We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$95
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Coral Hotel(Bugibba)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
11
39
65
47
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
39
65
47
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeat dishesbooked tripstold receptionmolly maloneall inclusive drinksall inclusive packagedon t expectroom was cleaned dailybad reviewsrestaurant staffmini fridgeextra blanketsnice balconyclean towels every daycheap holidaynothing is too much troubleblue lagoon
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We checked in for 6 nights and hated every one. The floor was dirty, no kettle, TV with no control to switch it on. The door creeks as it opens. The patio doors almost fall off as you try to open them. It's the sort of place you put your shoes on before you go in. Complete dump.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Allybaba_Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest

Cannot understand how one could give false information to our trip adviser readers.

First of all, please rest reassured that our housekeeping clean all arrivals, departures,and public areas.Thereafter rooms are attended to daily.The only reason a room is not attended to, is if guests do not leave their key at reception, as advised by the receptionist upon arrival and signposted at front desk.

Kettle can be collected at a charge of €10 from reception, which is refundable on check out. Guests on room only do not have a kettle included in their package.

TV remote control is collected from reception free of charge.

The issues you raised in your review regarding " the door creeks and the patio doors almost fall off as you try to open them" were never brought forwarded to our front office/reception. We would have seen what would be needed and sort out your issues.

Best Regards

Guest Relation Manager

Aldo Schembri Adami



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Sadly very noisy at night shouting and door slamming to the early hours by drunked residents. They accommodate large parties of students at regular intervals which adds to the noisy environment. The fire alarm goes off without warning at anytime day or night and is mostly ignored by the residents which in the case of a real emergency could have fatal consequences.The management didnt seem to have a policy on noise. The staff I would give 5* especially the cleaners. The internet is weak and the tv is mostly maltese lacking any major news channels. There is plenty of hot water but the bath was small and had been hand painted inside which came off in flakes and floated on the surface. This place is totally unsuitable for older people due to the constant noise and hilly nature and hilly nature of the area. The locals have named the area "Beirut" due to the piles of garbage and dog faeces littering the badly damaged pavements albeit of no fault of the hotel. I spent 6 weeks here room only and only ate twice in the refurbished restaurant as the food was often cold. I was asked for a 50 euro deposit on the room which they refused to return on leaving saying it would be paid direct into my bank account which of course it never was! This is blatant fraud but what can you do when you are about to leave. I travelled with Mercury Travel Company and find it hard to believe they deal with a place as bad as this and will think twice about using them again. Take my advice " Keep well clear"

Room Tip: There isn't one
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank michaelluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest

Management team are sorry that your stay was not satisfactory and we certainly take each matter in hand and investigate.

Kindly note that all guests are treated the same and pay the same amount as it is irrelevant if you are a student or any other guest.

Whilst management cannot predict the behavior of guests we can act accordingly to any disturbance during their stay.Unruly behavior is not condoned within the hotel and has in the past resulted in the removal of guilty parties.We had cases that we needed the intervention of the police which were brought over by hotel management in order to control the behavior of guests on board.

Will inform our housekeeping department as regards your appraisal about the staff and cleanliness.

Actually we get loads of repeaters who are elderly guests and never(not even one) raised the problem stating that it is hilly and an untidy area. We can say with confidence that there is not even one street/road which is steep or hilly in our hotel area.

Further to your review where you are mentioning that locals describe our location to be similar to Beirut is all nonsense.We have no control on any garbage and dog farces littering badly in the perimeter of outside our property. Very important is that we keep our hotel clean and in hygiene standard.

We have checked if ever you have raised any complaint regarding cold food in the restaurant. According to our records we have nothing stating that you reported this issue to our attention.We have not received from anyone else complaining about cold food since we have upgraded and refurbished our restaurant.

It is extremely unfair to poison our trip advisor readers with false information. Fraud is a very serious allegation regarding €50 pre authorization which is a common bank transaction which is unblocked after 30 working bank days.

Legal action will be taken if you do not retract your offence statement.

Best Regards

Guest Relation Manager

Aldo Schembri Adami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Breakfast is basic and minimal but ok.
Zero entertainment! The one night we looked forward to Karaoke was dumped for a group of Italian Teachers with no consideration for those drinking in the bar (the teachers weren't) Dodgy taps, dodgy doors, nice staff but in fairness i would avoid this place!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Daryl_Beste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Guest
We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations.
We thank you your praising our staff whom you found very welcoming and nice to you.
Your points mentioned such as dodgy taps, dodgy doors were never reported to our reception. With
pleasure we would have send our maintenance team in order to check these issues you raised.
Ideally it would have been great if you would have brought it to our attention while you were still in
our hotel.
Best Regards
Guest Relation Manager
Aldo Schembri Adami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Annoyed still not had my £50 deposit back put into my bank as promised apart from that the place is ok foods shocking and you have to use the hotel across the way for drinks only went for 3 nights thank god ! But rooms were bit rough but sheets were spotless clean patio doors didn’t lock and balcony railings are very loose and we came as a family of 5 and were put at either end of the hotel not next to each other as requested staff were lovely dining room staff miserable but i would looking at the food a lick of paint in the rooms would make it look better please can you sort money or send me email address

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Kellie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Guest

We would like to explain to you that everybody gets his/her refund back of €50 towards deposit if before leaving our hotel no damages were done.
Kindly understand that you paid by credit card, therefore it takes approximately 30 working days to be refunded back into your account. This is not under our control when paying with a card.The banks have there policies therefore do please contact your bank to follow up your refund.
We appreciate that our staff were great but regarding the restaurant staff, according to you were miserable. We assure you that we shall speak to the restaurant manager and raise your point regarding the restaurant staff attitude.We are sorry for any inconvenience caused
Best Regards
Guest Relation Manager
Aldo Schembri Adami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Hotel very tired needs updating. Staff okay. Food though edible the same practically everyday VERY POOR. Also not a great selection. On the plus side the Hotel was clean. Very noisy on several occasions late at night. I did report it and everything soon settled down.
Even though price reasonable l wouldn’t stay there again.

Room Tip: Best thing about it was it had a balcony
Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest
We regret that your stay did not meet your expectation.We shall inform the departments concerned regarding the issues you mentioned. As you said yourself we do take action and honour any guests request.
Once again we are sorry that your stay was not satisfactory and sure you understand that we are doing our effort providing good service as much as possible as a benefit for our guests
Best Regards
Guest Relation Manager
Aldo Schembri Adami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews