couldn't. Later on, when we got a booster, we saw that you could leave it with the shuttle. Again, that was not told to us, as we assumed we'd have to lug all that junk to the beach. At 7 months pregnant, I was overwhelmed and couldn't do that on my own, like I thought I would on the days my husband was at a conference. So, basically, the hotel has terrible communication, and they should provide carseats and boosters for their guests.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Britton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bethany Glend, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2022

Aloha Britton G,

I recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have taken the time to provide.
Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is important and I apologize that we did not fulfill that expectation during your visit. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate department leaders to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent these issues from occurring in the future.

I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Mahalo,
Residence Inn Leadership

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2022 via mobile

We stayed here using points. As a Titanium Elite, we were upgraded to an ocean view studio. The hotel sits on a hill with sweeping views down to the ocean. You can walk down the hill to the shops at Wailea or up the hill to a shopping center with two very good restaurants- Pita Palace and Monkeypod. An eight minute drive takes you to quiet, crescent shaped Ulua Beach. Basic breakfast with something for everyone. Do not leave food unattended! The open air dining area attracts lots of tiny birds that will happily partake in your breakfast!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank K4672IIalexandras
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 7, 2022 via mobile

Excellent family hotel. Great staff and great facility. Food was very good too. Pool was very good also. Really a nice relaxing place to stay. There is nothing negative I can think of. Very close to great restaurants and beaches. Hotel has on demand shuttles to anywhere in the area

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank DavidT949
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 6, 2022 via mobile

I only stayed for one day but the hotel was nice and the grounds were well kept. There is 1 pool but it was nice and clean. Free breakfast was decent nothing special. There is a basketball court that my boys used and enjoyed. We had a 2 bedroom suite and it was very nice. I would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank E2746ITjohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 31, 2022

The Residence Inn Maui is in a great area of the island. However, it is not within walking distance to a beach though there are plenty of public beaches nearby. A car is a must,

The hotel itself is bare bones as far as decor and services. There is no one to help with the luggage. There is no welcome lei which is customary in Hawaii. The rooms have a kitchen but the decor is pretty plain. No water bottle for guests and no acknowledgment of Marriott status at check-in or during the stay. For nearly $600 a night, one may want more. There is a pool but it was full of loud children from dawn to dusk, if that is not your thing, and the towels are tiny and frayed (these are also your beach towels.) The complimentary buffet breakfast is nice and the selection was fine with premade eggs, breakfast meat, waffles, yogurt, fruit, hot and cold cereal, hard-boiled eggs, various breads and cereal. Juice and coffee but no POG juice.

This wouldn't hurt as much if the per night rate wasn't so exorbitant but it is in line with the rest of the island - -Hawaii is $$$ right now

Room tip: get a room not facing the pool if you value quiet
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robinzNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bethany Glend, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2022

Aloha robinzNY,

We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided. In order to better uphold our commitment to deliver exceptional service to every guest, I have shared your feedback with the appropriate department leaders. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews